E=MC2 - Mariah Carey
E=MC2 Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 158 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The follow-up to 2005's "The Emancipation of Mimi" features T-Pain, Damian Marley, and Young Jeezy as guests.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. The result is a largely enjoyable mix of flirtatious club jams, midtempo love songs, and emotional ballads anchored by hip hop beats that hansomely showcase the singer's powerful vocal range. [18 Apr 2008, p.63]
  2. Carey's made a pop album with equal parts levity and gravity.
  3. She is on fine vocal form throughout E=MC2, whether belting out massive ballads ('Thanx 4 Nothin') or layering her voice into a swooning bank of a hundred Mariahs ('I'll Be Lovin' U Long Time').
  4. There is some insubstantial filler here, but more often than not, E = MC2 hits the mark.
  5. Like so much of "Emancipation" and E=MC2, which is a virtual replica of its predecessor in almost every way, 'Touch My Body' is all about sound, rhythm, and texture and not so much about song, something that helps sustain Mariah Carey's run at the top the charts, but something that also pushes melodic hooks, and in the process singing, into the background.
  6. E=MC2 is a little better--the songwriting is more consistent, the feel a bit more natural--but it too lacks a ruling temperament or artistic vision.
  7. Even the fun disco of 'I’m That Chick' is too little, too late for E=MC²--an album that proves just how easy it is for a well-funded virtuoso and the world’s best hitmakers to create a steaming pile of shit.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 80
  2. Negative: 16 out of 80
  1. GabrielL.
    Apr 17, 2008
    This is a more "concentrated" album than the Emancipation of Mimi.. with more potential hits and 0 side tracks.
  2. ShannaP
    Apr 28, 2008
    Another great great great album! Every song is enjoyable! She never ceases to amaze me!
  3. LeandroT
    Aug 3, 2009
    This album is the best. All the tracks are enjoiable. It's hard those the favorites. Touch my body is the best. I like so much Migrate, I'm that Chick, Last Kiss, I'll be lovin u a long time. It's sad the album didn't sold as well as TEOM. I think she made some mistakes choosing the singles. Bye bye shouldn't be the second single. It's a beautiful but sad music, a little bit depressed. Expand
  4. JesusP.
    Apr 18, 2008
    despite she does not use her full voice talent it's a superb album from the commercial point of view. there are quite a few potential hit singles included. i would say it's definitely one of her best albums ever even if she could have delighted us a bit more with her full vocal skills. Expand
  5. CarolynA.
    Apr 18, 2008
    At first listen I have to admit I was a bit disappointed, however the more I am hearing the songs the more I am enjoying and appreciating them. I find myself skipping over some though, to re-listen to the 4 or 5 that I really like. I am definitely enjoying the new album, but I honestly have to say it's not as good as "Mimi". Expand
  6. NickL.
    Apr 16, 2008
    Where's Slant's review?
  7. JohnnyR.
    Apr 14, 2008
    I could not be any more disappointed!!! I was so bored by the whole thing. Migrate gave me a migraine! It's trying hard to be "Emancipation" but it's really mediocre-annoying-diva at best. Expand

See all 80 User Reviews