• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Apr 15, 2008
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 172

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MartinC.
    Apr 30, 2008
    1
    She recycled her previous album... again. Just no.
  2. DecM.
    May 7, 2008
    7
    On a whole it's a very good album with songs like "I stay in love" and "i wish u well" displaying the famous 8 octave vocal range but many tracks limit her vocals and if her name and picture were not on the album cover they could easily be mistaken for a mariah wannabe like beyonce....Also this album although quite good is full of forgettable tracks....Would love to see the old On a whole it's a very good album with songs like "I stay in love" and "i wish u well" displaying the famous 8 octave vocal range but many tracks limit her vocals and if her name and picture were not on the album cover they could easily be mistaken for a mariah wannabe like beyonce....Also this album although quite good is full of forgettable tracks....Would love to see the old mariah back where she wasn't a product of media culture ie the daydream era was possibly her at her best. Expand
  3. jack1222e
    Jun 3, 2008
    5
    TRUST ME ON THIS! I am a Mariah fan like u fools, but there is nothing new here. Everything is average at best, in fact its inferior to her last hit album. There are about 4-5 quality tracks. Touch my body was basically the best she had to offer and it was the only worthy song to sell her CD.
  4. DiegoT.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    The album lacks a "We Belong Together" (perhaps the track that comes close is "I Stay In Love," but all 14 tracks are, together, stronger than its predecessor. Perfect for the summer, and perfect for a huge R&B Diva. Her vocals are as strong as ever, her songwriting is as consistent as it's ever been. Highlights include "Side Effects," "I'll Be Lovin' U Long Time," The album lacks a "We Belong Together" (perhaps the track that comes close is "I Stay In Love," but all 14 tracks are, together, stronger than its predecessor. Perfect for the summer, and perfect for a huge R&B Diva. Her vocals are as strong as ever, her songwriting is as consistent as it's ever been. Highlights include "Side Effects," "I'll Be Lovin' U Long Time," "I'm That Chick," Touch My Body," And "I Stay In Love." Expand
  5. JordanK
    Jun 1, 2009
    8
    I disagree with the reviewers who are saying this is an exact replica of "The Emancipation of Mimi." While that album was very obviously influenced by old-school soul, this album is, for the most part, not. It is a very modern-sounding, club-ready, forward-thinking set of songs. It may not have a classic hit like "We Belong Together," but it is stronger song for song than its predecessor; I disagree with the reviewers who are saying this is an exact replica of "The Emancipation of Mimi." While that album was very obviously influenced by old-school soul, this album is, for the most part, not. It is a very modern-sounding, club-ready, forward-thinking set of songs. It may not have a classic hit like "We Belong Together," but it is stronger song for song than its predecessor; in fact, there is not one dud on here. Also, her vocals are much better than they were on "Emancipation," probably the strongest they have been since at least "Rainbow." I still enjoy this album more than a year since it was released. It truly deserved more hits than the 1 or 2 it received. Expand
  6. JohnnyR.
    Apr 14, 2008
    0
    I could not be any more disappointed!!! I was so bored by the whole thing. Migrate gave me a migraine! It's trying hard to be "Emancipation" but it's really mediocre-annoying-diva at best.
  7. AlanS.
    Apr 15, 2008
    8
    Love the new CD. Can't stop playing it. Brilliant pop. She's done it again.
  8. NM
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    This is an amazing album from start to finish. She uses her deep voice quite a bit, which sounds amazing. And finally, we get some real bass! My favorite tracks are I'll Be Lovin You Long Time, For The Record, Migrate, Cruise Control, Side Effects, I'm That chick and I Wish You Well... all the tracks are really great. It has something for almost everyone! Yet, it's cohesive!
  9. MaxP.
    Apr 15, 2008
    2
    This album is extremely bad. Though I have only heard a few songs off of this record I can tell you that it is another contrived piece of garbage put out by the failing American music industry. Pathetic, Unoriginal and terribly over produced. You want something better than this? Try almost anything else.
  10. NickL.
    Apr 16, 2008
    5
    Where's Slant's review?
