• Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Nov 2, 2004
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 87
  2. Negative: 18 out of 87

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Chromosomeman2004
    Jan 20, 2005
    10
    I believe that by producing this album APC did stick to their roots. I envision APC as a group of guys who have already faced their shadow and are now writing more about how to heal and transcend. For those who find this album to be less than desireable because it is so called different than the Mer De Noms or Thirteenth Step well you should realize that they are a progressive band. Of I believe that by producing this album APC did stick to their roots. I envision APC as a group of guys who have already faced their shadow and are now writing more about how to heal and transcend. For those who find this album to be less than desireable because it is so called different than the Mer De Noms or Thirteenth Step well you should realize that they are a progressive band. Of course it is going to be different in some respects. Yet, what lies behind the music; the comprehensive is still the same. It hasn't changed. Let go. Jason Expand
  2. DanC
    Mar 27, 2005
    9
    Not a perfect album, but I personally am very grateful this was done, bringing the old back to todays youth, a youth so damn beat down by pop culture that we really needed a breathe of activisim. Thank God for this album. Personally I loved the Imagine cover although I though Gimme Gimme Gimme was poorly done. Passive is a great Rock tune and for those who don't know, original. loved Not a perfect album, but I personally am very grateful this was done, bringing the old back to todays youth, a youth so damn beat down by pop culture that we really needed a breathe of activisim. Thank God for this album. Personally I loved the Imagine cover although I though Gimme Gimme Gimme was poorly done. Passive is a great Rock tune and for those who don't know, original. loved it! Overall, I believe this is APC's most consistant album covers or no covers. I found their other albums to be good but inconsistant. My review is above and I can tell you this one is in the good pile of my collection Expand
  3. JordanF
    Feb 9, 2006
    10
    I cant get enough of this album and dont understand what all the negative fuss is about. This album actualy got me to get their older albums, which I actualy dont like as much.
  4. V.Z.
    Dec 7, 2004
    5
    It doesn't compare to each of the APC albums (13th step is my favorite). The songs they chose don't seem to fit to them properly, the band tried to do them their style, but style isn't enough. In the process, many songs have lost some of their essence. Still, there are some good tracks on it. It's still a pleasant listen. And the new version of their own song "Counting It doesn't compare to each of the APC albums (13th step is my favorite). The songs they chose don't seem to fit to them properly, the band tried to do them their style, but style isn't enough. In the process, many songs have lost some of their essence. Still, there are some good tracks on it. It's still a pleasant listen. And the new version of their own song "Counting Bodies Like Sheep In The Rhythm Of The War Drums" is amazing. Expand
  5. darkangel
    Jan 9, 2005
    10
    This was one of the best Albums of all time
  6. tanw
    Jan 8, 2007
    10
    wicked album show you wat the world has come to loving the voice and super guitar riftes !!!!!!!!
  7. JonathanH
    Apr 26, 2007
    9
    I must say, I enjoy this way more than 10,000 days by Tool, so since I overlooked this album kind of delibratley, I've gone back to it and definitley appreciate it - which is a good thing because i hate 10,000 days. I would of given it 10, but I'm not sure if some of the tracks work as well as they should, and I think should of sung in a quieter voice at times over the louder I must say, I enjoy this way more than 10,000 days by Tool, so since I overlooked this album kind of delibratley, I've gone back to it and definitley appreciate it - which is a good thing because i hate 10,000 days. I would of given it 10, but I'm not sure if some of the tracks work as well as they should, and I think should of sung in a quieter voice at times over the louder guitar and drum rythums, but thats all I have to complain about. As a TOOL and PERFECT CIRCLE fan - very pleased I rediscovered this. Expand
  8. BrettC
    Nov 1, 2004
    3
    Awful cd. They really turn some classic songs into boring, uninspiration sludge. This is one project that should have been canned.
  9. RichardH
    Nov 5, 2004
    4
    A little boring...
