• Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Nov 2, 2004
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 93
  2. Negative: 18 out of 93

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Chromosomeman2004
    Jan 20, 2005
    10
    I believe that by producing this album APC did stick to their roots. I envision APC as a group of guys who have already faced their shadow and are now writing more about how to heal and transcend. For those who find this album to be less than desireable because it is so called different than the Mer De Noms or Thirteenth Step well you should realize that they are a progressive band. Of I believe that by producing this album APC did stick to their roots. I envision APC as a group of guys who have already faced their shadow and are now writing more about how to heal and transcend. For those who find this album to be less than desireable because it is so called different than the Mer De Noms or Thirteenth Step well you should realize that they are a progressive band. Of course it is going to be different in some respects. Yet, what lies behind the music; the comprehensive is still the same. It hasn't changed. Let go. Jason Expand
  2. DanC
    Mar 27, 2005
    9
    Not a perfect album, but I personally am very grateful this was done, bringing the old back to todays youth, a youth so damn beat down by pop culture that we really needed a breathe of activisim. Thank God for this album. Personally I loved the Imagine cover although I though Gimme Gimme Gimme was poorly done. Passive is a great Rock tune and for those who don't know, original. loved Not a perfect album, but I personally am very grateful this was done, bringing the old back to todays youth, a youth so damn beat down by pop culture that we really needed a breathe of activisim. Thank God for this album. Personally I loved the Imagine cover although I though Gimme Gimme Gimme was poorly done. Passive is a great Rock tune and for those who don't know, original. loved it! Overall, I believe this is APC's most consistant album covers or no covers. I found their other albums to be good but inconsistant. My review is above and I can tell you this one is in the good pile of my collection Expand
  3. JordanF
    Feb 9, 2006
    10
    I cant get enough of this album and dont understand what all the negative fuss is about. This album actualy got me to get their older albums, which I actualy dont like as much.
  4. V.Z.
    Dec 7, 2004
    5
    It doesn't compare to each of the APC albums (13th step is my favorite). The songs they chose don't seem to fit to them properly, the band tried to do them their style, but style isn't enough. In the process, many songs have lost some of their essence. Still, there are some good tracks on it. It's still a pleasant listen. And the new version of their own song "Counting It doesn't compare to each of the APC albums (13th step is my favorite). The songs they chose don't seem to fit to them properly, the band tried to do them their style, but style isn't enough. In the process, many songs have lost some of their essence. Still, there are some good tracks on it. It's still a pleasant listen. And the new version of their own song "Counting Bodies Like Sheep In The Rhythm Of The War Drums" is amazing. Expand
  5. darkangel
    Jan 9, 2005
    10
    This was one of the best Albums of all time
  6. tanw
    Jan 8, 2007
    10
    wicked album show you wat the world has come to loving the voice and super guitar riftes !!!!!!!!
  7. JonathanH
    Apr 26, 2007
    9
    I must say, I enjoy this way more than 10,000 days by Tool, so since I overlooked this album kind of delibratley, I've gone back to it and definitley appreciate it - which is a good thing because i hate 10,000 days. I would of given it 10, but I'm not sure if some of the tracks work as well as they should, and I think should of sung in a quieter voice at times over the louder I must say, I enjoy this way more than 10,000 days by Tool, so since I overlooked this album kind of delibratley, I've gone back to it and definitley appreciate it - which is a good thing because i hate 10,000 days. I would of given it 10, but I'm not sure if some of the tracks work as well as they should, and I think should of sung in a quieter voice at times over the louder guitar and drum rythums, but thats all I have to complain about. As a TOOL and PERFECT CIRCLE fan - very pleased I rediscovered this. Expand
  8. BrettC
    Nov 1, 2004
    3
    Awful cd. They really turn some classic songs into boring, uninspiration sludge. This is one project that should have been canned.
  9. RichardH
    Nov 5, 2004
    4
    A little boring...