  11. GabrielL.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    This is a more "concentrated" album than the Emancipation of Mimi.. with more potential hits and 0 side tracks.
  12. NJ.
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    Absolutely Amazing, I have never heard of of something so original and greta as loving you long time its amazing so different and love story is amazing and bye bye will help people so much, and listen loves if she was making ballads like using all her voice power she wouldn't sell that was her downfall this is the music of the future so deal with it or stay in the past moaning, every Absolutely Amazing, I have never heard of of something so original and greta as loving you long time its amazing so different and love story is amazing and bye bye will help people so much, and listen loves if she was making ballads like using all her voice power she wouldn't sell that was her downfall this is the music of the future so deal with it or stay in the past moaning, every song has its own sound its amazing! Expand
  13. SK.
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    A polished, accomplished pop/R&B confection you can play from beginning to end and that gets better with each listen. If "Emancipation of Mimi" was her "Off the Wall," then this is her "Thriller." An almost certain Album of the Year nominee. She dabbles in reggae, disco, electro-funk and anchors the album with the R&B jams you expect. At least 7 of these songs could be singles. Highlights A polished, accomplished pop/R&B confection you can play from beginning to end and that gets better with each listen. If "Emancipation of Mimi" was her "Off the Wall," then this is her "Thriller." An almost certain Album of the Year nominee. She dabbles in reggae, disco, electro-funk and anchors the album with the R&B jams you expect. At least 7 of these songs could be singles. Highlights include the haunting "Side Effects," the "Billie Jean" of the collection, which chronicles an abusive relationship to an irresistible and dark melody. "For The Record" has a great early '80s pop groove, and "Migrate" is a funky club jam that uses auto-tune very creatively. Not as improvisational sounding as "Mimi" but it has huge entertainment value. "Bye Bye," a treacly ballad, is the only misstep. Expand
  14. C
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    NME (which counts for metacritic) has given the album a 7/10 in the paper issue.
  15. ElvisP.
    Apr 19, 2008
    0
    Excrement = Mariah Carey's music 2.
  16. LuciaS.
    Apr 24, 2008
    0
    My god...I wasted 20 Euros on this garbage..can i sue mariah or someone for this??
  17. tres
    Apr 25, 2008
    0
    THE DEATH OF THE VOICE.
  18. RCL
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    Maybe her best.
  19. NeriS
    Apr 26, 2008
    9
    MC came up with a satisfying album full of potential hits. There are lot of people who are simply haters and you can tell by looking at the ratings with 0 or 1 without any substantial comments to say.
  20. NickL
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Are you people crazy? This album is brilliant. Her best in years.
  21. ShannaP
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Another great great great album! Every song is enjoyable! She never ceases to amaze me!
  22. SecardinO.
    Apr 30, 2008
    4
    Mediocre album and no artistic ambition.
  23. JorgeS.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Mariah's best since "Butterfly". I love every song.
  24. ClifC.
    May 30, 2008
    8
    A 8 only because of the overproduction and one or two songs ("O.O.C." & "Thanx 4 Nothin'") that I can hardly listen. Since the Butterfly album, she has released with E=MC2 her best album.
  25. MakMak
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Hottest MC record since Butterfly. Her best as a singer and songwriter. Gotta give her props! 2008 is the Year of Mariah once more.
  26. PaoloQ.
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    All tracks are great and the album is better than TEOM. Mariah Carey is becoming better than ever.
  27. anonymous
    Jul 9, 2008
    1
    Big No!!!! No!!!!!! Album, I'm realy not enjoy hear this album.
