Empire

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Empire Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 'Empire' marks the second release for the English dance-rock band.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. There's going to be a hearty scrap between this lot, Muse and the Monkeys when album of the year time comes round.
  2. Mojo
    80
    For the most part Empire is every bit as powerful as its title suggests. [Oct 2006, p.96]
  3. Uncut
    80
    Empire arrives with the same frazzled mien as Oasis' What's The Story (Morning Glory); alive with paranoia, delivered with an unshakeable self-belief. It's relentless stuff. [Sep 2006, p.80]
  4. Lost in all this is the instantly grabbing songwriting of Kasabian's debut, and to some extent, the bandmembers themselves, who often seem to be riding this swirl instead of guiding it.
  5. It is better than the eponymous debut, although not to the level that their self-satisfaction with it would suggest, and there is still a distinct lack of consistency and a feeling that occasionally while you can see who and what they're aiming at, they miss quite considerably.
  6. Spin
    60
    Empire constantly changes its focus. [Oct 2006, p.99]
  7. What we're offered here is pretty much a second take on the discordant beeps, Mani-ripped basslines and lazy hip hop breaks of their first album, with the addition of some hideously nipped and tucked string samples padding out their attempted lyrical bravado.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. JohnW
    Sep 19, 2006
    10
    Not for everyone I'm afraid, but great pop all the same.
  2. JTDMan
    Oct 16, 2006
    9
    Great album - almost as good as the first - could get better with more listens.
  3. JacobM
    Sep 19, 2006
    8
    I highly disagree with the overwhelmingly negative votes on this album. I listen to a wide range of music and this is one of those albums I I highly disagree with the overwhelmingly negative votes on this album. I listen to a wide range of music and this is one of those albums I like to blast while Im hitting the open freeway or during the heat of a party. I can understand that the album is not wholly original or doesnt break amazing new ground in rock music, but none the less I love listening to it and enjoy it thouroughly regardless of all the rock snobbery some may hold Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    After showing some real potential on their eponymous debut, Kasabian shows signs of further progression on this follow up. It's a veryAfter showing some real potential on their eponymous debut, Kasabian shows signs of further progression on this follow up. It's a very ambitious record with elements of dance thrown in but it's when they are rocking out that this record takes off. The final 2 tracks are really strong. One of the problems with this record was that the band bigged it up a bit too much before it's release a la Oasis and it backfired a bit. Still well worth having in your music collection though. Expand
  5. kvan33
    Dec 22, 2006
    6
    Not horrible, but a disappointment compared to their previous album. None of the songs are really amazing and the whole album insn't Not horrible, but a disappointment compared to their previous album. None of the songs are really amazing and the whole album insn't very inspired. Expand
  6. JohnP
    Jan 5, 2007
    4
    After seeing the band 2 times and listening to the debut CD a zillon times I felt like an expectant father when I heard of the release date After seeing the band 2 times and listening to the debut CD a zillon times I felt like an expectant father when I heard of the release date for Empire. Unfortunatley it was more a miscarriage than a birth. Expand
  7. Craig
    Sep 19, 2006
    0
    Boring, a c-class primal scream rip off.

See all 29 User Reviews