E=MC2

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Apr 15, 2008
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 193 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 193

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 16, 2011
    8
    The album is good, it's an easy listen from beginning to end, but she brings nothing new to it and it sounds like it tries too hard to grab all that worked with The Emancipation of Mimi, and make it a tiny bit edgier. There is a failed attempt at reggae on here, and the presence of Young Jeezy is unnecessary and a little OTT to be fair. Touch My Body is great, a really playful track, and IThe album is good, it's an easy listen from beginning to end, but she brings nothing new to it and it sounds like it tries too hard to grab all that worked with The Emancipation of Mimi, and make it a tiny bit edgier. There is a failed attempt at reggae on here, and the presence of Young Jeezy is unnecessary and a little OTT to be fair. Touch My Body is great, a really playful track, and I love I Stay In Love, Migrate and Bye Bye but, in the grand scheme of things, the album is only good. Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2012
    8
    Her highest reviewed album in years
  3. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    I love this album! Very fun and creative. While it is REALLY similar (in terms of track order) to 'Emancipation', it is nonetheless good. She knows how to make albums. My favorite tracks are 'I'm That Chick' for its sexiness and grooviness, 'Cruise Control' for its playfulness and her decision to collaborate with Marley, and 'Bye Bye' for the message it gives. This is a feel-good albumI love this album! Very fun and creative. While it is REALLY similar (in terms of track order) to 'Emancipation', it is nonetheless good. She knows how to make albums. My favorite tracks are 'I'm That Chick' for its sexiness and grooviness, 'Cruise Control' for its playfulness and her decision to collaborate with Marley, and 'Bye Bye' for the message it gives. This is a feel-good album that I'll listen to in any situation. It's my 2nd favorite Mariah album behind 'Emancipation', but it is indeed remarkable. Fun fact: This was actually the first Mariah album I ever owned. I really got into music a couple years back. This album helped me discover more artists and more Mariah albums. Mariah is one of my favorite artists of all time and this album will always be a part of me. The title is fun too. Expand
  4. Apr 18, 2015
    8
    We really need this man, this enjoyable and -easy listening- record that it's well produced. With this LP Mimi really brings the levity, also the fun and the essence of her previous work. Her most dance an "poppy" sound displays a more concentrated Mariah and multiple collaborations. This mix of club jams and power ballads shows the real hitmaker of the 90's. The natural lyrics seems likeWe really need this man, this enjoyable and -easy listening- record that it's well produced. With this LP Mimi really brings the levity, also the fun and the essence of her previous work. Her most dance an "poppy" sound displays a more concentrated Mariah and multiple collaborations. This mix of club jams and power ballads shows the real hitmaker of the 90's. The natural lyrics seems like it was Mariah's diary, it's a personal one, even though it seems -at the same time- too risky and fabricated for mainstream but at the end we have a enjoyable material and that's a fact.

    Highlights: I Stay In Love, For The Record, Touch My Body.
    Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2015
    10
    album with great commercial potential as well as mixtures one MariĆ” more fri and classy, dipping into R & B and hip hop if not for the mismanagement of his label would have been higher than the last.
