Empire

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Sep 19, 2006
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 71
  2. Negative: 7 out of 71

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RyderJ
    Sep 19, 2006
    4
    Their first album was just amazing! Great pop tunes with some rock licks that kept the songs in your head troughout the day. Now this one, is just a mash up of 10s of layers it just doesn't sound kasabian but some crappy rock band that trys to play with some elektro band.. Too bad they changed their style...
  2. ChrisP
    Sep 25, 2006
    4
    Agree with most- this is a step down. Sounds overproduced and that they tried to make a more meanigful, draker, edgier, groundbreaking cd that the first and it fails. The energy, fun, and pure techno rock of 1st CD is gone- go listen to POP by U2, a far better album and an obvious influence on this one-0 Kasabian needs to go back to basics
  3. disappointedfan
    Sep 27, 2006
    4
    this almost ruined my day
  4. JohnP
    Jan 5, 2007
    4
    After seeing the band 2 times and listening to the debut CD a zillon times I felt like an expectant father when I heard of the release date for Empire. Unfortunatley it was more a miscarriage than a birth.
  5. DavidS
    Sep 20, 2006
    5
    Great production! Terrible songs! All style and no substance! Noel must be snorting snow because this band is horrendous!
  6. PeteF
    Sep 23, 2006
    4
    This album was a real dissapointmentto me. I think their debut LP was much more interesting
  7. kvan33
    Dec 22, 2006
    6
    Not horrible, but a disappointment compared to their previous album. None of the songs are really amazing and the whole album insn't very inspired.
  8. Ben
    Sep 22, 2006
    6
    I agree with the person who said the album had great production but weak songs. That being said, the first and last songs are pretty damn good.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Rolling Stone
    20
    The second album... is miles worse than their shallow but tasty first, its big-budget production only making its shortcomings more apparent. [21 Sep 2006, p.88]
  2. "Empire" has an almost childlike energy and determination that makes it feel strangely charming.
  3. It is better than the eponymous debut, although not to the level that their self-satisfaction with it would suggest, and there is still a distinct lack of consistency and a feeling that occasionally while you can see who and what they're aiming at, they miss quite considerably.