Electric

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Electric Image
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 12th full-length studio album for the electronic pop duo is the first release on the Pet Shop Boys' own label.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 100
    Electric is the second really fantastic pop-dance blast of the year.
  2. Jul 12, 2013
    90
    They show us what pop music can do.
  3. Jul 16, 2013
    87
    The duo impressively join a raft of other legacy artists (David Bowie, Black Sabbath) in proving that getting older doesn’t mean you have to lose your passion for creativity or, in the case of Electric, your libido.
  4. 80
    It's the most simple, directly dance-oriented they've been since Disco, putting down a marker for the rest of the album.
  5. 80
    Electric is a work of renewed purpose, whose short time-frame and scant tracklist (no PSB album has ever clocked in shy of ten songs) belie the gems that lie within.
  6. Q Magazine
    Jul 10, 2013
    80
    With Electric, Pet Shop Boys have succeeded spectacularly. [Aug 2013, p.92]
  7. Jul 15, 2013
    60
    It's not cutting edge, but it does mean business.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Yes, that's a very bold statement, but with this being one of the very few albums of 2013 with just about excellent reviews all-around, itYes, that's a very bold statement, but with this being one of the very few albums of 2013 with just about excellent reviews all-around, it definitely lived up to the hype and then some!

    I think all us pet-heads knew something amazing and unique in even the PSB world was coming (and judging by the constant sales and moving up in the charts here on Amazon and other outlets, it seems the public overall is catching on and finally NOT labeling them as an '80's act (wake-up Pandora!).

    I remember listening to 'Axis' for the first time as a teaser, then it was followed up with 'Vocal' and teasers for 'Inside A Dream' and 'Fluorescent' (the latter of which I didn't care for at first, but then it turned out to be my most fave song on the album) releasing these songs as both singles and teasers was the perfect way to market their stuff BEFORE the release of their album helped tremendously with the build-up!

    Parting ways with Parlophone, the inclusion of Stuart Price, or (what has been stated/assumed by Tennant on occasion) a negative fan reaction from 'Elysium' (a stellar album!) there were many stated/ironic situations that led to the making of this awesome album and in less than a year! This is genius at work and to think: it's the FIRST in a THREE-PART collection WOW!

    As I stated in my title, this album has that rare quality: similar to Fleetwood Mac's 'Rumours', this has the characteristics of classic written all over it. Every song on here can/could be made into a hit; every song could be known by fans and non-fans alike. It will be interesting to see how Tennant/Lowe handle this album via their x2 label they've already broken a good amount of conventional rules upon releasing the album and it looks like it's paying off maybe they will break more rules and not limit this album to a handful of songs, but possibly a good 3/4 of the album could be made into hits here's wishing :)

    Anyway, amazing album: it's been on repeat along with The Editors' 'The Weight of Your Love' (very under-rated), and David Bowie's 'The Next Day' Haven't loved music this much in a long time Thanks Chris & Neil
    Expand
  2. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    amazing work ofamazing work of psb........................................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  3. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    Elysium contained 4 of best songs the Pets have ever written 'Invisible', Leaving', 'Breathing Space' & 'Face Like That' but it was the laidElysium contained 4 of best songs the Pets have ever written 'Invisible', Leaving', 'Breathing Space' & 'Face Like That' but it was the laid back nature of the other songs that ruffled fans feathers (not me i loved it all apart from 'Hold On' really).

    Electric however is sensational if Elysium played out like a retirement piece this is like a re-birth.
    The production from Stuart Price is exceptional & tracks like 'Fluorescent' & 'Inside a Dream' are so moody & clubby i could see them used as the soundtrack to nightclub scenes that you so often see in movies. 'Love is a Bourgeois Construct' is a triumph but for me the most amazing track is 'Thursday' this is PSB at their absolute best the chunky bass stabs & classic PSB 80's riff are just pre-cursors to an anthemic piano/vocal breakdown & then when Example does his bit it goes into orbit not just his rap but the chorus he sings is pure dance music heaven, surely this is the 3rd single?

    Apparently this is part 1 of a PSB/Stuart Price trilogy if that's the case let's hope we get part 2 in 10 months time again, i could get used to this swift turnaround of albums.

    Essential purchase
    Expand
  4. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    I can't agree with all of the reviews that claim that last year's Elysium was lacklustre, but Electric is the sound of an act that soundsI can't agree with all of the reviews that claim that last year's Elysium was lacklustre, but Electric is the sound of an act that sounds confident, forward-looking and powerful. This is pretty remarkable given that they have been never stopped producing high quality material for thirty years. Expand
  5. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    This is the best album from the PSB in the last years. Remake Last to die is finest track on this CD. Fabulous music inventions, nice dynamic,This is the best album from the PSB in the last years. Remake Last to die is finest track on this CD. Fabulous music inventions, nice dynamic, really recommended. Expand
  6. Dec 30, 2015
    8
    ..............................Love is a bourgeois construct,Axis,Vocal,Thursday,The last to die is really great.............. bolshy is so-so..............................Love is a bourgeois construct,Axis,Vocal,Thursday,The last to die is really great.............. bolshy is so-so shothing in the evening, fluorescent and inside a dream is just good. Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2013
    3
    Bland, bland, bland. This is a very dull album indeed in my opinion. Some artists, and I would include the Pet Shop Boys, are lionized toBland, bland, bland. This is a very dull album indeed in my opinion. Some artists, and I would include the Pet Shop Boys, are lionized to such a degree that they seem almost beyond reproach in the minds of fans and critics alike. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews