Electra Heart

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Jul 10, 2012
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 471 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 471

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 28, 2016
    10
    ARRUMA ESSA NOTA 57 AGORA ESSE ALBUM É UM HINÁRIO E QUEM NAO GOSTOU PODE PEGAR UMA TESOURA ENFERRUJADA E SE MATAR ESSE FOI FEITO POR DEUS AKA MARINA AND THE DIAMONDS
  2. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    This is my 2nd favorite album of all time (behind The Family Jewels)
    It took me a while to warm up to this album (as it did with the family jewels) but now that I've gotten used to them I absolutely love them! You should buy this album and find Living Dead, Buy the Stars, Lonely Hearts Club and Scab and Plaster, because they are also fantastic. Just give this album a chance and listen to
    This is my 2nd favorite album of all time (behind The Family Jewels)
    It took me a while to warm up to this album (as it did with the family jewels) but now that I've gotten used to them I absolutely love them! You should buy this album and find Living Dead, Buy the Stars, Lonely Hearts Club and Scab and Plaster, because they are also fantastic. Just give this album a chance and listen to every song at least 3 times, then you will LOVE it. If you must, only get Bubblegum **** Lies, Homewrecker, Starring Role, How to be a Heartbreaker, and Fear and Loathing. Primadonna is her most popular song, and probably to easiest to like, but not my personal favorite
    Expand
  3. Nov 4, 2012
    7
    Fazer um álbum conceitual hoje em dia é extremamente complicado devido a fatores mercadológicos. Fazer um álbum conceitual eletropop é ainda mais difícil. Numa época onde a maioria das músicas não passam de "vamos dançar a noite inteira" como assunto e batidas feitas apenas para bombar nas paradas, ter espaço paraFazer um álbum conceitual hoje em dia é extremamente complicado devido a fatores mercadológicos. Fazer um álbum conceitual eletropop é ainda mais difícil. Numa época onde a maioria das músicas não passam de "vamos dançar a noite inteira" como assunto e batidas feitas apenas para bombar nas paradas, ter espaço para criar composições que vão além de tudo isso é de tirar o chapéu. Então, já podemos esperar algo interessante do álbum Electra Heart da galesa Marina & The Diamond. Nem que o resultado final seja irregular.

    O segundo trabalho dela é a história da glória e queda da "personagem" Electra Heart. Misturando influências do mundo pop que vão desde Madonna até Pet Shop Boys em uma moldura de "tragédia pop-grega". Devido a isso o álbum embarca em um tom sombrio e dramático onde ela usa bastante de cinismo, humor negro e uma pitada da sadismo calculado. Apesar de trabalho com nomes do pop comercial atual como Dr. Luke, Sategate e o DJ Diplo, ela dá espaço para produtores que a ajudou a lançar seu primeiro álbum, The Family Jewels em 2010. Do começo ao fim, Electra Heart é um trabalho impressionante se tratando de arranjos. Cada música tem sua grandiosidade própria e soa elegantemente original. Indo na contramão do "tradicional", Marina tem uma poderosa voz que necessita de quase nada para mostrar a que veio. Os efeitos vocais são utilizados de maneira inteligente deixando a voz dela brilhar naturalmente. O grande problema é como a "história" de Electra. Entre composições inspiradíssimas cheias de sarcasmos, o álbum tem várias letras fracas artisticamente falando. Faltou para certas músicas uma pegada mais refinada e, em algumas, mais inteligente. Esses momentos fazem o resultado do álbum cair levando junto a ótima produção envolta delas. E devo dizer que é uma pena, pois quando ela acerta é de aplaudir de pé. A genial Homewrecker (uma das melhores músicas do ano até agora) em estilo fala/canta uma Marina que não tem medo admitir que é uma "destruidora de lares" que não acredita no amor. Fazendo uma aberta e avassaladora crítíca ao mundo dos ídolos pop na genial Teen Idle. Outros bons momentos estão no single Primadonna (resenha a seguir), a triste Starring Role e na dark Valley of the Dolls. Já os momentos fracos concentram em Lies, Power & Control e chatinha Hypocrates que destoa do resto do álbum. O resultado é irregular, mas é louvável ver alguém fazendo algo diferente.