  10. [Anonymous]
    Nov 6, 2004
    3
    I am a huge APC fan but this has to be the worst album of the year. Covers range from the decent to the truly appalling. Passive, a reworked yet stale leftover from the illfated Tapeworm Project, is the only decent track on the disc. It is well known that this was issued so that APC's contract with Virgin would be over...they could have at least put some work into the songs and not I am a huge APC fan but this has to be the worst album of the year. Covers range from the decent to the truly appalling. Passive, a reworked yet stale leftover from the illfated Tapeworm Project, is the only decent track on the disc. It is well known that this was issued so that APC's contract with Virgin would be over...they could have at least put some work into the songs and not insulting their listening audience. Expand
  11. CRootplayer5000
    Dec 9, 2004
    8
    Just because the pace isn't quick enough for your taste is a shti reason to give an album a bad score. This album is useful in certain situations, such as driving in snow covered hills after a long day of boarding, or just before going to bed, etc..open your minds to various styles & interpretive music, losers.
  12. SteveF
    Jan 10, 2005
    2
    What the hell ? APC used to be one of my favorite bands. I loved Mer de noms and couldnt wait til thier next album dropped. It did and boy did thirteenth step suck. Then they released this crap. I'm losing respect for a band that could be great.
  13. torir
    Jan 18, 2005
    10
    I really don't understand all those supposed APC fans that hate this. I am thinking you either need to broaden your musical horizons, or stop pretending to have taste- AND stop reading Rolling Stone, whose reviews stopped having any credibility the moment they put the Olsen twins on the cover. This album is f'ing brilliant. I haven't stopped playing it since its first spin. I really don't understand all those supposed APC fans that hate this. I am thinking you either need to broaden your musical horizons, or stop pretending to have taste- AND stop reading Rolling Stone, whose reviews stopped having any credibility the moment they put the Olsen twins on the cover. This album is f'ing brilliant. I haven't stopped playing it since its first spin. OK, there is one or two tracks I don't care for. That's 2 out of 12!! The other ten are so incredible they simultaneously make me weep/wet. My favorites are tracks 2,3,4,5,7,10. The standout favorite is by far "Passive", but I also really respect their interpretations of John Lennon's Imagine, Elvis Costello's Peace, Love and Understanding, and even their Marvin Gaye and Devo covers. Lighten up people, or Go Back To Sleep. Expand
  14. CecilP
    Jan 27, 2005
    3
    Lots of ideas on this cover album. Most of them should have never left the rehearsal studio. I'm sure the band's intentions were good, but this is barely listenable.
  15. AlB
    Jan 30, 2005
    0
    i love perfect circle, but this is a real rushed, album, Has no originality, no spak. lacking great guitar and vocal riffs which generally make them so good
  16. DameY
    Feb 1, 2005
    0
    REALLY generic and bland
  17. AlanR
    Jul 28, 2005
    9
    This album was released at a time when the world needed to hear what this album is saying and to get Bush out of office, although it is mainly all old material covered, they ingenuity of their covers make this album a good effort on APC's part, as most musicians know to sucessfully cover 1 song can be difficult, but an album full...? many wouldnt even think of it! I felt the lack of This album was released at a time when the world needed to hear what this album is saying and to get Bush out of office, although it is mainly all old material covered, they ingenuity of their covers make this album a good effort on APC's part, as most musicians know to sucessfully cover 1 song can be difficult, but an album full...? many wouldnt even think of it! I felt the lack of "real" instruments over electronic or electronicly manipulated instruments a bit of a dissapointment but the overall effect was good and APC must be congratulated on taking such a huge risk with this album. Hopefully another all original album will appear soon! Expand
  18. AlexS
    Aug 4, 2005
    0
    Totally fails and dissapoints all APC fans, fails to match up to thier previous albums.. absolutely rubbish
  19. DanL
    Nov 11, 2004
    2
    A huge perfect circle and tool fan who is gravely dissappointed by this album. This is Maynard's worst album to date. Maybe other people will find it appealing but it's going to collect dust on my shelves and the next time it gets brought back out may be if I decide to commit suicide.
