Elephant

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Elephant Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 384 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For their major label debut (and fourth LP overall), the Detroit-based duo of Jack and Meg White offer up 14 new tracks, all recorded in London and (fortunately) showing absolutely no trace of major label production values. Meg White takes a rare turn behind the microphone on a couple ofFor their major label debut (and fourth LP overall), the Detroit-based duo of Jack and Meg White offer up 14 new tracks, all recorded in London and (fortunately) showing absolutely no trace of major label production values. Meg White takes a rare turn behind the microphone on a couple of tracks, as does guest Holly Golightly on the closing "It's True That We Love One Another." Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. It is a glorious thing to hear. It will be one of the best things you hear all year.
  2. Uncut
    100
    Laced with enough blue-eyed longing to make the most diehard Gram Parsons fan weep with wonder and the sort of verbal acuity that would give even Dylanologists pause for thought, Elephant is where the tabloid phenomenon of summer 2001 prove they are no flash in the pan by making a truly phenomenal record. [May 2003, p.94]
  3. Q Magazine
    90
    A record sufficiently impressive to suggest that White Blood Cells caught Jack and Meg using only a fraction of their talents. [Apr 2003, p.98]
  4. Blender
    80
    They break their own rules, even adding expansive guitar solos, to keep themselves interested and fans off-balance. [May 2003, p.123]
  5. The duo have refined their sound until it is shatteringly effective. Nevertheless, Elephant sounds suspiciously like the White Stripes' apotheosis.
  6. In the end, it just feels like Elephant is the culmination of the group trying to please absolutely everyone and it instead feels like sort of a mess.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 159
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    This album is ridiculous. I'm surprised it didn't start a music revolution like that of Is This It. Jack White is an absolute genius. UnfairThis album is ridiculous. I'm surprised it didn't start a music revolution like that of Is This It. Jack White is an absolute genius. Unfair album overall. All tracks are PERFECT Expand
  2. TristramC
    Sep 16, 2003
    10
    Look I don't know what the ratings mean except that maybe I am to rate the degree of urgency that should be had in acquiring this for Look I don't know what the ratings mean except that maybe I am to rate the degree of urgency that should be had in acquiring this for your collection. If that IS the case, it isn't even close. This is the finest record of the year because it is even more successful at doing what made White Blood Cells an American Classic. That is to meat rock musics' watermarks of punk and blues together while at the same time making the music sound modern instead of arcane. The common mistake is that Jack and Meg are traditionalists when they are not--any more than Berry or Hendrix were in their primes. Expand
  3. MichaelA
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    Best album of the 2000s, Raw, Raunchy, Sexy, Innocent, and extremely cool.
  4. [Anonymous]
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    This is definitely my favorite CD. Everyone needs to get a copy of this. It is amazing.
  5. MattL
    Apr 25, 2003
    9
    This is a great album. Period. Unfortunetely a lot of people (especially the goofy zero club) are reacting strongly against the hype rather This is a great album. Period. Unfortunetely a lot of people (especially the goofy zero club) are reacting strongly against the hype rather than the music. It should be noted this album was cut before they became a sensation with their previous album. The White Stripes don't create the hype, folks. They just play great music. I find it better than their last one. Expand
  6. ColinR
    Oct 21, 2003
    7
    To me it was so close to being fantastic but lacked something that hung it all together. I like individual songs but don't "get" the To me it was so close to being fantastic but lacked something that hung it all together. I like individual songs but don't "get" the album. Fine but not a classic. Expand
  7. GabeR
    Apr 16, 2003
    0
    One word: I rather watch the newport police chief on public access.

See all 159 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Albums Featuring Jack White (The White Stripes)

    Ranked: Albums Featuring Jack White (The White Stripes) Image
    Published: May 11, 2010
    "Sea of Cowards," the latest album from Jack White's side project The Dead Weather, is out this week. How does it compare to White's other albums, including output from The White Stripes and The Raconteurs?
  2. Best Albums of the Decade: A Roundup of Critic Lists

    Best Albums of the Decade: A Roundup of Critic Lists Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    We collect over 20 best-of-the-decade lists from leading music publications and websites, and reveal which albums turn up the most.
  3. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage begins with a look at the top-rated albums and artists of the past 10 years. Who finished on top? A band from Austin, and a record that was 37 years in the making.