E=MC2

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
E=MC2 Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 185 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The follow-up to 2005's "The Emancipation of Mimi" features T-Pain, Damian Marley, and Young Jeezy as guests.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. The result is a largely enjoyable mix of flirtatious club jams, midtempo love songs, and emotional ballads anchored by hip hop beats that hansomely showcase the singer's powerful vocal range. [18 Apr 2008, p.63]
  2. 80
    E=MC2 is Carey's most-fun album, and her best.
  3. She is on fine vocal form throughout E=MC2, whether belting out massive ballads ('Thanx 4 Nothin') or layering her voice into a swooning bank of a hundred Mariahs ('I'll Be Lovin' U Long Time').
  4. That leaves the expected collection of highly buffed beats, a dozen producers deep, which occasionally generates material that ranks with Mariah's best.
  5. Nearly every song confines Carey to four-note verses, offering little room for her glorious range, and the six ballads are drenched in yearbook-quote lyrics that never quite work themselves into the froth of "The Emancipation of Mimi."
  6. E=MC2 is a little better--the songwriting is more consistent, the feel a bit more natural--but it too lacks a ruling temperament or artistic vision.
  7. Even the fun disco of 'I’m That Chick' is too little, too late for E=MC²--an album that proves just how easy it is for a well-funded virtuoso and the world’s best hitmakers to create a steaming pile of shit.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 82
  2. Negative: 16 out of 82
  1. AdamW.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    I really feel she is at her best can't wait to see her in another 20yrs.
  2. [Anonymous]
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Best Album Ever... May Better Than Madonna's New CD Trust Me I Know I Heard It.... So Ahead Get The Mariah Carey Album Now.
  3. Nov 10, 2015
    10
    album with great commercial potential as well as mixtures one Mariá more fri and classy, dipping into R & B and hip hop if not for thealbum with great commercial potential as well as mixtures one Mariá more fri and classy, dipping into R & B and hip hop if not for the mismanagement of his label would have been higher than the last. Expand
  4. JesusP.
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    despite she does not use her full voice talent it's a superb album from the commercial point of view. there are quite a few potential despite she does not use her full voice talent it's a superb album from the commercial point of view. there are quite a few potential hit singles included. i would say it's definitely one of her best albums ever even if she could have delighted us a bit more with her full vocal skills. Expand
  5. ClifC.
    May 30, 2008
    8
    A 8 only because of the overproduction and one or two songs ("O.O.C." & "Thanx 4 Nothin'") that I can hardly listen. Since the Butterfly A 8 only because of the overproduction and one or two songs ("O.O.C." & "Thanx 4 Nothin'") that I can hardly listen. Since the Butterfly album, she has released with E=MC2 her best album. Expand
  6. jack1222e
    Jun 3, 2008
    5
    TRUST ME ON THIS! I am a Mariah fan like u fools, but there is nothing new here. Everything is average at best, in fact its inferior to her TRUST ME ON THIS! I am a Mariah fan like u fools, but there is nothing new here. Everything is average at best, in fact its inferior to her last hit album. There are about 4-5 quality tracks. Touch my body was basically the best she had to offer and it was the only worthy song to sell her CD. Expand
  7. JohnnyR.
    Apr 14, 2008
    0
    I could not be any more disappointed!!! I was so bored by the whole thing. Migrate gave me a migraine! It's trying hard to be I could not be any more disappointed!!! I was so bored by the whole thing. Migrate gave me a migraine! It's trying hard to be "Emancipation" but it's really mediocre-annoying-diva at best. Expand

See all 82 User Reviews