Elk-Lake Serenade

  • Record Label: Badman
  • Release Date: May 18, 2004
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamieK
    Jul 29, 2004
    10
    This album offers more range than previous works - at times showing new emotional upsides while staying true to familiar Hayden form. Woody (a cheerful song about his cat), and My Wife (an odd electrical upbeat, almost radio-friendly song about divorce) are two noteable picks from this new bag of tricks from Hayden.
  2. JimD
    Jul 6, 2004
    6
    This was my first Hayden purchase; I bought it without having heard any songs on the album. Its an OK album, but a lot of the songs run together when you listen to it from start to finish. Home By Saturday, Starting Over and 1939 are some of the better tunes.
  3. EmrahS
    Mar 14, 2006
    9
    Great !
  4. [Anonymous]
    Jul 19, 2004
    6
    This is definitely my least favourite Hayden CD. I've tried to listen to it a lot but it just doesn't have that specialness that I'm used to in Hayden. There's not one song that I can say I really like.
  5. Peej
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    This is a great album from an accomplished singer/songwriter.
  6. LawrenceP
    Jun 28, 2005
    8
    I think this is his best effort yet.
  7. AllenT
    Jul 11, 2004
    9
    Everytime I listen to 'Elk..' I get goosebumps and imagine sitting aside a campfire with Hayden and some friends while he tells his stories with such beautiful music.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Filter
    82
    A beautifully wrought collection of ballads for the brokenhearted. [#11, p.96]
  2. It's definitely nothing like the laid-back experience of listening to him live, but it's his best album yet.