Electra Heart

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Electra Heart Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 422 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second album for Marina and the Diamonds includes production from Greg Kurstin, Rick Nowels, Dr Luke, and Liam Howe.

Top Track

Primadonna
Primadonna girl, yeah All I ever wanted was the world I can't help but I need it all The primadonna life, the rise and fall You say that I'm kinda... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. 83
    Marina Diamandis rivals Katy Perry for catchy hooks, commands with the swagger of Gwen Stefani, and even comes close to the ethereal vocal exhilaration of Florence Welch.
  2. Apr 26, 2012
    70
    Electra Heart manages to balance the ironic and the heartfelt, the quirky and the mainstream, the real and the fake with remarkable aplomb.
  3. Electra Heart is too professional to be truly terrible, but it's never clever enough to be more than merely toytown.
  4. 50
    Not sure-footed enough in its subversion, its artificiality feels fake rather than carefully plotted.
  5. Q Magazine
    Jun 21, 2012
    40
    Electra Heart sounds high on concept, low on songs. [Jun 2012, p.108]
  6. Apr 30, 2012
    40
    These prom queen themes have had a more intriguing musical treatment from Lana del Rey.
  7. May 1, 2012
    10
    'Electra heart' is an ingloriously languid statement of Marina's demise, the final stamp of disapproval on her flailing excuse of a musical career.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 64
  2. Negative: 2 out of 64
  1. Oct 27, 2016
    10
    I love this Album, is so perfect, her voice, her lyrics, her songs, This is one of my favorites albums all time, I love the aesthetic fromI love this Album, is so perfect, her voice, her lyrics, her songs, This is one of my favorites albums all time, I love the aesthetic from Marina, and her tragic lyrics. Expand
  2. Jun 22, 2016
    10
    I REALLY DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY THE ALBUM HAS 57 AS SCORE, is a really good record, Marina's great voice plus the deep lyrics, make perfection together.
  3. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    This album is everything a perfect album should be!!! Best Pop Album of 2012 !!! The highlight songs of this album are Primadonna,StarringThis album is everything a perfect album should be!!! Best Pop Album of 2012 !!! The highlight songs of this album are Primadonna,Starring Role, Homewrecker,Living Dead and Teen Idle. Therr isn't a single filler song in the album. Beautiful imagery and concept, couldn't ask for any better. Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2017
    9
    Personally, I think this album is amazing, great storyline, great vocal (although she use a little too much auto-tune) and you must take manyPersonally, I think this album is amazing, great storyline, great vocal (although she use a little too much auto-tune) and you must take many time listening to it then you could really find it amazing and understand perfectly the whole album. What I hate about the album is the way Marina organize the track. I think best songs from the album are: Primadonna, Teen Idle, Valley of the Dolls, Sex Yeah, Homewrecker, How to be a heart-breaker, Power & Control Expand
  5. Jul 16, 2012
    8
    I just like it . Downloaded amiel sande, missy higgins and foo fighters on the same day but still choose this album. maybe Im missing lillyI just like it . Downloaded amiel sande, missy higgins and foo fighters on the same day but still choose this album. maybe Im missing lilly alllen for the quirky choice. Love the melody in lies though - always catch myself humming it. For the record downloaded it via Samsung.
    good work - keep it up
    Expand
  6. Nov 4, 2012
    7
    Fazer um álbum conceitual hoje em dia é extremamente complicado devido a fatores mercadológicos. Fazer um álbumFazer um álbum conceitual hoje em dia é extremamente complicado devido a fatores mercadológicos. Fazer um álbum conceitual eletropop é ainda mais difícil. Numa época onde a maioria das músicas não passam de "vamos dançar a noite inteira" como assunto e batidas feitas apenas para bombar nas paradas, ter espaço para criar composições que vão além de tudo isso é de tirar o chapéu. Então, já podemos esperar algo interessante do álbum Electra Heart da galesa Marina & The Diamond. Nem que o resultado final seja irregular.

    O segundo trabalho dela é a história da glória e queda da "personagem" Electra Heart. Misturando influências do mundo pop que vão desde Madonna até Pet Shop Boys em uma moldura de "tragédia pop-grega". Devido a isso o álbum embarca em um tom sombrio e dramático onde ela usa bastante de cinismo, humor negro e uma pitada da sadismo calculado. Apesar de trabalho com nomes do pop comercial atual como Dr. Luke, Sategate e o DJ Diplo, ela dá espaço para produtores que a ajudou a lançar seu primeiro álbum, The Family Jewels em 2010. Do começo ao fim, Electra Heart é um trabalho impressionante se tratando de arranjos. Cada música tem sua grandiosidade própria e soa elegantemente original. Indo na contramão do "tradicional", Marina tem uma poderosa voz que necessita de quase nada para mostrar a que veio. Os efeitos vocais são utilizados de maneira inteligente deixando a voz dela brilhar naturalmente. O grande problema é como a "história" de Electra. Entre composições inspiradíssimas cheias de sarcasmos, o álbum tem várias letras fracas artisticamente falando. Faltou para certas músicas uma pegada mais refinada e, em algumas, mais inteligente. Esses momentos fazem o resultado do álbum cair levando junto a ótima produção envolta delas. E devo dizer que é uma pena, pois quando ela acerta é de aplaudir de pé. A genial Homewrecker (uma das melhores músicas do ano até agora) em estilo fala/canta uma Marina que não tem medo admitir que é uma "destruidora de lares" que não acredita no amor. Fazendo uma aberta e avassaladora crítíca ao mundo dos ídolos pop na genial Teen Idle. Outros bons momentos estão no single Primadonna (resenha a seguir), a triste Starring Role e na dark Valley of the Dolls. Já os momentos fracos concentram em Lies, Power & Control e chatinha Hypocrates que destoa do resto do álbum. O resultado é irregular, mas é louvável ver alguém fazendo algo diferente.
    Expand
  7. Sep 7, 2015
    0
    Marina can expose any excuse but there isn't a good reason for made this album like she made it. Her voice and the really annoying electronicMarina can expose any excuse but there isn't a good reason for made this album like she made it. Her voice and the really annoying electronic pop music make a incredibly nasty combination, there are some good lyrics which are ruined with the rest of the song/album. Marina is one of my favorite singers but this is a dissapointment. Fortunately, with "Froot" she changed this horrendous style. Primadonna girl, yeah, all I ever wanted is ruin my image... Expand

See all 64 User Reviews