Elephant

  • Record Label: V2
  • Release Date: Apr 1, 2003
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 390 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 390

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    This album is ridiculous. I'm surprised it didn't start a music revolution like that of Is This It. Jack White is an absolute genius. Unfair album overall. All tracks are PERFECT
  2. SimonB
    Dec 1, 2003
    9
    Best album I've heard all year. The cover of 'Don't Know What to Do With Myself' is a gem and 'Ball and and a Biscuit' is intense. 'Little Acorns' and 'Cold Cold Night' aren't bad but knock off one point
  3. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    10
    Great album. Nothing groundbreaking, but just a great rock album. This is one of those records you can listen to all the way through repeatedly. It's the 'Nevermind' for a new generation of music. You listen to it and it makes you want to start your own garage band.
  4. catherines
    Apr 1, 2003
    10
    absolutely wonderful.....definitely stands up to s/t, de stijl and wbc
  5. AlexT
    May 8, 2003
    10
    Amazing. It blew my head off and I haven't stopped listening to it since I brought it out of the shop. At last some music that sounds like the true expression of its players. This is not corporate rock and I thank the White Stripes for selling their art to us. Cheers, my dears! Cup of tea!
  6. gregs
    Jun 2, 2004
    10
    99.99% pure genius- drums ,vocal,storeytelling a distillation. Shows the heart of rocknrolls still beating.. to use a cliche. Perhaps the people who gave it a zero are into rap or some other genre and are closed minded as their talent at least is undeniable and in your face.
  7. mookiewilson
    Mar 16, 2003
    9
    success hasn't spoiled them yet- 4.5 stars
  8. AlexH
    Apr 2, 2003
    10
    best cd I've heard this year. Better than White Blood Cells
  9. CoryB
    Apr 2, 2003
    10
    Words cannot describe this album, but we still try. The guitar solos could make any talented guitarist weep, the lyrics could do the same to anyone. One of he best albums i've bought in the last 4 years, and i've bought more most anyone out there.
  10. davep
    Apr 4, 2003
    10
    This is a quite brilliant record. I can't seem to take it out of my CD player. I love the Burt Bacharach cover. Seven Nation Army, Black Math, There's No Home For You Here, I Want to Be the Boy..., The Hardest Button to Button, Little Acorns, and The Air Near Your Fingers are all instant classics in my eyes and will probably be the cause of wearing out my eardrums over the next This is a quite brilliant record. I can't seem to take it out of my CD player. I love the Burt Bacharach cover. Seven Nation Army, Black Math, There's No Home For You Here, I Want to Be the Boy..., The Hardest Button to Button, Little Acorns, and The Air Near Your Fingers are all instant classics in my eyes and will probably be the cause of wearing out my eardrums over the next several months. Nice Job, WS. Expand
  11. MarcD.
    Apr 6, 2003
    10
    "Ball & Biscuit" alone is worth the price of admission. Jack White is an old soul, and his stellar tribute to Zeppelin's "The Lemon Song" feels like a warm blanket for my chilly toes.
  12. ColbyC
    Apr 8, 2003
    10
    You'll find this CD on numerous top-10 lists at the end of the year....probably even #1 on a lot of them....simply amazing.
  13. JenA
    Jun 14, 2003
    10
    THE BEST CD. Great beats and the songs are one of a kind.
  14. Jen?
    Jun 1, 2003
    10
    Love it. Best album this year! (and i know there is still half a year to go.....)
  15. NseE
    Jun 30, 2003
    10
    A fab cd with diverse sounds; Dancey (7 nation army), Bluesy (Ball & biscuit), 70s punk rock (Hypnotize), and the tender, lovely, 'In the cold, cold night'. Love it.
  16. JustinG
    Jul 1, 2003
    9
    Anyone who thinks this album has nothing to offer must be trippin. The music world has had so little to offer lately, this album is pure refreshment for those of us who are tired of all the same old shit. It has grown on me in a way that I haven't felt for years, I was starting to think that might never happen again. Thanks for re-inventing good stuff.
  17. howlinpellealmqvistlvr
    Aug 23, 2003
    10
    this is my fav cd out of all the white stripes -anyone who thinks otherwise probably doesnt have good taste in music
  18. RicN.
    Jun 9, 2005
    9
    I once used the track Ball and Biscuit to choreograph a couple performing foreplay on stage. It worked wonderfully well.
