Electric Slave

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Electric Slave Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Buy On
  • Record Label: Vagrant
  • Genre(s): R&B, Soul, Blues, Pop/Rock, Modern Electric Blues, Retro-Soul, Retro-Rock
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

The Hipster
You a strugglin artist You wanna move to the ghetto Hey, look at me everybody Wanna fit in with the minorities You don't want a job But he don't... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    Electric Slave makes a strong case that Lewis is ready to go toe-to-toe with the Dan Auerbachs of the world, and easily has what it takes to go the distance.
  2. Oct 2, 2013
    Black Joe Lewis and his full-tilt-boogie band of musicians has assembled an outstanding set of tunes, full of gutsy, barely-restrained performances.
  3. 75
    For if you don’t get distracted by the constant temptations of modern contrivances and social connectivity, and buy into these simple but striking songs that Lewis is selling on Electric Slave, then he’s got the cure for the modern ills and then some.
  4. 70
    While Lewis can emote with the best of them, a little more nuanced emotion in the music would really let his vocals shine.
  5. Aug 29, 2013
    While he still peppers his rock anthems with flourishes from an adept jazz-informed horn section, Electric Slave is his most primitive album to date.
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    Although it meanders in places, the mood remains high-spirited.
  7. Aug 27, 2013
    lectric Slave explores old forms with vigor, charting links in minutes that took years to develop.

See all 9 Critic Reviews