  20. S.Toncray
    Nov 3, 2004
    8
    Certainly fitting for this era in our history, eMOTIVe strikes a cord now, though its lasting effects are somewhat questionable. For the most part, the album succeeds magnificently in stirring emotions and creating some interestingly innovative covers of a wide variety of older songs. Especially potent is the Lennon cover of Imagine, with its optimistic lyrics seemingly smothered in the Certainly fitting for this era in our history, eMOTIVe strikes a cord now, though its lasting effects are somewhat questionable. For the most part, the album succeeds magnificently in stirring emotions and creating some interestingly innovative covers of a wide variety of older songs. Especially potent is the Lennon cover of Imagine, with its optimistic lyrics seemingly smothered in the dark, bleak realism of practical disillusion. A change in tone made all the difference, and this album hits hard emotionally, especially in these turbulent times. The remix of Pet, Counting Bodies Like Sheep to the Rhythm of the War Drums is not to be missed, while Passive is a nice addition to the mix. Unwelcome, however, is the lackluster Depeche Mode cover, People are People. A minor flaw, but likely APC's weakest track yet. Nonetheless, this is a great album that expands the definition of cover song into eccentric, meticulous new territory. Interesting, if a bit flawed, and worthy of praise for its high ambitions and originality. Collapse
  21. PC
    Nov 5, 2004
    7
    Pretty good, not as good as Mer De Norms or 13th Step.
  22. Andi
    Nov 8, 2004
    9
    maynard is a genius. he truly has an angelic voice. that alone can make any song amazing.
  23. JasonR
    Dec 20, 2004
    10
    This album rocks!!! Anyone who thinks different is sadly mistaken....
  24. JasonS
    Dec 4, 2004
    2
    Love Tool, like APC, but hate this album. Probably a result of high expectations, but after only one listen I felt ripped off. Listened some more, and that feeling didn't change. The whole album is one big long boring drawl. If I listened again, I probably couldn't tell you which song was which.
  25. XavierF
    Jan 10, 2005
    9
    A very different track that this band has gone down and an impressive one. The band takes its responsibility to the world seriously as rolemodels and talks about what matters. Brilliant covers make this a must have for anyone's collection. Don't think of this album as typical Perfect Circle and you won't be disappointed.
  26. PeterB
    Dec 24, 2005
    6
    I wish people would stop referring to Tool when reviewing APC music. They are DIFFERENT bands for crying out loud. Furthermore, if you bought Emotive without realising it's an album of covers, then you are not worthy of being able to vote in this forum!
  27. JakeH
    Feb 14, 2005
    9
    It's time we realized that APC is not Maynard's side project. I love seeing the band moving away from under his wing and starting to emerge on their own, creating their own sound and truly becoming distinctive. Of course, it helps that the songs they are playing are amazing in their own right, but it's great to see a band that can put their own spin on a track instead of It's time we realized that APC is not Maynard's side project. I love seeing the band moving away from under his wing and starting to emerge on their own, creating their own sound and truly becoming distinctive. Of course, it helps that the songs they are playing are amazing in their own right, but it's great to see a band that can put their own spin on a track instead of mimicing. I hope that this can be a good stepping stone for the other, greatly talented members of APC to strike out on their own upon Maynard's return to Tool. Bravo, guys! Even if it was a contract breaker it's a darn good one. Expand
  28. Patrick
    Mar 13, 2005
    8
    Paz is back which saved everything. It is great
  29. HollyS
    Mar 26, 2005
    3
    Ummm....yeah I can't say I was a big fan of Perfect Circle until I finally gave in and bought their first album, which I love and think is a great album...then due to friends advice i bought emotiv.....i think its boring personally, but she loves it....I can't stand the cover of Depches Modes, People are People....I do them credit with coming up with a politically motivated Ummm....yeah I can't say I was a big fan of Perfect Circle until I finally gave in and bought their first album, which I love and think is a great album...then due to friends advice i bought emotiv.....i think its boring personally, but she loves it....I can't stand the cover of Depches Modes, People are People....I do them credit with coming up with a politically motivated compilation and the timing of its release....there needs to be more projects like this, but with a bit more fire. Expand
  30. Shays
    Aug 20, 2005
    6
    This album is a tad dissapointing to APC and tool fans. Although Passive and Imagine are two of the most moving songs done by this and other artists, the rest turns out to be sluggish remakes of old overdone anti-war songs. Nothing against the original writers, but I stopped listening to this album when i heard how they butchered the great "When the Levee Breaks".