    Expand
  4. Feb 7, 2014
    7
    The moral of the story is that though it is nice to have an expensive production team, oodles of marketing appeal and great lyrics, one should really examine that all three things can actual co-exist to make something magical as opposed to something unmemorable. That being said, this album is far from terrible, but overall is a grand disappointment when relating it what was to Marina’sThe moral of the story is that though it is nice to have an expensive production team, oodles of marketing appeal and great lyrics, one should really examine that all three things can actual co-exist to make something magical as opposed to something unmemorable. That being said, this album is far from terrible, but overall is a grand disappointment when relating it what was to Marina’s near perfect debut album, 2009’s 'The Family Jewels'. Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2014
    10
    This is one of the best albums I've ever listened. There aren't even one song that I don't like, Marina's sarcasm is incredible and she knows well how to do great songs. Why the **** is it rated only 57? People don't understand art.
  6. Oct 15, 2014
    10
    Não há sentido na nota de críticos neste álbum.
    O álbum é uma mistura perfeita dos estereótipos empregnados na sociedade (em mulheres)
    Marina soube misturar várias coisas e transforma-lo em álbum que conecta coisas do dia-a-dia, mas mulheres de nosso cotidiano, Donas de Casa, Destruídora de Lares entre outras. Além dos vocais estarem impecáveis com um toque de ópera em voz grave em suas
    Não há sentido na nota de críticos neste álbum.
    O álbum é uma mistura perfeita dos estereótipos empregnados na sociedade (em mulheres)
    Marina soube misturar várias coisas e transforma-lo em álbum que conecta coisas do dia-a-dia, mas mulheres de nosso cotidiano, Donas de Casa, Destruídora de Lares entre outras.
    Além dos vocais estarem impecáveis com um toque de ópera em voz grave em suas músicas, as tornando únicas.
    Expand
  7. Jun 22, 2016
    10
    I REALLY DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY THE ALBUM HAS 57 AS SCORE, is a really good record, Marina's great voice plus the deep lyrics, make perfection together.
  8. Jun 25, 2014
    7
    Electra Heart is full of hooks and some high lyrical points. However, some songs feel like they were thrown together compared to others. Some moments are great both musically with songs like "Primadonna", "Lies", "Homewrecker", "State of Dreaming" and "Sex Yeah!" But honestly, this album is a bit of a disappointment compared to The Family Jewels.
  9. May 22, 2013
    10
    About a year ago I first heard Primadonna, and now I've become a fully-fledged Diamond. This album is easily my favourite of the two, and arguably my favourite album. The lyrics painting all too relatable pictures, of obsession with fame, social anxiety and gender wars in romance alongside a reasonably well deserified tone and sound of the backing music make this album quite the treat.
  10. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    What is so wrong with this album that the critics give it a 57? i just don't get it. Well then again most of the time i just don't agree with the critics and i think the fans should speak for themselves.
  11. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    Pop music the way it should be. Shedding a new light on what we do or don't stand for. Meaningful lyrics with extremely catchy melody's. A must have for all types of people. It can make you cry at the same time as making you want to dance all night.
  12. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    One of my favorite albums! Eventhough "love" is an album theme we use to see everywhere, she knows how to make it original! Well Done Marina! Se agapame!!
  13. Dec 17, 2013
    8
    The funny thing here is that Electra Heart had everything to be just another generic electropop album, but Marina to add your intelligent and well-crafted compositions, shows that a singer can make smart electropops songs, unlike Ke$ha and derivatives.
  14. May 10, 2014
    9
    Marina did a very good job telling the story of a woman who posed as a homewrecker, a suburban girl, and a teen idol. But I hate State of Dreaming. It hurts my ears.
