Elephant Eyelash

  • Record Label: Anticon
  • Release Date: Oct 4, 2005
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 1 out of 27

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 17, 2011
    9
    Absolute orgy for the ears. Wolf is a minor musical/poetic genius. Lyrics that unfurl slowly with each and every listen. Still prefer alopecia personally but both are extremely underrated/ undiscovered LP's. I love loving Why? is what I'm hear to say.
  2. Johnm
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    A captivating record which improves on each listen. The album has songs on it that just don't get old (like rubber traits) and little filler material. Wolf put a lot of time in creating the melodies on this record. Worth buying.
  3. PeterPan
    Sep 8, 2006
    9
    Honest!
  4. SteveA
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    AWESOME! teh best album evar! No really, buy it now.
  5. andyr
    Nov 4, 2005
    9
    wow. I am impressed. I did not expect to enjoy this as much as I did. I like some of his other stuff, but this is great, and much more together and cohesive.
  6. [Anonymous]
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    why? has done it again, after continually growing as an artist through multiple releases, he unleashes his tightest and most powerful album. full of indie, hip-hop, electronic, spoken word, poetry, and all around goodness. may not be for everyone, as most people are idiots, therefore if you like this album, you'll have passed my test.
  7. andrewm
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    Why? has fully realized its goal of creating authentic music. From its melodic, dramatic fluidity to its vignette-based lyrical forays, Wolf's brilliance and fragility are more apparent than ever.
  8. Zedd138
    Oct 16, 2005
    9
    Well, he finally did it. Yoni Wolf has turned his indie rock influenced hip hop act into a full-fledged four piece psych-folk indie pop group. I'd have to say I couldn't enjoy this progression much more.... definitely one of the best albums of 2005.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. 95
    Welcome to the Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain of our modern indie times. [Filter Mini, Oct 2005]
  2. Wolf has surpassed his personal best with one of the best records released this year.
  3. 70
    Damn decent stuff. [Oct 2005, p.85]