eMOTIVe - A Perfect Circle
eMOTIVe Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tool frontman Maynard James Keenan tackles a variety of covers on this latest from his side project, A Perfect Circle, including versions of songs by Depeche Mode ("People Are People"), Devo ("Freedom Of Choice") and Marvin Gaye ("What's Going On"). Also included are two originals.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Sweetly morbid dreams of a better world abound on this politically motivated release. [5 Nov 2004, p.80]
  2. 83
    A Perfect Circle prove that they've got not only good taste, but real bite, too. [Dec 2004, p.117]
  3. What it lacks in aggression, though, the disc more than makes up for in inspiration, as these covers are so radically reworked that they sound as much like originals as the disc's lone new tune, "Passive."
  4. On the better half of this eccentric concept album, A Perfect Circle... revisit classic protest hits, jacking up the terror by throwing out iconic arrangements and performing heretical surgery on the melodies.
  5. 60
    One of the most bizarre covers albums ever. [Dec 2004, p.102]
  6. 60
    Around the midway point, just as APC seem handcuffed to despair, they remember that a good protest song should stir the spirit rather than sink it. [Dec 2004, p.140]
  7. Sounds like helium-voiced rockers Rush discovering a social conscience. [30 Oct 2004, p.65]

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 63
  2. Negative: 17 out of 63
  1. Oct 5, 2014
    10
    A Perfect Circle has 2 original songs on this album and the others are covers. The originals are amazing and the covers are perfect. A Perfect Circle made all of the covers their own and they succeeded. Expand
  2. JasonR
    Dec 20, 2004
    10
    This album rocks!!! Anyone who thinks different is sadly mistaken....
  3. JonathanH
    Apr 26, 2007
    9
    I must say, I enjoy this way more than 10,000 days by Tool, so since I overlooked this album kind of delibratley, I've gone back to it and definitley appreciate it - which is a good thing because i hate 10,000 days. I would of given it 10, but I'm not sure if some of the tracks work as well as they should, and I think should of sung in a quieter voice at times over the louder guitar and drum rythums, but thats all I have to complain about. As a TOOL and PERFECT CIRCLE fan - very pleased I rediscovered this. Expand
  4. S.Toncray
    Nov 3, 2004
    8
    Certainly fitting for this era in our history, eMOTIVe strikes a cord now, though its lasting effects are somewhat questionable. For the most part, the album succeeds magnificently in stirring emotions and creating some interestingly innovative covers of a wide variety of older songs. Especially potent is the Lennon cover of Imagine, with its optimistic lyrics seemingly smothered in the dark, bleak realism of practical disillusion. A change in tone made all the difference, and this album hits hard emotionally, especially in these turbulent times. The remix of Pet, Counting Bodies Like Sheep to the Rhythm of the War Drums is not to be missed, while Passive is a nice addition to the mix. Unwelcome, however, is the lackluster Depeche Mode cover, People are People. A minor flaw, but likely APC's weakest track yet. Nonetheless, this is a great album that expands the definition of cover song into eccentric, meticulous new territory. Interesting, if a bit flawed, and worthy of praise for its high ambitions and originality. Expand
  5. PeterB
    Dec 24, 2005
    6
    I wish people would stop referring to Tool when reviewing APC music. They are DIFFERENT bands for crying out loud. Furthermore, if you bought Emotive without realising it's an album of covers, then you are not worthy of being able to vote in this forum! Expand
  6. MattJ
    Jun 30, 2007
    3
    You know, one of the very reasons A Perfect Circle has been so high on my list of great music is it's bizzare, athiestic focus which works to separate me from everyday reality. The last thing I would have expected out of Keaton was a covers album with an anti-war theme! His re-works of several of the songs are interesting, but there's nothing new, alternative or creative about an anti-war political bent. At least Trent Reznor projects the "beginning of the end" with NIN's anti-war theme in Year Zero. I'll start listening to the Dixie chicks for that same old tired "peace and love" line, thank you. I'm very dissappointed. Expand
  7. lennybruce
    Nov 24, 2004
    0
    I would rate this cd, but i can't stop laughing long enough to do so. Anyone buying into this junk proves Barnum is right once again, a sucker is born every minute. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews