Elephant Shell

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EdgarM
    Mar 29, 2009
    10
    This is probably my choice for the most underrated album of 08. This had some insanely catchy songs (Juno, In a Cave, IMO). I'm shocked this didn't make many people's Top 10 because it's such well-made and satisfying little gem. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for true indie-rock album.
  2. RobertH.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    The best album of 2008.
  3. AC
    Nov 11, 2008
    9
    Simply amazing! It's energetic and catchy as hell. A definite pleasure to listen to.
  4. XY
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    A fun and catchy album that's exploding with tons and tons of energy.
  5. MattA.
    Apr 24, 2008
    9
    It seems to be a pattern this year. An artist or group that has released a well-received, critically acclaimed debut album or EP puts out an excellent sophomore set and it gets mediocre to downright negative reviews. It was true for Cadence Weapon earlier in the year and now it has happened to Jamie Lidell and Tokyo Police Club in the same week. I don't know if the critics are just It seems to be a pattern this year. An artist or group that has released a well-received, critically acclaimed debut album or EP puts out an excellent sophomore set and it gets mediocre to downright negative reviews. It was true for Cadence Weapon earlier in the year and now it has happened to Jamie Lidell and Tokyo Police Club in the same week. I don't know if the critics are just going into these albums assuming they will suffer the sophomore slump syndrome, but I assure you, they are wrong. If you compare these albums to the previous output, then yes, you might be disappointed. But, if you take them at face value, they are great listens. This album is just as good as the Vampire Weekend debut that has been fellated since its release a few months back. Expand
  6. GavG.
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    Stunning album, it's catchy without getting repetetive, it's summery without being too poppy, it's indie without being generic, it's one of the most fresh and original records I've heard in years.
  7. BrandonH.
    Apr 28, 2008
    7
    A decent enough full length, but certainly not a 10 or a 9. The records got some rockers with their trademark jangle-and-clap jubellance, but all told it lags in places, and it's songwriting sounds a little too much like Death Cab for Cutie in other places. If you're looking for a 10 in the Tokyo Police Club catalog, pick up A Lesson in Crime.
  8. EvanH.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best records of the year.
  9. CoalY
    Jun 7, 2008
    9
    I reviewed this album for my school paper. I've listened to it countless times already, but it still grows on me. I think the hooks are there, but people should not expect fast paced, outright catchy songs for 11 straight tracks. I thought TPC did a good job of mixing up the pace and maturing in their song writing-content. The lyrics throughout the album involve longing for and I reviewed this album for my school paper. I've listened to it countless times already, but it still grows on me. I think the hooks are there, but people should not expect fast paced, outright catchy songs for 11 straight tracks. I thought TPC did a good job of mixing up the pace and maturing in their song writing-content. The lyrics throughout the album involve longing for and reflecting on the past, albeit in somewhat sci-fi ways. Still, A Lesson In Crime didn't have all hooky tracks. Shoulders and Arms, If it Works, and La Ferraise (sp?) were very different and not as exciting as the other songs on the EP. There are so many catchy tracks on Elephant Shell: In a Cave, Graves, Tessellate, Nursery Academy, Your English is Good, Juno. Still the other tracks are good and have great variety jammed into 2.5 minutes are less. Expand
  10. MichaelR.
    Apr 25, 2008
    8
    I would've rated it higher than The Onion did, but I couldn't agree more with the general sentiment: "As it stands, it's a really good album by a band that should've made--and still might make--a really, really great one."
  11. DerekS
    Apr 27, 2008
    7
    I've listened to the album several times now. Where I would have given "A Lesson In Crime" an 8 or 8.5, I can't go that high for this. A lot of the songs are good, but not great. The hooks were stronger on the EP, and I can't help but feel that turning down the intensity isn't good for TPC. However, "Your English is Good" is easily the best thing they've ever I've listened to the album several times now. Where I would have given "A Lesson In Crime" an 8 or 8.5, I can't go that high for this. A lot of the songs are good, but not great. The hooks were stronger on the EP, and I can't help but feel that turning down the intensity isn't good for TPC. However, "Your English is Good" is easily the best thing they've ever done. Amazing song. Expand
  12. MikeW.
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    Great album. Thanks.
  13. ThomB
    May 1, 2008
    8
    Is anyone sick of this sound? I hear it everywhere. I must admit that I thought this album was pretty catchy
  14. howardp.
    May 21, 2008
    7
    I agree that this definitely could've been much better, and could have even been cut down into another ep instead of a full release. however, this album's good moments outweigh its weaknesses.
  15. JC
    Dec 15, 2008
    10
    Exciting and thrilling from beginning to end.
  16. Shay
    Dec 15, 2008
    10
    This is pure awesomeness!
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. 70
    Making good on the promise of two nervously explosive EPs, Tokyo Police Club indulge in plenty of echoey atmospherics but also add Foo Fighters-esque blasts of guitar, as if leaping into action and kicking over their chairs. [May 2008, p.79]
  2. Filter
    86
    Elephant Shell is like a summertime record, easy and stress-free. [Spring 2008, p.92]
  3. This album may be svelte, but it’s far from slight.