  6. DecM.
    May 7, 2008
    7
    On a whole it's a very good album with songs like "I stay in love" and "i wish u well" displaying the famous 8 octave vocal range but many tracks limit her vocals and if her name and picture were not on the album cover they could easily be mistaken for a mariah wannabe like beyonce....Also this album although quite good is full of forgettable tracks....Would love to see the old On a whole it's a very good album with songs like "I stay in love" and "i wish u well" displaying the famous 8 octave vocal range but many tracks limit her vocals and if her name and picture were not on the album cover they could easily be mistaken for a mariah wannabe like beyonce....Also this album although quite good is full of forgettable tracks....Would love to see the old mariah back where she wasn't a product of media culture ie the daydream era was possibly her at her best. Expand
  7. DiegoT.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    The album lacks a "We Belong Together" (perhaps the track that comes close is "I Stay In Love," but all 14 tracks are, together, stronger than its predecessor. Perfect for the summer, and perfect for a huge R&B Diva. Her vocals are as strong as ever, her songwriting is as consistent as it's ever been. Highlights include "Side Effects," "I'll Be Lovin' U Long Time," The album lacks a "We Belong Together" (perhaps the track that comes close is "I Stay In Love," but all 14 tracks are, together, stronger than its predecessor. Perfect for the summer, and perfect for a huge R&B Diva. Her vocals are as strong as ever, her songwriting is as consistent as it's ever been. Highlights include "Side Effects," "I'll Be Lovin' U Long Time," "I'm That Chick," Touch My Body," And "I Stay In Love." Expand
  8. JordanK
    Jun 1, 2009
    8
    I disagree with the reviewers who are saying this is an exact replica of "The Emancipation of Mimi." While that album was very obviously influenced by old-school soul, this album is, for the most part, not. It is a very modern-sounding, club-ready, forward-thinking set of songs. It may not have a classic hit like "We Belong Together," but it is stronger song for song than its predecessor; I disagree with the reviewers who are saying this is an exact replica of "The Emancipation of Mimi." While that album was very obviously influenced by old-school soul, this album is, for the most part, not. It is a very modern-sounding, club-ready, forward-thinking set of songs. It may not have a classic hit like "We Belong Together," but it is stronger song for song than its predecessor; in fact, there is not one dud on here. Also, her vocals are much better than they were on "Emancipation," probably the strongest they have been since at least "Rainbow." I still enjoy this album more than a year since it was released. It truly deserved more hits than the 1 or 2 it received. Expand
  9. AlanS.
    Apr 15, 2008
    8
    Love the new CD. Can't stop playing it. Brilliant pop. She's done it again.
  10. NM
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    This is an amazing album from start to finish. She uses her deep voice quite a bit, which sounds amazing. And finally, we get some real bass! My favorite tracks are I'll Be Lovin You Long Time, For The Record, Migrate, Cruise Control, Side Effects, I'm That chick and I Wish You Well... all the tracks are really great. It has something for almost everyone! Yet, it's cohesive!
  11. GabrielL.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    This is a more "concentrated" album than the Emancipation of Mimi.. with more potential hits and 0 side tracks.
  12. NJ.
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    Absolutely Amazing, I have never heard of of something so original and greta as loving you long time its amazing so different and love story is amazing and bye bye will help people so much, and listen loves if she was making ballads like using all her voice power she wouldn't sell that was her downfall this is the music of the future so deal with it or stay in the past moaning, every Absolutely Amazing, I have never heard of of something so original and greta as loving you long time its amazing so different and love story is amazing and bye bye will help people so much, and listen loves if she was making ballads like using all her voice power she wouldn't sell that was her downfall this is the music of the future so deal with it or stay in the past moaning, every song has its own sound its amazing! Expand
  13. SK.
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    A polished, accomplished pop/R&B confection you can play from beginning to end and that gets better with each listen. If "Emancipation of Mimi" was her "Off the Wall," then this is her "Thriller." An almost certain Album of the Year nominee. She dabbles in reggae, disco, electro-funk and anchors the album with the R&B jams you expect. At least 7 of these songs could be singles. Highlights A polished, accomplished pop/R&B confection you can play from beginning to end and that gets better with each listen. If "Emancipation of Mimi" was her "Off the Wall," then this is her "Thriller." An almost certain Album of the Year nominee. She dabbles in reggae, disco, electro-funk and anchors the album with the R&B jams you expect. At least 7 of these songs could be singles. Highlights include the haunting "Side Effects," the "Billie Jean" of the collection, which chronicles an abusive relationship to an irresistible and dark melody. "For The Record" has a great early '80s pop groove, and "Migrate" is a funky club jam that uses auto-tune very creatively. Not as improvisational sounding as "Mimi" but it has huge entertainment value. "Bye Bye," a treacly ballad, is the only misstep. Expand
  14. C
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    NME (which counts for metacritic) has given the album a 7/10 in the paper issue.