  31. MattJ
    Jun 30, 2007
    3
    You know, one of the very reasons A Perfect Circle has been so high on my list of great music is it's bizzare, athiestic focus which works to separate me from everyday reality. The last thing I would have expected out of Keaton was a covers album with an anti-war theme! His re-works of several of the songs are interesting, but there's nothing new, alternative or creative about You know, one of the very reasons A Perfect Circle has been so high on my list of great music is it's bizzare, athiestic focus which works to separate me from everyday reality. The last thing I would have expected out of Keaton was a covers album with an anti-war theme! His re-works of several of the songs are interesting, but there's nothing new, alternative or creative about an anti-war political bent. At least Trent Reznor projects the "beginning of the end" with NIN's anti-war theme in Year Zero. I'll start listening to the Dixie chicks for that same old tired "peace and love" line, thank you. I'm very dissappointed. Expand
  32. NickR
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    It's a classic cover album masterpiece put together by this amazing group.
  33. ellisb
    Nov 16, 2004
    9
    Interesting...
  34. Bort
    Nov 18, 2004
    5
    Being a huge APC fan, and seeing Maynard first transition his ideas and innovation from Tool to APC with Mer de Noms and then see APC truly mature through 13th step, Emotive was a real letdown. It lacks originality .. come on, it was put out within 1 year of 13th step and is almost totally covers. The only non-cover, Passive, is the only song I think deserves much credit on the album, and Being a huge APC fan, and seeing Maynard first transition his ideas and innovation from Tool to APC with Mer de Noms and then see APC truly mature through 13th step, Emotive was a real letdown. It lacks originality .. come on, it was put out within 1 year of 13th step and is almost totally covers. The only non-cover, Passive, is the only song I think deserves much credit on the album, and is the only song I immediately picked out as deserving some credit. Yeah, yeah, the message and overall tone of the album are deep and full of emotion, but bottom line is that Maynard is one of the most innovative artists of modern music and should not have to rely on remaking already "infamous" songs, like Imagine, into boring remixes. I mean, look what happened in "Counting bodies...", he took a really original powerful song that he made in 13th step and made it complete crap. I've listened to this album over and over again, and I just can't appreciate its lack of originality. Save the $15, and Maynard .. please do what you do best and put out something original. Expand
  35. kirilm
    Nov 23, 2004
    5
    maynard please tell us, what in the tool's name have happened to you, man...
  36. NathanD
    Nov 24, 2004
    4
    i like many other people who rated this album am a huge A.P.C. and Tool fan. But I also like many of you was extremely dissapointed. this is by far maynards weakest release ever. i love maynard for his unique genius, and i buy tool/apc albums because of his lyrical and musical insight, not for that of other artists. yes the reworking of the tracks was well done...so what. any other artist i like many other people who rated this album am a huge A.P.C. and Tool fan. But I also like many of you was extremely dissapointed. this is by far maynards weakest release ever. i love maynard for his unique genius, and i buy tool/apc albums because of his lyrical and musical insight, not for that of other artists. yes the reworking of the tracks was well done...so what. any other artist could have done that. maynard has set the bar so high for himself with all his previous work that anything that is short of extraordinary is a let down only because you know what he is capable of. he would have been much better off if he would have sat down and crafted his own origional songs about peace, war, greed and love, im positive it would have been more successful than this album. i only pray he finds HIMSELF again in Tool's upcoming album. Expand
  37. tsub
    Nov 27, 2004
    0
    gosh this cd is horrible
  38. Kajman
    Nov 3, 2004
    7
    Atmospheric, deep songs.
  39. CJ
    Nov 3, 2004
    8
    Awesome!