  19. AdamCK
    Nov 5, 2003
    9
    This is a great CD, although not as good as their masterpiece, 'White Blood Cells.' There are no songs here as good as 'Hotel Yorba' or 'Fell in Love With a Girl,' but there is still plenty to enjoy. So far this is the record of the year, and if it doesn't exactly progess The White Stripes sound too much, it does at least solidify them as the best band This is a great CD, although not as good as their masterpiece, 'White Blood Cells.' There are no songs here as good as 'Hotel Yorba' or 'Fell in Love With a Girl,' but there is still plenty to enjoy. So far this is the record of the year, and if it doesn't exactly progess The White Stripes sound too much, it does at least solidify them as the best band going right now. Expand
  20. nikolasvillegas
    Mar 12, 2003
    10
    wonderful album. the white brothers (?), once again, making it simple and beautiful.
  21. Kaninchen
    Mar 22, 2003
    10
    If you like the White Stripes (and you should) then you'll think this is brilliant... Such a great rock album, and I do love the guitar solos! I love the noises this boy can make with his guitar! And Meg's song is sweet and simple, nicely done. The only song that didn't appeal to me so much was the duet (or triplet? eh?) with Holly Golightly... just a little too country for If you like the White Stripes (and you should) then you'll think this is brilliant... Such a great rock album, and I do love the guitar solos! I love the noises this boy can make with his guitar! And Meg's song is sweet and simple, nicely done. The only song that didn't appeal to me so much was the duet (or triplet? eh?) with Holly Golightly... just a little too country for me, but I feel that even that one will eventually grow on me. I'm sorry I snuck it, guys... I'm a huge fan and I'll be first in line to buy the CD!! Expand
  22. JustinH
    Mar 23, 2003
    10
    I love everything about this CD except that opening to "Little Acorns." I love the White Stripes. They are by far the coolest thing in music now!
  23. thesillymofo
    Apr 1, 2003
    10
    oh man. i nearly died on the first listen.
  24. JasonF.
    Apr 1, 2003
    10
    Something different. This album really expanded on their "style" of music. Not at all what I thought it would be. It really ecompases the different types they use; its got some good blues yet still has the punk/garage rock. It seemed so so at first but really grew on me. I give it a 10 just because Seven Nation Army is the greatest song ever!!!
  25. MrPibb
    Apr 2, 2003
    9
    Brilliant. There are some other great albums slated for this year, but it'll be hard to top this.
  26. MattL
    Apr 25, 2003
    9
    This is a great album. Period. Unfortunetely a lot of people (especially the goofy zero club) are reacting strongly against the hype rather than the music. It should be noted this album was cut before they became a sensation with their previous album. The White Stripes don't create the hype, folks. They just play great music. I find it better than their last one.
  27. angua___
    Apr 26, 2003
    10
    I bought this 3 days ago, and it's been in my cd player ever since. If you're new to this sort of music, like me, please, please, PLEASE, give it a chance to grow on you. Just a few weeks ago, I was ranting in an online journal about how much the 'new rock' of the White Stripes, Strokes and others sucked. I hated 'Seven Nation Army' the first time I heard it. I bought this 3 days ago, and it's been in my cd player ever since. If you're new to this sort of music, like me, please, please, PLEASE, give it a chance to grow on you. Just a few weeks ago, I was ranting in an online journal about how much the 'new rock' of the White Stripes, Strokes and others sucked. I hated 'Seven Nation Army' the first time I heard it. The damn radio station just kept on playing it, and playing it. Before I knew it i was singing along to the opening riff, exulting in the guitar solo, downloading far more singles than i had intended too, buying 'Elephant' on a whim with my birthday money ... and now I can't get enough. It's not beautiful, or overtly topical, or all the other things I used to value in music. I'd call it insidious, but it's anything but slow and creeping. Put simply, it IS Rock and Roll. Let it take you over. Expand
  28. JackWhite
    Apr 28, 2003
    10
    Impressive. The proof that you don't need thousands of dollars nor some virtuous guitar and drum player to craft a masterpiece.
  29. RyanM.
    Apr 3, 2003
    9
    A near-perfectl eclectic conglomerate of garage rock and soul.
  30. Jules
    Apr 3, 2003
    10
    This is not just an all-time classic album but a vibrant essential slice of our times - our swaggering, sexed-up 'exile on main street' but with more (white) brain cells firing and a gothic style that befits the darkening of recent times - Jack White knows we can't go back home, Mick Jagger drugged and shagged himself into believing he could - like everyone else back in the This is not just an all-time classic album but a vibrant essential slice of our times - our swaggering, sexed-up 'exile on main street' but with more (white) brain cells firing and a gothic style that befits the darkening of recent times - Jack White knows we can't go back home, Mick Jagger drugged and shagged himself into believing he could - like everyone else back in the seventies! Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Blender
    80
    They break their own rules, even adding expansive guitar solos, to keep themselves interested and fans off-balance. [May 2003, p.123]
  2. Therein lies the contradiction of The White Stripes. How do you combine the shit-hot with the "twee?" Elephant's shortcomings suggests the enterprise is futile.
  3. It is a glorious thing to hear. It will be one of the best things you hear all year.