  15. Jun 26, 2014
    9
    I met Marina at The Family Jewels, her first album. And there was a drastic change in her, not only in the hair, as well as in his music. I love love pop and alternative, so I knew it was going to love. Right? Right I was! Marina creates a character named Electra Heart which represents all the archetypes of the American women: Primadonna, Teen Idle, Homewrecker and Su-Barbie-A. All songsI met Marina at The Family Jewels, her first album. And there was a drastic change in her, not only in the hair, as well as in his music. I love love pop and alternative, so I knew it was going to love. Right? Right I was! Marina creates a character named Electra Heart which represents all the archetypes of the American women: Primadonna, Teen Idle, Homewrecker and Su-Barbie-A. All songs have perfect and symbolic compositions, all of them represent one of the archetypes. Marina's voice is still wonderful as ever. Electra Heart is a milestone in my life, for sure. I can't think about a favorite song because I love all, seriously! Expand
  16. Jan 30, 2015
    10
    I have no idea what the critics were thinking on this one, it is Marina at her best, which is amazing. She has catchy hooks you can dance to, but the lyricism is genius. Very strong messages, about life and love. I could listen to only this album for a year and be happy.
  17. Apr 3, 2015
    9
    Whereas The Family Jewels showcased Marina's quirky and spunky side, Electra Heart shows off her sexy femme fatale side. The music is more mainstream pop this time around and slightly more generic, but it's actually executed surprisingly well and the production is incredibly cohesive, which makes for a great listen start to finish. I also commend Marina for having some of the catchiestWhereas The Family Jewels showcased Marina's quirky and spunky side, Electra Heart shows off her sexy femme fatale side. The music is more mainstream pop this time around and slightly more generic, but it's actually executed surprisingly well and the production is incredibly cohesive, which makes for a great listen start to finish. I also commend Marina for having some of the catchiest hooks and beautiful melodies of all the female pop stars I know, even moreso than Katy Perry, Lady Gaga, and Madonna, to name a few. She is clearly a very smart and talented songwriter, and her unique voice makes her even more of a standout, in my opinion.

    Oh, and by the way, **** the critics. Seriously, I don't understand what's so mediocre about this to warrant a 57. If you're looking for artistic merit, then yeah, you might be disappointed, but if you take this for the fun pop music it is, it's actually quite fantastic. Whatever, they committed the same INJUSTICE against Teenage Dream so I guess I'll just have to get used to it...
    Expand
  18. Mar 20, 2015
    10
    Clearly there is something wrong with critics if they give it a 57 rating, when the audience/fans give it a 8.5/10 equivalent to 85/100. Clearly they did not understand the concept and the songs. Every song is meaningful and has a deep meaning. It is so sad how this album got so much hate and bad reviews, when it is lyrically amazing and great songs. I am so disappointed because MarinaClearly there is something wrong with critics if they give it a 57 rating, when the audience/fans give it a 8.5/10 equivalent to 85/100. Clearly they did not understand the concept and the songs. Every song is meaningful and has a deep meaning. It is so sad how this album got so much hate and bad reviews, when it is lyrically amazing and great songs. I am so disappointed because Marina works so hard and has so much pure talent. Expand
  19. Apr 23, 2015
    10
    É claro que EH merecia meu 10, só primadonna e lies acaba com a discografia inteira de Froot.
    Os frutasfã insistem em falar mimimi só porque ele tem mais aceitação em público e charts, vai todo mundo pro inferno
  20. Jun 2, 2015
    8
    8 , só por conta de 3 músicas que n curti8 , só por conta de 3 músicas que n curti .................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  21. Oct 27, 2016
    10
    I love this Album, is so perfect, her voice, her lyrics, her songs, This is one of my favorites albums all time, I love the aesthetic from Marina, and her tragic lyrics.