  28. LeandroT
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    This album is the best. All the tracks are enjoiable. It's hard those the favorites. Touch my body is the best. I like so much Migrate, I'm that Chick, Last Kiss, I'll be lovin u a long time. It's sad the album didn't sold as well as TEOM. I think she made some mistakes choosing the singles. Bye bye shouldn't be the second single. It's a beautiful but This album is the best. All the tracks are enjoiable. It's hard those the favorites. Touch my body is the best. I like so much Migrate, I'm that Chick, Last Kiss, I'll be lovin u a long time. It's sad the album didn't sold as well as TEOM. I think she made some mistakes choosing the singles. Bye bye shouldn't be the second single. It's a beautiful but sad music, a little bit depressed. Expand
  29. DanS.
    Apr 15, 2008
    9
    This album is HOT. If you like beautiful melodies and heart felt lyrics, BUY THIS ALBUM. I had to wash my balls after listening to this!!!
  30. JamieI.
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    I was never a Mariah fan but I am feeling this CD and enjoying her song writing skills. This is much like the Justin Timberlake CD in that the majority of songs can be hit singles. This CD will be HUGE for her, HUGE. The lyrics on several songs, Side Effects, Bye Bye, Love Story will connect with people deeply. Buy it and enjoy!
  31. KrazyOne
    Apr 15, 2008
    7
    Over hyped, at first listen it didn't move me the way. I thought it would or could. It is worth having though. I still like listening to her.
  32. Diane
    Apr 15, 2008
    3
    When will Mariah do something original? As a longtime fan I keep waiting for her to stretch herself artistically, but all she seems to worry about is hitting #1. Congrats to her for beating Elvis. Sadly, they song, like the album, is completely forgettable.
  33. AaronM
    Apr 16, 2008
    6
    This album deserves a 6.5. I think this album is mistitled. The title would have you believe it'd be as fun and free as "Emancipation of Mimi" and more! But on the contrary, it is more relaxed. It peaks when it is real and soulful, like I Stay in Love, I Wish You Well, and Love Story. And it falls flat on all pop songs except Touch My Body. It's not an emancipation album, but This album deserves a 6.5. I think this album is mistitled. The title would have you believe it'd be as fun and free as "Emancipation of Mimi" and more! But on the contrary, it is more relaxed. It peaks when it is real and soulful, like I Stay in Love, I Wish You Well, and Love Story. And it falls flat on all pop songs except Touch My Body. It's not an emancipation album, but it's still meaningful and promising. Collapse
  34. DaniH
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    I have been a Mariah fan for a very long time and I am just ecstatic over this album. My favorite song on the album is "For The Record" although I have and will continue to listen to the album from start to finish without skipping one track. def a 10/10.
  35. RicardoC.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    Fantastic album! A very "cohesive" record with tons of potential singles.
  36. LeeS
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    I'm not a fan of la Mariah....But, man you gotta admit that THIS IS the pop album of 2008!!! HUGE!!!Even the ballads (except for Bye Bye", the low point of this accomplished project)!
  37. AlexF
    Apr 17, 2008
    2
    Her best album!!!
  38. JesusP.
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    despite she does not use her full voice talent it's a superb album from the commercial point of view. there are quite a few potential hit singles included. i would say it's definitely one of her best albums ever even if she could have delighted us a bit more with her full vocal skills.
  39. KarloV.
    Apr 19, 2008
    1
    This album is a complete bore! Not even worth the download!
  40. JonasH.
    Apr 19, 2008
    0
    I'm getting tired of hearing this music everywhere, not to mention disgusted by her use of a relativity theory equation without knowing what it means. I laughed out loud when hearing her explain the title "It's like E = Mariah Carey times 2". It should be illegal to abuse mathematical expressions when you don't understand the operators.
  41. KhalilB.
    Apr 23, 2008
    10
    This is a fantastic Album. Not as good as Mimi. But excellent in its own way.
  42. pg
    Apr 23, 2008
    1
    quite boring. a nice voice that's always wasted on such 'blah' songs.... the only highlight track is 'i'll be loving you long time' and that is mostly because of the beat and back-up singers.
  43. JosephA
    Apr 24, 2008
    7
    I like it!
