Elsie

Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
Buy On
  1. This is the best record released so far this year, and there very likely will not be one that can top it.
  2. Alternative Press
    Sep 27, 2011
    90
    Perfect for night drives on long, winding roads. [Oct 2011, p.107]
  3. Sep 22, 2011
    90
    Elsie is nostalgic, contemplative, and persistent; it's also one of 2011's best.
  4. Q Magazine
    Sep 28, 2011
    80
    Frontman Brian Fallon serves up a mostly restrained and as a result more resonant set as an opening salvo for The Horrible Crowes. [Oct 2011, p.123]
  5. Mojo
    Sep 27, 2011
    80
    Fallon tempers the rancour with expertly crafted tunes. [Oct 2011, p.97]
  6. Uncut
    Sep 23, 2011
    80
    The primary revelation of Elsie is Fallon's voice. [Oct 2011, p.90]
  7. Kerrang!
    Sep 22, 2011
    80
    Layered and controlled, Elsie is an album comprised of fine music and superior lyrics. [3 Sep 2011, p.51]
  8. Sep 22, 2011
    80
    It's a beautiful end to a touching, tragic album.
  9. While a more harder-edged and rougher sound certainly could have upped the ante a bit and helped the songwriting talents of Brian Fallon reach a wider audience that would most likely have required an entirely new band, and this is after all "only" a side-project--but it's a very fine one, worthy of attention from both newcomers and already converted.
  10. Sep 22, 2011
    70
    While this is sometimes just a soft focus version of Gaslight's bruised romanticism, his weathered tenderness makes it stick.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 27, 2014
    10
    I will start by saying exactly what I need to say to summarise the record. Not a wrong note on it. Huge the Gaslight Anthem fan here and II will start by saying exactly what I need to say to summarise the record. Not a wrong note on it. Huge the Gaslight Anthem fan here and I will hands down say this beats all TGA stuff. Probably my third favourite album of all time. Beautiful and passionate, a must hear. Full Review »
  2. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    Most of the tracks on this album are excellent. A few are not so good and sadly let the rest of the album down just a little bit. This projectMost of the tracks on this album are excellent. A few are not so good and sadly let the rest of the album down just a little bit. This project shows a different side to Brian Fallon. The vocals are less powerful than those fans of The Gaslight Anthem would be familiar with. The vocals are backed up by intricate guitar pieces that remain in the background without diminishing the quieter vocals. Behold the Hurricane and Ladykiller are the real standouts on this album and actually would be up there with my favourite Brian Fallon songs. Full Review »
  3. Oct 9, 2011
    6
    The Horrible Crowes lets you see a new side of Brian Fallon, both in musical style, as well with softer vocals. As a Gaslight fan, I enjoyedThe Horrible Crowes lets you see a new side of Brian Fallon, both in musical style, as well with softer vocals. As a Gaslight fan, I enjoyed the album, but not overly so. Behold the Hurricane was a great song, as my highlight of the album, but there is nothing that screams different about it. It's a good album, but not amazing. Full Review »