  22. May 12, 2013
    10
    Great album. Really nice. Primadonna, How To Be A Heartbreaker and Power and Control are the top 3 tracks from the album. I am glad this album did somewhat well.
  23. Jan 28, 2016
    10
    nunca aceitarei esse album n ter sido aceito por essa bosta de critica do caralho vai tomar no cu quem deu amarelo quem deu verde parabens n fez mais que a obrigacao
  24. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    This album is everything a perfect album should be!!! Best Pop Album of 2012 !!! The highlight songs of this album are Primadonna,Starring Role, Homewrecker,Living Dead and Teen Idle. Therr isn't a single filler song in the album. Beautiful imagery and concept, couldn't ask for any better.
  25. Jul 11, 2012
    7
    It's flawed and at times pretentious, but it's the sign of an artist who knows what she wants and has potential for great things. Make sure to download "Buy the Stars", "Lonely Hearts Club", and "Living Dead", three of the best cuts which didn't make the US edition.
  26. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    Honestly This Is The 2nd Best Album Of 2012! (#1 Born To Die, Lana Del Rey) Very Amazing Vocals And Creative Lyrics!
    Marina Gives You Somthing Really Special!
  27. Jul 11, 2012
    9
    Marvelous album. Possibly my favorite of the year. Probably the only pop album I will ever enjoy. I don't usually listen to music in this genre, I'm usually more into rock and punk, but this album first grabbed my attention when i first listened to the acoustic version of her song "Lies" It was so beautiful I made sure to pre-order the album, It didn't disappoint. The songs are fun andMarvelous album. Possibly my favorite of the year. Probably the only pop album I will ever enjoy. I don't usually listen to music in this genre, I'm usually more into rock and punk, but this album first grabbed my attention when i first listened to the acoustic version of her song "Lies" It was so beautiful I made sure to pre-order the album, It didn't disappoint. The songs are fun and catchy but have actual meaning in them and as Marina is listed as the first song writer it makes the songs a lot more special. I'm a sucker for talent, and there's defiantly a lot in this album. My only complaint is it wasn't released with a few great songs. Expand
  28. Aug 21, 2012
    6
    We have to face it. The whole entire Electra Heart persona is basically just an excuse to make music that's more marketable than the Family Jewels. I know her occasionally-deluded fans don't want to admit it, but it's true. I think even Marina wants to convince it to herself at this point.
    With that out of the way, Electra Heart is a semi-clever and incredibly-fun sophomore effort. The
    We have to face it. The whole entire Electra Heart persona is basically just an excuse to make music that's more marketable than the Family Jewels. I know her occasionally-deluded fans don't want to admit it, but it's true. I think even Marina wants to convince it to herself at this point.
    With that out of the way, Electra Heart is a semi-clever and incredibly-fun sophomore effort. The big problem is that when you make a concept album, especially one this big, you need a more complex character then "She's a stereotypical rich ****
    Expand
  29. Jul 16, 2012
    8
    I just like it . Downloaded amiel sande, missy higgins and foo fighters on the same day but still choose this album. maybe Im missing lilly alllen for the quirky choice. Love the melody in lies though - always catch myself humming it. For the record downloaded it via Samsung.
    good work - keep it up
  30. Oct 9, 2015
    0
    Unfortunately, Marina used to be an amazing artist. The Family Jewels was perfect but Electra Heart is something really weak. I expected more from her and I got only two good songs from this album.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Jul 16, 2012
    70
    Diamandis is trying to expose the artifice of big-box pop music by using its own voice, and despite the obvious trappings of the concept, she does a fairly respectable job.
  2. 83
    Marina Diamandis rivals Katy Perry for catchy hooks, commands with the swagger of Gwen Stefani, and even comes close to the ethereal vocal exhilaration of Florence Welch.
  3. Q Magazine
    Jun 21, 2012
    40
    Electra Heart sounds high on concept, low on songs. [Jun 2012, p.108]