  44. FlowersS.
    Apr 24, 2008
    0
    This is the biggest disappointment of the year...before the album leaked and after hearing that mediocrity that is Touch My Body and watching her hideous performances of Migrate and That Chick on various shows i was very unsure if I was going to download this. Anyway I did and I regret it: it's a shame that such a big star cannot put out something original, inspiring and more This is the biggest disappointment of the year...before the album leaked and after hearing that mediocrity that is Touch My Body and watching her hideous performances of Migrate and That Chick on various shows i was very unsure if I was going to download this. Anyway I did and I regret it: it's a shame that such a big star cannot put out something original, inspiring and more appropriate to her age. This album is not bad. It's average, which is even worse. Expand
  45. DannyN.
    Apr 24, 2008
    1
    Given Mariah's standards, this is simply bad. Very disappointed. It's disturbing listening to a 40 year-old singing about touching her body and so on..will she ever grow??
  46. LinaB.
    Apr 24, 2008
    1
    Very very bad. Not buying this.
  47. GinoD
    Apr 26, 2008
    9
    Not a disappointing follow-up to MIMI. Hip-pop-soul at it best!
  48. SANDYWU
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    One of the best abums in years! Fantastic music from the real diva, Love her music.
  49. SugaPapa
    Apr 27, 2008
    7
    Ok, this is no "Emancipation of Mimi", which is one of the most amazing albums I have heard in the last 5 years. But E=MC2 does have its amazing moments such as the infectious "O.O.C" and "Cruise Control" which sounds like shake it off part2. You can tell that this album is trying to capture the essence of TEOM but unfortunately becomes slightly monotonous at times with no real variety. Ok, this is no "Emancipation of Mimi", which is one of the most amazing albums I have heard in the last 5 years. But E=MC2 does have its amazing moments such as the infectious "O.O.C" and "Cruise Control" which sounds like shake it off part2. You can tell that this album is trying to capture the essence of TEOM but unfortunately becomes slightly monotonous at times with no real variety. Where are the strong ballads such as Circles and I wish you knew?. Stand out tracks: Migrate, Touch My Body, Cruise Control, That Chick, OOC... Expand
  50. SherriP
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    I LOVE this album. I've been a Mariah fan since her first CD and I think she did an excellent job on this CD. I listen to it going to work from the first song to the last! Definitely up there with the Emancipation of Mimi!
  51. IvanC.
    Apr 29, 2008
    0
    Every track in this album sounds like a recycled track from her previous album. This album is simply bland and boring.
  52. LauraW.
    May 1, 2008
    9
    Mariah Carey has a nice album .It is the best piece of work she has done in years. she still has that amazing voice. Once again, she come outs with hot hits. Keep doing your thing girl.
  53. [Anonymous]
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Best Album Ever... May Better Than Madonna's New CD Trust Me I Know I Heard It.... So Ahead Get The Mariah Carey Album Now.
  54. ThiagoS.
    May 31, 2008
    10
    Very good this one, i didn't like her.
  55. JacksonS.
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    Musically better than The Emancipation Of Mimi and her best album after 1997's Butterfly - this new album by Mariah Carey managed to prove to her bunch of detractors that she still has the talents to prove.
  56. RubenR.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    It is, the Mariah Carey's best all the time. E=MC2 is really really big and innovator, catchy, sincere and it contains the smash singles that i've never listened Top Song: I Stay In Love Migrate I'll Be Loving You Long Time Side Effects Touch My Body I'm That Chick For The Record.
  57. VinceKD
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    Mariah is back to top her own 2005 release. It's R&B/Pop at state-of-the-art.
  58. SeanW.
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    WOW! This is a fun record full with hits and some emotional inspiritual songs! LOVE IT!
  59. SidS.
    Apr 15, 2008
    9
    It may not be "Mimi," but it's still a terrific album -- I'm That Chick, For The Record and Migrate are stellar.
  60. PaulC
    Apr 15, 2008
    4
    Even though I don't listen to a ton of pop music, I thought 2005's "The Emancipation of Mimi" was a fantastic album, and it continues to get a lot of plays on my iPod. I was really hoping the follow-up would be as good, but it is a complete failure. This is just a collection of mildly acceptable pop songs. None of the tracks really stick out. All in all, it's quite a Even though I don't listen to a ton of pop music, I thought 2005's "The Emancipation of Mimi" was a fantastic album, and it continues to get a lot of plays on my iPod. I was really hoping the follow-up would be as good, but it is a complete failure. This is just a collection of mildly acceptable pop songs. None of the tracks really stick out. All in all, it's quite a disappointment. Expand
  61. JackS.
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing
  62. AlexF
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    Her best album!!!