  40. DanS
    Nov 4, 2004
    8
    At first I was kind of, meh..., after the first listen. Now with another four years of hell on the way, (not to mention the supremes for a generation,) the tone seemed to dig in deeper than it did at first. I can smell and feel the doom that they seemed to predict so acutely. The whole album is generally hit and a few misses, but it is obvious this is a "venting" album and not to be seen At first I was kind of, meh..., after the first listen. Now with another four years of hell on the way, (not to mention the supremes for a generation,) the tone seemed to dig in deeper than it did at first. I can smell and feel the doom that they seemed to predict so acutely. The whole album is generally hit and a few misses, but it is obvious this is a "venting" album and not to be seen as a direction for their future releases. Man, did they get the "coming darkness surrounding the core of hope" feel right though. World, please forgive us our trespasses and blindness in our hour of sharp division. Expand
  41. sanfordb
    Nov 6, 2004
    10
    this is the best album of the year. not surprisingly, a perfect circle have delivered another perfect album. some of the covers are a bit jarring at first (especially the ones which feature billy howerdel on lead vocals instead of maynard), but by the third or fourth listen, they seem like essential parts of the album. the best song on the album is passive which makes the loss of tapeworm this is the best album of the year. not surprisingly, a perfect circle have delivered another perfect album. some of the covers are a bit jarring at first (especially the ones which feature billy howerdel on lead vocals instead of maynard), but by the third or fourth listen, they seem like essential parts of the album. the best song on the album is passive which makes the loss of tapeworm that much more tragic. i highly recommend this album. Expand
  42. MelissaW
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    This album is beautiful, symbolic, innovative, striking, imaginative, ingenious, original, artistic, exquisite, and inspired!
  43. Robby"exit"
    Nov 9, 2004
    9
    Thoughtfully constructed, and with cover songs respectfully reconstructed, in a time where America apparently needs to be reconstructed. "Annilhation" sets a "behind our backs" tone to alienate the listener on purpose. "Imagine" brings you back to your own memory, the familiar, the opposite of alien. This new perception is red, angry, terrorized, hurt, and wounded - it is possible that it Thoughtfully constructed, and with cover songs respectfully reconstructed, in a time where America apparently needs to be reconstructed. "Annilhation" sets a "behind our backs" tone to alienate the listener on purpose. "Imagine" brings you back to your own memory, the familiar, the opposite of alien. This new perception is red, angry, terrorized, hurt, and wounded - it is possible that it is fatal. With George Bush being reelected, this is the state of the nation. A Perfect Circle is not telling us what we already know, they are sending us far from the familiar to prepare us for the obvious impending reconstruction of America. Not to mention that George W. Bush, Maynard, and America are all born under the solar influence of CANCER: the moody, alienating, protective, motherly, sensitive, deep, expressive sign. Expand
  44. Brandon
    Dec 16, 2004
    1
    I am probably one of the biggest fans of APC... this album was so disgustingly upsetting. It brutally sucked. I lost a big of respect for Maynard, just hope he gets in together for a new TOOL album.
  45. VA
    Dec 27, 2004
    9
    I know that some of the songs don't sound like the originals (well, fine, none of 'em do), but think about it people, that's the point. When one covers some of the most respected (and controversial) songs, it would be sacriligious to remake them exactly the same. I disagree about APC straying from its roots. In essence, they're good because of Keenan's underlying I know that some of the songs don't sound like the originals (well, fine, none of 'em do), but think about it people, that's the point. When one covers some of the most respected (and controversial) songs, it would be sacriligious to remake them exactly the same. I disagree about APC straying from its roots. In essence, they're good because of Keenan's underlying messages. The music behind his words tell the rest. Expand
  46. aaronw
    Jan 17, 2005
    0
    APC is selling out!!!! They are getting worse and worse
  47. johnqp
    Jan 17, 2005
    8
    In the past, musicians have often mimiced the original. Attempted in some way to emulate the original. A.P.C. on the other hand has focused on the message and the poignancy of the song, embedded in a sea of dynamics akin to the concept albums of yesteryear. Bands these days throw 11 songs on a disc and call it and album. Meanwhile leaving the listener feeling as though they had just watch In the past, musicians have often mimiced the original. Attempted in some way to emulate the original. A.P.C. on the other hand has focused on the message and the poignancy of the song, embedded in a sea of dynamics akin to the concept albums of yesteryear. Bands these days throw 11 songs on a disc and call it and album. Meanwhile leaving the listener feeling as though they had just watch 60 minutes of commercials and still not willing to buy the product. (sunday morning tv with a hangover) No, I have to give props to A.P.C. for delivering a magnetic and fully enjoyable disc. Expand
  48. Kevin
    Feb 24, 2005
    10
    Very good album. Lot's of cool sounds and a nice take on the old tracks. Definetly worth getting if you are an APC fan.
  49. NetoG
    May 29, 2006
    9
    Great sounding and politicized songs.