  10. [Anonymous]
    Nov 6, 2004
    3
    I am a huge APC fan but this has to be the worst album of the year. Covers range from the decent to the truly appalling. Passive, a reworked yet stale leftover from the illfated Tapeworm Project, is the only decent track on the disc. It is well known that this was issued so that APC's contract with Virgin would be over...they could have at least put some work into the songs and not I am a huge APC fan but this has to be the worst album of the year. Covers range from the decent to the truly appalling. Passive, a reworked yet stale leftover from the illfated Tapeworm Project, is the only decent track on the disc. It is well known that this was issued so that APC's contract with Virgin would be over...they could have at least put some work into the songs and not insulting their listening audience. Expand
  11. CRootplayer5000
    Dec 9, 2004
    8
    Just because the pace isn't quick enough for your taste is a shti reason to give an album a bad score. This album is useful in certain situations, such as driving in snow covered hills after a long day of boarding, or just before going to bed, etc..open your minds to various styles & interpretive music, losers.
  12. SteveF
    Jan 10, 2005
    2
    What the hell ? APC used to be one of my favorite bands. I loved Mer de noms and couldnt wait til thier next album dropped. It did and boy did thirteenth step suck. Then they released this crap. I'm losing respect for a band that could be great.
  13. torir
    Jan 18, 2005
    10
    I really don't understand all those supposed APC fans that hate this. I am thinking you either need to broaden your musical horizons, or stop pretending to have taste- AND stop reading Rolling Stone, whose reviews stopped having any credibility the moment they put the Olsen twins on the cover. This album is f'ing brilliant. I haven't stopped playing it since its first spin. I really don't understand all those supposed APC fans that hate this. I am thinking you either need to broaden your musical horizons, or stop pretending to have taste- AND stop reading Rolling Stone, whose reviews stopped having any credibility the moment they put the Olsen twins on the cover. This album is f'ing brilliant. I haven't stopped playing it since its first spin. OK, there is one or two tracks I don't care for. That's 2 out of 12!! The other ten are so incredible they simultaneously make me weep/wet. My favorites are tracks 2,3,4,5,7,10. The standout favorite is by far "Passive", but I also really respect their interpretations of John Lennon's Imagine, Elvis Costello's Peace, Love and Understanding, and even their Marvin Gaye and Devo covers. Lighten up people, or Go Back To Sleep. Expand
  14. CecilP
    Jan 27, 2005
    3
    Lots of ideas on this cover album. Most of them should have never left the rehearsal studio. I'm sure the band's intentions were good, but this is barely listenable.
  15. AlB
    Jan 30, 2005
    0
    i love perfect circle, but this is a real rushed, album, Has no originality, no spak. lacking great guitar and vocal riffs which generally make them so good
  16. DameY
    Feb 1, 2005
    0
    REALLY generic and bland
  17. AlanR
    Jul 28, 2005
    9
    This album was released at a time when the world needed to hear what this album is saying and to get Bush out of office, although it is mainly all old material covered, they ingenuity of their covers make this album a good effort on APC's part, as most musicians know to sucessfully cover 1 song can be difficult, but an album full...? many wouldnt even think of it! I felt the lack of This album was released at a time when the world needed to hear what this album is saying and to get Bush out of office, although it is mainly all old material covered, they ingenuity of their covers make this album a good effort on APC's part, as most musicians know to sucessfully cover 1 song can be difficult, but an album full...? many wouldnt even think of it! I felt the lack of "real" instruments over electronic or electronicly manipulated instruments a bit of a dissapointment but the overall effect was good and APC must be congratulated on taking such a huge risk with this album. Hopefully another all original album will appear soon! Expand
  18. AlexS
    Aug 4, 2005
    0
    Totally fails and dissapoints all APC fans, fails to match up to thier previous albums.. absolutely rubbish
  19. DanL
    Nov 11, 2004
    2
    A huge perfect circle and tool fan who is gravely dissappointed by this album. This is Maynard's worst album to date. Maybe other people will find it appealing but it's going to collect dust on my shelves and the next time it gets brought back out may be if I decide to commit suicide.