  63. JayC
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    I love it!
  64. JarrellC.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    I was very skeptical if Mariah could deliver an album as good as The Emancipation of Mimi. In fact, I doubted it. But I must say, this album is as good as, if not better than TEOM. "Migrate" contains classic productions that even plays in Mariah's beautiful whistle register. "I'm That Chick" and "I'll Be Loving You Long Time" offers some fun to the album. My favorite song I was very skeptical if Mariah could deliver an album as good as The Emancipation of Mimi. In fact, I doubted it. But I must say, this album is as good as, if not better than TEOM. "Migrate" contains classic productions that even plays in Mariah's beautiful whistle register. "I'm That Chick" and "I'll Be Loving You Long Time" offers some fun to the album. My favorite song on the album is "For The Record." The vocals on the track are the best on the album. The ballads on the album are good, but they are nowhere near as amazing as the ballads on TEOM. However, the uptempo tracks are lightyears better than TEOM. Definitely check out this album. Expand
  65. MikeC.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    I love the album so much. I wasn't expecting really high with this album since TEOM was hard to top off but boy was I surprised. The album is really, really good esp I Stay In Love and Cruise Control. Congrats, Mimi!
  66. ChristopherL.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    A bit of pop, r&b, hip-hop, disco and gospel, working altogether with Mariah's incredible vocals - the result - a stellar album.
  67. AdamW.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    I really feel she is at her best can't wait to see her in another 20yrs.
  68. AmyR
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    This is her best album yet!!!! It's has a lil bit of everything for all types of people!! you must add this to your collection!!! love her GO MIMI!!
  69. ChrisW.
    Apr 17, 2008
    7
    All of the sudden Mariah doesn't talk like Mariah? The lyrics were obviously written by someone else... and probably for someone else. Mariah with ghetto slang = a poor follow-up to a great album. Mariah, stick to who you are and don't follow poor trends in music.
  70. JamesF.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    Best album of the year hands down.
  71. TonyV.
    Apr 18, 2008
    6
    It's an alright album, there's a couple of good songs on there like "O.O.C." and "I'm That Chick". The album was disappointing in a way since her last album was so much better than this one. I think Mariah has lost it over the year, she's not that great anymore.
  72. CarolynA.
    Apr 18, 2008
    8
    At first listen I have to admit I was a bit disappointed, however the more I am hearing the songs the more I am enjoying and appreciating them. I find myself skipping over some though, to re-listen to the 4 or 5 that I really like. I am definitely enjoying the new album, but I honestly have to say it's not as good as "Mimi".
  73. antonios.
    Apr 21, 2008
    9
    This c.d is great.. maybe a song a two are a little dull but overall it is an exciting and vibrant c.d.
  74. AjayD.
    Apr 24, 2008
    4
    What a heart breaker. Boring music right here folks...run on the mill. I give it 4, because thats all the good songs on it.
  75. JesseL
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    I really really liike E=MC2 its Mariah Carey's funest CD to date bye fair it has some really good club songs on it and still has thouse good love songs on it the album stars in a club and ends in a church with the song I Wish You Will. I think Touch My Body is the worst song on here and that's the song that made me bye its a good CD Buy it!!
