• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Apr 15, 2008
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 172

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LeandroT
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    This album is the best. All the tracks are enjoiable. It's hard those the favorites. Touch my body is the best. I like so much Migrate, I'm that Chick, Last Kiss, I'll be lovin u a long time. It's sad the album didn't sold as well as TEOM. I think she made some mistakes choosing the singles. Bye bye shouldn't be the second single. It's a beautiful but This album is the best. All the tracks are enjoiable. It's hard those the favorites. Touch my body is the best. I like so much Migrate, I'm that Chick, Last Kiss, I'll be lovin u a long time. It's sad the album didn't sold as well as TEOM. I think she made some mistakes choosing the singles. Bye bye shouldn't be the second single. It's a beautiful but sad music, a little bit depressed. Expand
  2. RubenR.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    It is, the Mariah Carey's best all the time. E=MC2 is really really big and innovator, catchy, sincere and it contains the smash singles that i've never listened Top Song: I Stay In Love Migrate I'll Be Loving You Long Time Side Effects Touch My Body I'm That Chick For The Record.
  3. CoryF.
    Aug 15, 2008
    9
    I was really scared when I heard that Mariah was releasing another album. I mean, how can you beat her comeback and 2005's highest selling album, "The Emancipation of Mimi"? Well, she has another album that will surely spawn more hits! The songs sound similar to "Mimi" but are NOT carbon copies like all other major reviewers are giving "E=MC2". Songs like "Touch My Body" (her 18th #1 I was really scared when I heard that Mariah was releasing another album. I mean, how can you beat her comeback and 2005's highest selling album, "The Emancipation of Mimi"? Well, she has another album that will surely spawn more hits! The songs sound similar to "Mimi" but are NOT carbon copies like all other major reviewers are giving "E=MC2". Songs like "Touch My Body" (her 18th #1 single), "Bye Bye", and "I'll Be Lovin' U Long Time" truly showcase this cool, purely genius record! Expand
  4. DiegoT.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    The album lacks a "We Belong Together" (perhaps the track that comes close is "I Stay In Love," but all 14 tracks are, together, stronger than its predecessor. Perfect for the summer, and perfect for a huge R&B Diva. Her vocals are as strong as ever, her songwriting is as consistent as it's ever been. Highlights include "Side Effects," "I'll Be Lovin' U Long Time," The album lacks a "We Belong Together" (perhaps the track that comes close is "I Stay In Love," but all 14 tracks are, together, stronger than its predecessor. Perfect for the summer, and perfect for a huge R&B Diva. Her vocals are as strong as ever, her songwriting is as consistent as it's ever been. Highlights include "Side Effects," "I'll Be Lovin' U Long Time," "I'm That Chick," Touch My Body," And "I Stay In Love." Expand
  5. JacksonS.
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    Musically better than The Emancipation Of Mimi and her best album after 1997's Butterfly - this new album by Mariah Carey managed to prove to her bunch of detractors that she still has the talents to prove.
  6. PaoloQ.
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    All tracks are great and the album is better than TEOM. Mariah Carey is becoming better than ever.
  7. ThiagoS.
    May 31, 2008
    10
    Very good this one, i didn't like her.
  8. HassH.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    The best of all MC albums, and most importantly: the best of all female singers today. Superb album
  9. MakMak
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Hottest MC record since Butterfly. Her best as a singer and songwriter. Gotta give her props! 2008 is the Year of Mariah once more.
  10. JorgeS.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Mariah's best since "Butterfly". I love every song.
  11. [Anonymous]
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Best Album Ever... May Better Than Madonna's New CD Trust Me I Know I Heard It.... So Ahead Get The Mariah Carey Album Now.
  12. LauraW.
    May 1, 2008
    9
    Mariah Carey has a nice album .It is the best piece of work she has done in years. she still has that amazing voice. Once again, she come outs with hot hits. Keep doing your thing girl.
