User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 483 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 483

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VeronciaF
    Jan 30, 2005
    8
    althugh some may say Em is out of ideas and has nothing to rap about, this CD prooves america's shallow oppinion wrong with it's brilliant lyrics and dancable tunes.
  2. ivank
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    this was great...
  3. wiggettyw.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    Keeps getting better and better. Second only to The Eminem Show.
  4. Apr 12, 2013
    8
    A not as good but very strong album by Eminem, many of the songs are memorable and go down in history but all in common are complaints about his life. Still memorable beats complaining.
  5. ArturoS.
    Dec 1, 2004
    9
    The people who rated this low are out of their mind. They don't get Em. I listen to a lot of hip hop. Exactl which rappers out there actually say anything interesting? Only Eminem, Nas, Kanye, a few others. Almost all other rap is only good for the production. Young Buck's is a good example. With the exception of the Marshall Mathers LP, this is his best work. He's The people who rated this low are out of their mind. They don't get Em. I listen to a lot of hip hop. Exactl which rappers out there actually say anything interesting? Only Eminem, Nas, Kanye, a few others. Almost all other rap is only good for the production. Young Buck's is a good example. With the exception of the Marshall Mathers LP, this is his best work. He's lyrically top notch here. If you don't like a lot of words cleverly rhymed, then yes, Em isn't your guy. Expand
  6. denises
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    i loved this album!
  7. DavidA
    Jan 8, 2005
    9
    I've always been an Eminem fan, this is one of his best albums and its just what I expected from him, however it was not as good as "The Eminem Show."
  8. MelissaH
    Feb 21, 2005
    8
    I like this album altogether but it is not his best work. Some of the songs seem to sound the same as the songs he uses in The Eminem Show. I love Emimen still though he is a genius, he just didnt show it as much in this album as others.
  9. danielw
    Mar 1, 2006
    10
    it is the third best album he has released apart from curtain call and slim shady LP
  10. KobeeH
    Nov 16, 2004
    9
    ENCORE. Eminem's latest is definitely what his title says it is. You can tell he's just having fun after the Show. I don't feel it's meant to be what we've come to expect from Em. This is not even close to being a bad thing. True, there is a bit of the old style Slim in there. But, he also has a more fun flow going on. Not to say, I'm a fan of all the songs, ENCORE. Eminem's latest is definitely what his title says it is. You can tell he's just having fun after the Show. I don't feel it's meant to be what we've come to expect from Em. This is not even close to being a bad thing. True, there is a bit of the old style Slim in there. But, he also has a more fun flow going on. Not to say, I'm a fan of all the songs, neither was I on his last 3. But, nonetheless, ENCORE is a really good album. Don't listen to those professional jerks up there. Buy the album and experience Eminem again. Expand
  11. KimA
    Dec 12, 2004
    9
    I will admit that at first, I wasn't sure about this album but after listening to the lyrics I found that there was more meaning in his words besides the every-other- swear-word pattern approach he usually takes. This album is something that I can relate to and I felt he did excellent work getting his message accross. I love it.
  12. tomw
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    Amazing he has realy done it this time
  13. JohnJ
    Jan 2, 2005
    10
    The best CD i have evr heard
  14. chrisB
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    eminem has done it again he is one of the greatest lyricist of all time and he proves it again.what proves that this is another great cd is because eminem has really matured alot on this cd just listen to toy solilders and mockingbird that is another great song from eminem talking about his daughter every cd he comes out with seems to be jus so good thats why i love eminems music all his eminem has done it again he is one of the greatest lyricist of all time and he proves it again.what proves that this is another great cd is because eminem has really matured alot on this cd just listen to toy solilders and mockingbird that is another great song from eminem talking about his daughter every cd he comes out with seems to be jus so good thats why i love eminems music all his cds are classics and this one is nothin short of that#1 marshall mathers lp next eminem show this cd would be third with thats sayin alot because those last to cd's i mentioned were masterpieces in hip-hop and some of the best rap cd's i ever heard.bottom line if you haven't heard encore i suggest you buy it i recomend it to all eminem fans event if you arent pick it up............. Expand
  15. MIKEM
    Feb 11, 2005
    9
    Quit Hating! Em is a very good MC
  16. ChiliT.
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    A! this Is Chili Em's #1 Fan, I dont appreciate all the Haters talkin shit, people need to realize that he has picked up where Hip-Hop left off with Pac and Big, and has fulfilled the prophecy as a walking LEGEND
  17. JoeyH
    Apr 9, 2005
    10
    Best. Eminem. Album. Ever. Period.
