Elephant

  • Record Label: V2
  • Release Date: Apr 1, 2003
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 390 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 390

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SatanicM.
    Apr 4, 2006
    3
    It's incredible to see how this band manage to rock an audience with such an unsexy and wishy-washy music. Art can come disguised in so many many ways my dears, specially when a "band" steals the whole Adams Family/Hollow (Johnny Deep's horror movie) aesthetic, with disguises and stuff, and packs it up in a record and then claims it's an original product.
  2. HollisH
    Jan 5, 2005
    1
    Yikes. No thanks.
  3. TykeC
    Jun 28, 2005
    1
    This band has very few redeeming qualities.
  4. MardyR
    Apr 1, 2003
    3
    The review of Spinal Tap's "Shark Sandwich" seems to be fitting here. Jack and Meg got somethings right on this album. The first song is compelling and epic, however the second song sounds like QOTSA's "No one Knows" and correct me if i'm wrong but the third song IS "DEAD LEAVES ON THE DIRTY GROUND" Come on Jack there is more in that blues-rock cranium of yours than just The review of Spinal Tap's "Shark Sandwich" seems to be fitting here. Jack and Meg got somethings right on this album. The first song is compelling and epic, however the second song sounds like QOTSA's "No one Knows" and correct me if i'm wrong but the third song IS "DEAD LEAVES ON THE DIRTY GROUND" Come on Jack there is more in that blues-rock cranium of yours than just this!On the next album please write some original material so I can listen to a new album instead of a remix. Collapse
  5. SeanO
    Jan 29, 2004
    3
    Background sounds for when you are very drunk.
  6. LarryO
    Feb 1, 2004
    0
    A TRUE PIECE OF SH*T! What's happening to Music Critics? This cd can't be in this list. What a weird & gasified joke!
  7. XavierF
    Jan 10, 2005
    2
    Unlike many, I found this album to be lacking in depth and was generally immature. Perhaps a few more band members can flush out some talent with this group.
  8. HootchieMomma
    May 4, 2006
    1
    This Band SUCKS. How could you listen to this and actually be pleased by what you're hearing? It's total garbage. NO Talent!
  9. DougW
    Apr 16, 2003
    0
    Wow dogg, this blows. They got hosed on this one g. This album is good... NOT!
  10. Carldaddy
    Apr 8, 2003
    3
    Come on...The music critics everywhere are trying to make a make up call because of the poor rating on their other albums (i.e rolling stone's 4 out 5 stars ring a bell). Don't buy into the hype about a crappy album. Song number one is a hummer, and the last few songs are pretty good, but there is nothing etremely innovative about this album.
  11. BobbyO
    Jan 25, 2004
    0
    Crappiest album by the crappiest band.
  12. HomieBB
    Jun 26, 2006
    1
    I only like one song on this record.
  13. PatrikD.
    Apr 18, 2008
    0
    Sucks, three chords worn out so called rock N roll !
  14. NaveS
    Dec 6, 2003
    0
    This album sucks crap....what a flop!
  15. DavidB
    Apr 16, 2003
    3
    This record is awful. John Pareles panned it in the New York Times in a review that's right on. Too bad the editors here refuse to include it (maybe the New York Times isn't important enough for them!). Must be White Stripes fans.
  16. GabeR
    Apr 16, 2003
    0
    One word: I rather watch the newport police chief on public access.
  17. RichardR
    Apr 16, 2003
    0
    I've pooh that has smelled better than this. White Stripes, try Brown Stripes. Instead of "Elephant" it should have been called "The Worst Album Ever Made"
  18. PatF.
    Dec 23, 2004
    2
    Uninspired, boring, and a mess: all words to describe Elephant. One of the few albums that I truly feel is immensely overrated. There is a song or two that are decent, but nothing worth writing home about. In fact, it's the only album I own that has not made it to my iPod. Listen to the Fiery Furnaces instead. And they actually are brother and sister.
  19. LeoS
    Jan 29, 2004
    2
    What a piece of crap!
  20. SaneH.
    Jul 16, 2006
    0
    Are you kidding me? Why not give a good rating to a band with talent? This band makes me sick. The drummer is worthless. Please, please, please listen to something else.
  21. FrancescoB
    Apr 25, 2007
    0
    Pessimo!
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Blender
    80
    They break their own rules, even adding expansive guitar solos, to keep themselves interested and fans off-balance. [May 2003, p.123]
  2. Therein lies the contradiction of The White Stripes. How do you combine the shit-hot with the "twee?" Elephant's shortcomings suggests the enterprise is futile.
  3. It is a glorious thing to hear. It will be one of the best things you hear all year.