  15. RCL
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    Maybe her best.
  16. NeriS
    Apr 26, 2008
    9
    MC came up with a satisfying album full of potential hits. There are lot of people who are simply haters and you can tell by looking at the ratings with 0 or 1 without any substantial comments to say.
  17. NickL
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Are you people crazy? This album is brilliant. Her best in years.
  18. ShannaP
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Another great great great album! Every song is enjoyable! She never ceases to amaze me!
  19. JorgeS.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Mariah's best since "Butterfly". I love every song.
  20. ClifC.
    May 30, 2008
    8
    A 8 only because of the overproduction and one or two songs ("O.O.C." & "Thanx 4 Nothin'") that I can hardly listen. Since the Butterfly album, she has released with E=MC2 her best album.
  21. MakMak
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Hottest MC record since Butterfly. Her best as a singer and songwriter. Gotta give her props! 2008 is the Year of Mariah once more.
  22. PaoloQ.
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    All tracks are great and the album is better than TEOM. Mariah Carey is becoming better than ever.
  23. LeandroT
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    This album is the best. All the tracks are enjoiable. It's hard those the favorites. Touch my body is the best. I like so much Migrate, I'm that Chick, Last Kiss, I'll be lovin u a long time. It's sad the album didn't sold as well as TEOM. I think she made some mistakes choosing the singles. Bye bye shouldn't be the second single. It's a beautiful but This album is the best. All the tracks are enjoiable. It's hard those the favorites. Touch my body is the best. I like so much Migrate, I'm that Chick, Last Kiss, I'll be lovin u a long time. It's sad the album didn't sold as well as TEOM. I think she made some mistakes choosing the singles. Bye bye shouldn't be the second single. It's a beautiful but sad music, a little bit depressed. Expand
  24. DanS.
    Apr 15, 2008
    9
    This album is HOT. If you like beautiful melodies and heart felt lyrics, BUY THIS ALBUM. I had to wash my balls after listening to this!!!
  25. JamieI.
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    I was never a Mariah fan but I am feeling this CD and enjoying her song writing skills. This is much like the Justin Timberlake CD in that the majority of songs can be hit singles. This CD will be HUGE for her, HUGE. The lyrics on several songs, Side Effects, Bye Bye, Love Story will connect with people deeply. Buy it and enjoy!
  26. KrazyOne
    Apr 15, 2008
    7
    Over hyped, at first listen it didn't move me the way. I thought it would or could. It is worth having though. I still like listening to her.
  27. DaniH
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    I have been a Mariah fan for a very long time and I am just ecstatic over this album. My favorite song on the album is "For The Record" although I have and will continue to listen to the album from start to finish without skipping one track. def a 10/10.
  28. RicardoC.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    Fantastic album! A very "cohesive" record with tons of potential singles.
  29. LeeS
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    I'm not a fan of la Mariah....But, man you gotta admit that THIS IS the pop album of 2008!!! HUGE!!!Even the ballads (except for Bye Bye", the low point of this accomplished project)!
  30. JesusP.
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    despite she does not use her full voice talent it's a superb album from the commercial point of view. there are quite a few potential hit singles included. i would say it's definitely one of her best albums ever even if she could have delighted us a bit more with her full vocal skills.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. The result is a largely enjoyable mix of flirtatious club jams, midtempo love songs, and emotional ballads anchored by hip hop beats that hansomely showcase the singer's powerful vocal range. [18 Apr 2008, p.63]
  2. The production is glossed to within an inch of its life, the mood is cheerfully upbeat--or 'festive' as Carey might put it herself--and the entire confection rings out with bold, sassy, brutally executed intent.
  3. Nearly every song confines Carey to four-note verses, offering little room for her glorious range, and the six ballads are drenched in yearbook-quote lyrics that never quite work themselves into the froth of "The Emancipation of Mimi."