  76. HassH.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    The best of all MC albums, and most importantly: the best of all female singers today. Superb album
  77. CoryF.
    Aug 15, 2008
    9
    I was really scared when I heard that Mariah was releasing another album. I mean, how can you beat her comeback and 2005's highest selling album, "The Emancipation of Mimi"? Well, she has another album that will surely spawn more hits! The songs sound similar to "Mimi" but are NOT carbon copies like all other major reviewers are giving "E=MC2". Songs like "Touch My Body" (her 18th #1 I was really scared when I heard that Mariah was releasing another album. I mean, how can you beat her comeback and 2005's highest selling album, "The Emancipation of Mimi"? Well, she has another album that will surely spawn more hits! The songs sound similar to "Mimi" but are NOT carbon copies like all other major reviewers are giving "E=MC2". Songs like "Touch My Body" (her 18th #1 single), "Bye Bye", and "I'll Be Lovin' U Long Time" truly showcase this cool, purely genius record! Expand
  78. Apr 16, 2011
    8
    The album is good, it's an easy listen from beginning to end, but she brings nothing new to it and it sounds like it tries too hard to grab all that worked with The Emancipation of Mimi, and make it a tiny bit edgier. There is a failed attempt at reggae on here, and the presence of Young Jeezy is unnecessary and a little OTT to be fair. Touch My Body is great, a really playful track, and IThe album is good, it's an easy listen from beginning to end, but she brings nothing new to it and it sounds like it tries too hard to grab all that worked with The Emancipation of Mimi, and make it a tiny bit edgier. There is a failed attempt at reggae on here, and the presence of Young Jeezy is unnecessary and a little OTT to be fair. Touch My Body is great, a really playful track, and I love I Stay In Love, Migrate and Bye Bye but, in the grand scheme of things, the album is only good. Expand
  79. Nov 30, 2012
    8
    Her highest reviewed album in years
  80. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    I love this album! Very fun and creative. While it is REALLY similar (in terms of track order) to 'Emancipation', it is nonetheless good. She knows how to make albums. My favorite tracks are 'I'm That Chick' for its sexiness and grooviness, 'Cruise Control' for its playfulness and her decision to collaborate with Marley, and 'Bye Bye' for the message it gives. This is a feel-good albumI love this album! Very fun and creative. While it is REALLY similar (in terms of track order) to 'Emancipation', it is nonetheless good. She knows how to make albums. My favorite tracks are 'I'm That Chick' for its sexiness and grooviness, 'Cruise Control' for its playfulness and her decision to collaborate with Marley, and 'Bye Bye' for the message it gives. This is a feel-good album that I'll listen to in any situation. It's my 2nd favorite Mariah album behind 'Emancipation', but it is indeed remarkable. Fun fact: This was actually the first Mariah album I ever owned. I really got into music a couple years back. This album helped me discover more artists and more Mariah albums. Mariah is one of my favorite artists of all time and this album will always be a part of me. The title is fun too. Expand
  81. Apr 18, 2015
    8
    We really need this man, this enjoyable and -easy listening- record that it's well produced. With this LP Mimi really brings the levity, also the fun and the essence of her previous work. Her most dance an "poppy" sound displays a more concentrated Mariah and multiple collaborations. This mix of club jams and power ballads shows the real hitmaker of the 90's. The natural lyrics seems likeWe really need this man, this enjoyable and -easy listening- record that it's well produced. With this LP Mimi really brings the levity, also the fun and the essence of her previous work. Her most dance an "poppy" sound displays a more concentrated Mariah and multiple collaborations. This mix of club jams and power ballads shows the real hitmaker of the 90's. The natural lyrics seems like it was Mariah's diary, it's a personal one, even though it seems -at the same time- too risky and fabricated for mainstream but at the end we have a enjoyable material and that's a fact.

    Highlights: I Stay In Love, For The Record, Touch My Body.
    Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. The result is a largely enjoyable mix of flirtatious club jams, midtempo love songs, and emotional ballads anchored by hip hop beats that hansomely showcase the singer's powerful vocal range. [18 Apr 2008, p.63]
  2. The production is glossed to within an inch of its life, the mood is cheerfully upbeat--or 'festive' as Carey might put it herself--and the entire confection rings out with bold, sassy, brutally executed intent.
  3. Nearly every song confines Carey to four-note verses, offering little room for her glorious range, and the six ballads are drenched in yearbook-quote lyrics that never quite work themselves into the froth of "The Emancipation of Mimi."