  13. SherriP
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    I LOVE this album. I've been a Mariah fan since her first CD and I think she did an excellent job on this CD. I listen to it going to work from the first song to the last! Definitely up there with the Emancipation of Mimi!
  14. ShannaP
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Another great great great album! Every song is enjoyable! She never ceases to amaze me!
  15. NickL
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Are you people crazy? This album is brilliant. Her best in years.
  16. NeriS
    Apr 26, 2008
    9
    MC came up with a satisfying album full of potential hits. There are lot of people who are simply haters and you can tell by looking at the ratings with 0 or 1 without any substantial comments to say.
  17. SANDYWU
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    One of the best abums in years! Fantastic music from the real diva, Love her music.
  18. GinoD
    Apr 26, 2008
    9
    Not a disappointing follow-up to MIMI. Hip-pop-soul at it best!
  19. JesseL
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    I really really liike E=MC2 its Mariah Carey's funest CD to date bye fair it has some really good club songs on it and still has thouse good love songs on it the album stars in a club and ends in a church with the song I Wish You Will. I think Touch My Body is the worst song on here and that's the song that made me bye its a good CD Buy it!!
  20. RCL
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    Maybe her best.
  21. KhalilB.
    Apr 23, 2008
    10
    This is a fantastic Album. Not as good as Mimi. But excellent in its own way.
  22. antonios.
    Apr 21, 2008
    9
    This c.d is great.. maybe a song a two are a little dull but overall it is an exciting and vibrant c.d.
  23. JesusP.
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    despite she does not use her full voice talent it's a superb album from the commercial point of view. there are quite a few potential hit singles included. i would say it's definitely one of her best albums ever even if she could have delighted us a bit more with her full vocal skills.
  24. C
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    NME (which counts for metacritic) has given the album a 7/10 in the paper issue.
  25. SK.
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    A polished, accomplished pop/R&B confection you can play from beginning to end and that gets better with each listen. If "Emancipation of Mimi" was her "Off the Wall," then this is her "Thriller." An almost certain Album of the Year nominee. She dabbles in reggae, disco, electro-funk and anchors the album with the R&B jams you expect. At least 7 of these songs could be singles. Highlights A polished, accomplished pop/R&B confection you can play from beginning to end and that gets better with each listen. If "Emancipation of Mimi" was her "Off the Wall," then this is her "Thriller." An almost certain Album of the Year nominee. She dabbles in reggae, disco, electro-funk and anchors the album with the R&B jams you expect. At least 7 of these songs could be singles. Highlights include the haunting "Side Effects," the "Billie Jean" of the collection, which chronicles an abusive relationship to an irresistible and dark melody. "For The Record" has a great early '80s pop groove, and "Migrate" is a funky club jam that uses auto-tune very creatively. Not as improvisational sounding as "Mimi" but it has huge entertainment value. "Bye Bye," a treacly ballad, is the only misstep. Expand
  26. NJ.
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    Absolutely Amazing, I have never heard of of something so original and greta as loving you long time its amazing so different and love story is amazing and bye bye will help people so much, and listen loves if she was making ballads like using all her voice power she wouldn't sell that was her downfall this is the music of the future so deal with it or stay in the past moaning, every Absolutely Amazing, I have never heard of of something so original and greta as loving you long time its amazing so different and love story is amazing and bye bye will help people so much, and listen loves if she was making ballads like using all her voice power she wouldn't sell that was her downfall this is the music of the future so deal with it or stay in the past moaning, every song has its own sound its amazing! Expand
  27. JamesF.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    Best album of the year hands down.
  28. AmyR
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    This is her best album yet!!!! It's has a lil bit of everything for all types of people!! you must add this to your collection!!! love her GO MIMI!!
  29. AdamW.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    I really feel she is at her best can't wait to see her in another 20yrs.
  30. GabrielL.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    This is a more "concentrated" album than the Emancipation of Mimi.. with more potential hits and 0 side tracks.