  50. BrendonN.
    Nov 11, 2004
    8
    APC is my favorite band of all time, with Tool standing right behind. eMOTIVE to me is a powerful piece of work, while it is simply a collection of remakes, it is done in such a way that it not only hard to recongize the classic songs without paying attention, but it also manages to change the mood on many of them. Turning the optimistic 'Imagine' into a dark somber song that APC is my favorite band of all time, with Tool standing right behind. eMOTIVE to me is a powerful piece of work, while it is simply a collection of remakes, it is done in such a way that it not only hard to recongize the classic songs without paying attention, but it also manages to change the mood on many of them. Turning the optimistic 'Imagine' into a dark somber song that makes you fell the storm coming over the next four years is amazing. I actually respect all the songs on this album for what they are, a political statement by one of my favorite group of artists. It's not as good as Mer De Noms or 13th Step as a whole, but it is still very good. Expand
  51. AaronM
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    I listened to this cd twice through before making my judgement on it, the first time i only liked the lennon cover the second time, i loved the cd, and is the only disc i have been listening to for the past 3 days
  52. HamudZ
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    This is simply a GREAT recording. Even if you aren't a fan of APC, you'll have to give the band big credit for having the BALLS to create covers of classic tunes like "What's Going On" and "Imagine"...but making these tunes truly different from the originals. Kudus to APC for this effort!
  53. TonyB
    Nov 14, 2004
    3
    This cd is just flat out crap. Ive been a huge APC fan for a while now but they have been going downhill since the start. mer de noms was, all in all, nearly perfect. Every song was amazing and i could listen to it over and over. Thirteenth step had about half the songs that were good but the others i could stand. Emotive just SUCKS. Horrible covers of otherwise decent songs. I say head This cd is just flat out crap. Ive been a huge APC fan for a while now but they have been going downhill since the start. mer de noms was, all in all, nearly perfect. Every song was amazing and i could listen to it over and over. Thirteenth step had about half the songs that were good but the others i could stand. Emotive just SUCKS. Horrible covers of otherwise decent songs. I say head back to Tool Maynard. And don't put out crap. Expand
  54. BrandonR
    Nov 14, 2004
    10
    eMOTIVe is an album of a dynamic translation from a previous generation to a modern date; led by the minds of Billy Howerdel and Maynard James Keenan. The album was choreographed in a manner of building the listener up to a high and then to a low in order to evoke an emotion. All but two songs on eMOTIVe were re-engineered (a.k.a.: a cover). Each cover on the album seemed to have the eMOTIVe is an album of a dynamic translation from a previous generation to a modern date; led by the minds of Billy Howerdel and Maynard James Keenan. The album was choreographed in a manner of building the listener up to a high and then to a low in order to evoke an emotion. All but two songs on eMOTIVe were re-engineered (a.k.a.: a cover). Each cover on the album seemed to have the feeling of been broken down to its core components, re-fabricated then fine tuned into a product of self-subjective vulnerability perusable to an image that only A Perfect Circle could have produced. All said eMOTIVe struck me to be controversial ONLY due to the times we live in today. This album is vary positive in nature but only to address issues such as war, greed, ignorance, peace, and love. I personally felt this album to be a wise choice and a wise selection by A.P.C. to venture into past relevant emotions and revamp them to todays troubling times. (ex: the drum line dubbed almost symbolize the division and confusion in the nation today on the song ?Let?s Have a War?) I believe that A Perfect Circle achieved in making a masterpiece that the listener will walk away with some kind of emotion and opinion. I give eMOTIVe a 5 out of 5. ? what?s so funny about peace love and understanding? -- Expand
  55. Jeff
    Nov 23, 2004
    1
    Great leaping Jesus this is awful! Take a bunch of great songs and "cover" them by speaking or singing the words over music that sounds like outtakes from some King Crimson side project. If this album really was a contract breaker, maybe it can be forgiven; otherwise, what's the point?
  56. lennybruce
    Nov 24, 2004
    0
    I would rate this cd, but i can't stop laughing long enough to do so. Anyone buying into this junk proves Barnum is right once again, a sucker is born every minute.