  18. t!m3$pL!t3r
    Aug 14, 2005
    10
    Encore might not be his best album but its still quite good all of the songs r quite good with the exeption of Like Toy Soldiers and ENCORE/CURTAINS Down which r awsome I cant think of any reason to find this album annoying and its definitely worth the money
  19. ReginaF
    Sep 6, 2005
    10
    look dis album rocks - all y'all hu is sayin it dnt need 2 get ya hed lukin at ... n wot u on bout d songs bout his kids suck - dats 1 of d best songs ok??? eminem is an amazin artist n if u dnt like him thn dnt go out n buy his album if ur jus gna complain about it..lets c u do ny betta shal we..?
  20. mikehawk
    May 15, 2007
    8
    Eminem will never loose what he has!
  21. ZakK
    Nov 13, 2004
    8
    This is such a disappointing album. His versus sound lazy. He does have some funny stuff in it. This is a good or great album for other rappers, but eminem this is just crap.
  22. Hugeemfan
    Nov 13, 2004
    7
    i am a huge eminem fan and that is no bs. ive been counting down the days on my calendar since august for this cd to come and, and well i gotta say i am disapointed. the eminem show was much better, i think he fooled around too much on this album, it wasnt very serious, just all jokes. althought i give credit where it is deserved, amazing songs are mocking bird, toy soldier, puke, and i am a huge eminem fan and that is no bs. ive been counting down the days on my calendar since august for this cd to come and, and well i gotta say i am disapointed. the eminem show was much better, i think he fooled around too much on this album, it wasnt very serious, just all jokes. althought i give credit where it is deserved, amazing songs are mocking bird, toy soldier, puke, and never enough. i could tell this cd wud not top the eminem show as soon as i took a look at the book inside. the pages were not as detailed, just small sh*t like that made you tell he didnt try. but i still love eminem and its still good good cd after u listen to it a few times. im disapointed but his next cd will be much better. u pass em. 7/10 Expand
  23. StephenC
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    Not his best album, but still the best album ive heard all year. Brilliant!
  24. Joseph
    Nov 16, 2004
    7
    I think people are underrating this album
  25. ReneeD
    Nov 18, 2004
    9
    I think it's an awesome CD! I actually laugh out loud! It definitely puts a smile on my face....
  26. kathleen
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    I love this cd so much!! eminem is THE bomb!!! I LOVE HIM!!
  27. sethag
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    not the better em cd for me mmlp was this best but i prefer this one to tes LP i think 8 is good but because some poeple seems to be too "extremiste" on my owe i do the same.....LOL
  28. BradleyE
    Nov 20, 2004
    10
    Eminem is the Bob Dylan of our times. he is rapping about his life and what he knows.there are some silly songs, yet does anyone remember anything before the eminem show? If you are a talent artist usually you will have that one painting or album that defines your career. for eminem that may have been the eminem show an albun that is timeless and never gets old no mater how often you Eminem is the Bob Dylan of our times. he is rapping about his life and what he knows.there are some silly songs, yet does anyone remember anything before the eminem show? If you are a talent artist usually you will have that one painting or album that defines your career. for eminem that may have been the eminem show an albun that is timeless and never gets old no mater how often you listen to it. All these music critic are brain dead from listening to to meny albums once over and giving it a rating. that is what they are payed to do and im sure there are stacks of disks laying on there desks. Luckily for a true music lover some albums don't go down easily on the first or 5th time. But i tell you the more i listen to encore the more i love it. Expand
  29. Ty
    Dec 13, 2004
    8
    This is an interesting album with foreshadowing of either his retirement or slim shadys. some of the sampling on this cd is unreal. plus i really like the inventiveness of creating the song mocking bird form a childhood song. Its wierd though cause he seems tired of the rap game. maybe he'll step down and move more into production. its true that this is not the most amazing album to This is an interesting album with foreshadowing of either his retirement or slim shadys. some of the sampling on this cd is unreal. plus i really like the inventiveness of creating the song mocking bird form a childhood song. Its wierd though cause he seems tired of the rap game. maybe he'll step down and move more into production. its true that this is not the most amazing album to come out of eminem but its still a very good album. it takes a second and third listen to really get it. also crazy in love is a wicked and intense song with such grit to the description of his relationship, but also i think that people who have had something other than a fairy tale relationship might see some of themselves in that song. Expand
  30. AaronA
    Dec 13, 2004
    9
    at first the songs on encore sounded samey and without any flare but give this album a second listen and everything just clicks, all these songs are ace especially puke, my first single and my fave 'crazy in love' dont listen to the dissers on here just buy this album and make up your own mind
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. "Encore" is almost willfully uneven: it includes some of the most exhilarating songs Eminem has ever recorded, alongside some of the most inert. [15 Nov 2004]
  2. For the most part, Encore's strained, vaguely sad, regressive wackiness makes a lucid and compelling argument that Eminem should retire Slim Shady and let the real, serious Marshall Mathers stand up and be heard.
  3. Encore is a fourth fascinating record from Eminem, but it's also easily his weakest and, in many ways, tamest album to date.