  31. ChristopherL.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    A bit of pop, r&b, hip-hop, disco and gospel, working altogether with Mariah's incredible vocals - the result - a stellar album.
  32. DaniH
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    I have been a Mariah fan for a very long time and I am just ecstatic over this album. My favorite song on the album is "For The Record" although I have and will continue to listen to the album from start to finish without skipping one track. def a 10/10.
  33. MikeC.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    I love the album so much. I wasn't expecting really high with this album since TEOM was hard to top off but boy was I surprised. The album is really, really good esp I Stay In Love and Cruise Control. Congrats, Mimi!
  34. JarrellC.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    I was very skeptical if Mariah could deliver an album as good as The Emancipation of Mimi. In fact, I doubted it. But I must say, this album is as good as, if not better than TEOM. "Migrate" contains classic productions that even plays in Mariah's beautiful whistle register. "I'm That Chick" and "I'll Be Loving You Long Time" offers some fun to the album. My favorite song I was very skeptical if Mariah could deliver an album as good as The Emancipation of Mimi. In fact, I doubted it. But I must say, this album is as good as, if not better than TEOM. "Migrate" contains classic productions that even plays in Mariah's beautiful whistle register. "I'm That Chick" and "I'll Be Loving You Long Time" offers some fun to the album. My favorite song on the album is "For The Record." The vocals on the track are the best on the album. The ballads on the album are good, but they are nowhere near as amazing as the ballads on TEOM. However, the uptempo tracks are lightyears better than TEOM. Definitely check out this album. Expand
  35. JayC
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    I love it!
  36. LeeS
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    I'm not a fan of la Mariah....But, man you gotta admit that THIS IS the pop album of 2008!!! HUGE!!!Even the ballads (except for Bye Bye", the low point of this accomplished project)!
  37. RicardoC.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    Fantastic album! A very "cohesive" record with tons of potential singles.
  38. AlexF
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    Her best album!!!
  39. NM
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    This is an amazing album from start to finish. She uses her deep voice quite a bit, which sounds amazing. And finally, we get some real bass! My favorite tracks are I'll Be Lovin You Long Time, For The Record, Migrate, Cruise Control, Side Effects, I'm That chick and I Wish You Well... all the tracks are really great. It has something for almost everyone! Yet, it's cohesive!
  40. JackS.
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing
  41. JamieI.
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    I was never a Mariah fan but I am feeling this CD and enjoying her song writing skills. This is much like the Justin Timberlake CD in that the majority of songs can be hit singles. This CD will be HUGE for her, HUGE. The lyrics on several songs, Side Effects, Bye Bye, Love Story will connect with people deeply. Buy it and enjoy!
  42. DanS.
    Apr 15, 2008
    9
    This album is HOT. If you like beautiful melodies and heart felt lyrics, BUY THIS ALBUM. I had to wash my balls after listening to this!!!
  43. SidS.
    Apr 15, 2008
    9
    It may not be "Mimi," but it's still a terrific album -- I'm That Chick, For The Record and Migrate are stellar.
  44. SeanW.
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    WOW! This is a fun record full with hits and some emotional inspiritual songs! LOVE IT!
  45. VinceKD
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    Mariah is back to top her own 2005 release. It's R&B/Pop at state-of-the-art.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. The result is a largely enjoyable mix of flirtatious club jams, midtempo love songs, and emotional ballads anchored by hip hop beats that hansomely showcase the singer's powerful vocal range. [18 Apr 2008, p.63]
  2. The production is glossed to within an inch of its life, the mood is cheerfully upbeat--or 'festive' as Carey might put it herself--and the entire confection rings out with bold, sassy, brutally executed intent.
  3. Nearly every song confines Carey to four-note verses, offering little room for her glorious range, and the six ballads are drenched in yearbook-quote lyrics that never quite work themselves into the froth of "The Emancipation of Mimi."