  57. AnthonyA
    Nov 25, 2004
    7
    I didn't like it as much as the previous releases, however, it's still a listenable album. Passive is a great song, showing that the group has the potential of still making kickass songs on their own. I understand the reasoning for the cd and a few of the remakes are done well. APC, I get the message... a good one at a time we need it. However, I don't get the low rating I didn't like it as much as the previous releases, however, it's still a listenable album. Passive is a great song, showing that the group has the potential of still making kickass songs on their own. I understand the reasoning for the cd and a few of the remakes are done well. APC, I get the message... a good one at a time we need it. However, I don't get the low rating from the major magazine and music reviews. The user rating is much more realistic. It's us the fans that should determine a records review. Expand
  58. AdrianM
    Dec 11, 2004
    8
    I was alarmed to see APC making a political album. Especially one with 'Imagine' on it. I was pretty cynical, until the reviews came in. This CD gets labeled either pretentious or 'not original'. That's the whole idea. The album is actually several statements as a whole more than a few OK cover songs. Obviously, one statement is, 'We're fucked because I was alarmed to see APC making a political album. Especially one with 'Imagine' on it. I was pretty cynical, until the reviews came in. This CD gets labeled either pretentious or 'not original'. That's the whole idea. The album is actually several statements as a whole more than a few OK cover songs. Obviously, one statement is, 'We're fucked because bad people are in power'. Everyone expected that one from the cover, after all. The most important statement is, 'Look, nothing's changed since these songs were written, and that's plain old wrong.' To counter this, APC have completely, completely redone these songs. Don't expect to recognize ONE of them, besides 'Imagine', and even that's a far shot. YOU WANT TO BUY THIS CD IF: a) you are a patient listener b) you are either apolitical or liberally inclined c) you enjoy APC but are not hyper-concerned about the band staying 'TRUE TO ITS ROOTS'. You DO NOT WANT TO BUY THIS CD IF: a) you did not enjoy Nine Inch Nails' THE FAGILE, which people have similary griped about for being too 'out there' b) you are touchy about the songs covered 'living up to the original' c) you like Good Charlotte and such (this is some VERY alternative rock, not Hoobastank) d) you are of a maturity level of 12 or under I recommend it, yeah. Not as good as Thirteenth Step, better than the obnoxiously thin-sounding Mer Des Noms, and less gothy than both. Worth a buy until Queens Of The Stone Age, Radiohead, and NIN release upcoming albums. Expand
  59. Sep 23, 2010
    8
    The grim darkness of Tool meets the melodic direction of more mainstream rock, and the result is some of the most dramatic and chilling music you will ever hear. Special mention goes to "Imagine", the band's re-imagining of John Lennon's magnum opus. Odds are that you will never listen to the song the same way again.
  60. Sep 25, 2010
    7
    found myself listening to passive, counting bodies, imagine, and annihilation was a badass intro. people are people was alright, lets have a war sounds like something from puscifer. and the rest were kinda just whatever to me. i have alot of understanding, and respect what these guys do, and it was a good album for the times. i would have to say though that it was the worst of the 3found myself listening to passive, counting bodies, imagine, and annihilation was a badass intro. people are people was alright, lets have a war sounds like something from puscifer. and the rest were kinda just whatever to me. i have alot of understanding, and respect what these guys do, and it was a good album for the times. i would have to say though that it was the worst of the 3 albums. i would highly recommend mer de noms, and thirteenth step though as mind blowers! Expand
  61. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    6
    APC have taken a few steps back with releasing this (mainly covers) record. It has some good covers, but I'd much rather listen to the originals over most of this cover stuff. The best songs on the record comes from their originals 'Passive' and 'Counting Bodies Like Sheep to the Rhythm of the War Drums'. But surprisingly, 'Imagine' (John Lennon cover), is a haunting take on Lennon's classic tune.
  62. Jan 4, 2013
    6
    this album isn't for everybody; but if your open minded there's some enjoyable tracks. passive, imagine, lets have a war, and on a good day, counting bodies.
  63. Oct 5, 2014
    10
    A Perfect Circle has 2 original songs on this album and the others are covers. The originals are amazing and the covers are perfect. A Perfect Circle made all of the covers their own and they succeeded.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. 80
    Unexpectedly impressive. [Dec 2004, p.138]
  2. Emotive falls flat and fails to raise the bar set so high by the quality of their previous two releases.
  3. 60
    One of the most bizarre covers albums ever. [Dec 2004, p.102]