User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 2 out of 31

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanK.
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    Amazing album. For McCartney The beatles are not enough and he still can do good music. Much better than many today´s bands.
  2. ByronJ.
    Aug 9, 2009
    9
    Imagine if THIS McCartney teamed-up with the McCartney of Chaos And Creation... Then we'd see a true return to his Beatle-Day form.
  3. JoelP.
    Dec 1, 2008
    9
    I hate comparing Mccartney albums against each other. But for a short span, tracks3-8, this is the best collection of songs he's done since the Beatles. I am in awe of the old man. Well done.
  4. RickH.
    Jan 6, 2009
    8
    Some of Paul's most adventurous, Beatlesque work in years.
  5. Jo-JoW.
    Nov 29, 2008
    10
    Love to see Paul continuing to put out high quality, like this. The last half decade of releases have been amazing, some of the very best concepts and songs he has ever done! Thank you so very much, Paul. You are an international treasure!
  6. BradW.
    Dec 11, 2008
    10
    Stunning.
  7. linclink
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    This really should've been a proper McCartney album...it is in all but name. It would certainly make my Macca solo top ten, & possibly my top five. I LOVED "Rushes" by The Fireman (not so much the other, first, one), but this is, as I said, so far beyond it, because it's really a McCartney solo album. MY absolute faves are: Dance 'Til We're High; Sun Is Shining; Sing This really should've been a proper McCartney album...it is in all but name. It would certainly make my Macca solo top ten, & possibly my top five. I LOVED "Rushes" by The Fireman (not so much the other, first, one), but this is, as I said, so far beyond it, because it's really a McCartney solo album. MY absolute faves are: Dance 'Til We're High; Sun Is Shining; Sing The Changes; Lifelong Passion (Sail Away); Is This Love, & Light From Your Lighthouse I also love: Travelling Light; Two Magpies; Highway; Nothing Too Much Just Out Of Sight; Universal Here, Everlasting Now I like, but these are also rans really for me: Don't Stop Running; Lovers In A Dream. Beautiful & brilliant album. Expand
  8. RyanK.
    Dec 8, 2008
    9
    Lots of emotion dragging out of McCartney on this album. You can tell he is writing these songs from experience and is not just doing an ok job just to do it (This is A work). McCartney still has it and hopefully will for a long time.
  9. NutS.
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Nice collection of positive and adventurous tracks. Every track is distinct from rock to pure electronica. This album shows just why you need a producer. Best McCartney album ever. Not a single filler or weak track and that's something when it comes from Macca.
  10. Leon
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    Paul is master.
  11. BradF.
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    Should have been released as McCartney III. Its fun, adventurous and experimental. And of course the melodies are gorgeous and the genre-hopping exhilarating.
  12. JonW.
    Dec 24, 2008
    10
    The most entertaining and eclectic collection of songs by Paul in many a year. It's many twists and turns bring a smile to the face and attest to the musical genius of the guy. He can do it all. His instincts on this one are spot on. I can and do listen to EA over and over and find new things to like. And...the guy plays all the instruments. Thanks, Paul.
  13. HerbertO.
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    Magnificent and full of energy.
  14. PatC.
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    A pure musical tapestry, which twists and turns, then turns you around again. Each play uncovers new sounds, dare I say it...Masterpiece
  15. WilliamT
    Nov 29, 2008
    9
    More relaxed and fresh than recent efforts, McCartney lets his hair down not thinking of his heavy legacy but cuts loose doing more to enhance his image than his retrospective albums of the last seven years. Many tracks sound as if they could have been lost gems from the late 60s. Electric Arguments picks up where the White Album left off. Anyone who has written off McCartney should pick More relaxed and fresh than recent efforts, McCartney lets his hair down not thinking of his heavy legacy but cuts loose doing more to enhance his image than his retrospective albums of the last seven years. Many tracks sound as if they could have been lost gems from the late 60s. Electric Arguments picks up where the White Album left off. Anyone who has written off McCartney should pick it up, roll a fatty, put on some head phones and start their mind to wandering. Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. 60
    'Lifelong Passion' and 'Don't Stop Running' suggest that there's something inspirational, even cathartic, about making an album under an assumed name (even if the world know it's you). McCartney should do it more often. [Dec 2008, p.111]
  2. His third stint as the Fireman, his partnership with producer Youth, finds the pair on inspired form, ready to take risks while knocking out a track a day.
  3. 80
    Depending on which Paul McCartney you like the most, you may or may not like what he’s done. But the best thing about Electric Arguments is that it sounds like the work of someone who doesn’t give a stuff what people are going to think. About time, too.