  20. S.Toncray
    Nov 3, 2004
    8
    Certainly fitting for this era in our history, eMOTIVe strikes a cord now, though its lasting effects are somewhat questionable. For the most part, the album succeeds magnificently in stirring emotions and creating some interestingly innovative covers of a wide variety of older songs. Especially potent is the Lennon cover of Imagine, with its optimistic lyrics seemingly smothered in the Certainly fitting for this era in our history, eMOTIVe strikes a cord now, though its lasting effects are somewhat questionable. For the most part, the album succeeds magnificently in stirring emotions and creating some interestingly innovative covers of a wide variety of older songs. Especially potent is the Lennon cover of Imagine, with its optimistic lyrics seemingly smothered in the dark, bleak realism of practical disillusion. A change in tone made all the difference, and this album hits hard emotionally, especially in these turbulent times. The remix of Pet, Counting Bodies Like Sheep to the Rhythm of the War Drums is not to be missed, while Passive is a nice addition to the mix. Unwelcome, however, is the lackluster Depeche Mode cover, People are People. A minor flaw, but likely APC's weakest track yet. Nonetheless, this is a great album that expands the definition of cover song into eccentric, meticulous new territory. Interesting, if a bit flawed, and worthy of praise for its high ambitions and originality. Expand
  21. PC
    Nov 5, 2004
    7
    Pretty good, not as good as Mer De Norms or 13th Step.
  22. Andi
    Nov 8, 2004
    9
    maynard is a genius. he truly has an angelic voice. that alone can make any song amazing.
  23. JasonR
    Dec 20, 2004
    10
    This album rocks!!! Anyone who thinks different is sadly mistaken....
  24. JasonS
    Dec 4, 2004
    2
    Love Tool, like APC, but hate this album. Probably a result of high expectations, but after only one listen I felt ripped off. Listened some more, and that feeling didn't change. The whole album is one big long boring drawl. If I listened again, I probably couldn't tell you which song was which.
  25. XavierF
    Jan 10, 2005
    9
    A very different track that this band has gone down and an impressive one. The band takes its responsibility to the world seriously as rolemodels and talks about what matters. Brilliant covers make this a must have for anyone's collection. Don't think of this album as typical Perfect Circle and you won't be disappointed.
  26. PeterB
    Dec 24, 2005
    6
    I wish people would stop referring to Tool when reviewing APC music. They are DIFFERENT bands for crying out loud. Furthermore, if you bought Emotive without realising it's an album of covers, then you are not worthy of being able to vote in this forum!
  27. JakeH
    Feb 14, 2005
    9
    It's time we realized that APC is not Maynard's side project. I love seeing the band moving away from under his wing and starting to emerge on their own, creating their own sound and truly becoming distinctive. Of course, it helps that the songs they are playing are amazing in their own right, but it's great to see a band that can put their own spin on a track instead of It's time we realized that APC is not Maynard's side project. I love seeing the band moving away from under his wing and starting to emerge on their own, creating their own sound and truly becoming distinctive. Of course, it helps that the songs they are playing are amazing in their own right, but it's great to see a band that can put their own spin on a track instead of mimicing. I hope that this can be a good stepping stone for the other, greatly talented members of APC to strike out on their own upon Maynard's return to Tool. Bravo, guys! Even if it was a contract breaker it's a darn good one. Expand
  28. Patrick
    Mar 13, 2005
    8
    Paz is back which saved everything. It is great
  29. HollyS
    Mar 26, 2005
    3
    Ummm....yeah I can't say I was a big fan of Perfect Circle until I finally gave in and bought their first album, which I love and think is a great album...then due to friends advice i bought emotiv.....i think its boring personally, but she loves it....I can't stand the cover of Depches Modes, People are People....I do them credit with coming up with a politically motivated Ummm....yeah I can't say I was a big fan of Perfect Circle until I finally gave in and bought their first album, which I love and think is a great album...then due to friends advice i bought emotiv.....i think its boring personally, but she loves it....I can't stand the cover of Depches Modes, People are People....I do them credit with coming up with a politically motivated compilation and the timing of its release....there needs to be more projects like this, but with a bit more fire. Expand
  30. Shays
    Aug 20, 2005
    6
    This album is a tad dissapointing to APC and tool fans. Although Passive and Imagine are two of the most moving songs done by this and other artists, the rest turns out to be sluggish remakes of old overdone anti-war songs. Nothing against the original writers, but I stopped listening to this album when i heard how they butchered the great "When the Levee Breaks".
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Uncut
    80
    Unexpectedly impressive. [Dec 2004, p.138]
  2. Emotive falls flat and fails to raise the bar set so high by the quality of their previous two releases.
  3. Mojo
    60
    One of the most bizarre covers albums ever. [Dec 2004, p.102]