• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Mar 15, 2011
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 62
  2. Negative: 1 out of 62
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 19, 2016
    9
    This album is certainly a great album in Rise Against's discography. Filled with songs that have catchy lyrics, themes, and riffs; it is a must have for any Rise Against. However, that doesn't mean Endgame is free of faults. Wait For Me and Architects eventually did suffer from overplay and I can now only listen Broken Mirrors every so often, but other than those three, the rest of theThis album is certainly a great album in Rise Against's discography. Filled with songs that have catchy lyrics, themes, and riffs; it is a must have for any Rise Against. However, that doesn't mean Endgame is free of faults. Wait For Me and Architects eventually did suffer from overplay and I can now only listen Broken Mirrors every so often, but other than those three, the rest of the tracks are pretty solid. If I were to suggest only three, I would go for Disparity by Design, Endgame, and A Gentlemen's Coup. All in all, I would highly recommend a buy. Expand
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    I love Satellite, i havent heard the rest yet but only that song is so good! The lyrics rock and the guitar solos are awesome!!! that song: 11/10 holy
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    Endgame is refreshingly different from the rest of Rise Against's albums, the whole album sounds polished and it is very hard to pick out a weak song on the album. This album is a good mix of punk and Hardcore and clearly shows a new direction for Rise Against.
  4. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    This is the best album I have ever heard in my life. I thought that Appeal to Reason was going to be impossible to beat, but they blew it out of the water with this one. I really cant stop listening to it! You must own this!
  5. Dec 31, 2011
    4
    i waited for this album like a little child waits for christmans to come...but i was so disappointed with it...i got the vinyl version, but it in... i heard architects and help is on the way before the album came out, thought they were ok but not great...i also heard death blossoms and their other songs which were not on any of their albums, and thought that this finally would be close toi waited for this album like a little child waits for christmans to come...but i was so disappointed with it...i got the vinyl version, but it in... i heard architects and help is on the way before the album came out, thought they were ok but not great...i also heard death blossoms and their other songs which were not on any of their albums, and thought that this finally would be close to the glory of the siren song of counter culture...i hoped that the guitars would be harder, and that tim would again shout out his meanings to the world, but all in all endgame is even more poppish than appeal to reason...there are no songs i will remember from this album...help is on the way and architects were ok, and those were the best songs of the album...a disappointment really, but it seems that rise against will never come back to the quality of punk rock they once made... Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Awesome album, its catchy but not in a wrong way. And I love the way theyre building up their songs. Usually I hate grunge, but Rise Against is the only band I make an exception for.
  7. CRL
    Oct 6, 2011
    10
    I had never heard Rise Against before a friend gave me the link for Satellite. For a few months that was all the Rise Against I knew, then I checked out the rest of the album and ended up buying the whole thing. Satellite gets a perfect 10/10 and is still my favorite, though Make it Stop (September's Children), an intense, power-rock song about the LGBT suicides of September 2010 comesI had never heard Rise Against before a friend gave me the link for Satellite. For a few months that was all the Rise Against I knew, then I checked out the rest of the album and ended up buying the whole thing. Satellite gets a perfect 10/10 and is still my favorite, though Make it Stop (September's Children), an intense, power-rock song about the LGBT suicides of September 2010 comes pretty close (9.5/10). Among the others, Architects and This Is Letting Go stand out, as well as the title track (and final track) Endgame. Overall, Endgame is an excellent album that resonates in more ways than one. Expand
  8. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    Love both the music and the topic raised in the songs. Every active political youth have to listen to Rise Against and System of a Down. This is not just songs, this is criticism of our progress as Humanity, as a whole. Criticism of stagnation which happens now, which has to be broken! We need to stop being blind fools and start realizing that we are the smiths of our future (orLove both the music and the topic raised in the songs. Every active political youth have to listen to Rise Against and System of a Down. This is not just songs, this is criticism of our progress as Humanity, as a whole. Criticism of stagnation which happens now, which has to be broken! We need to stop being blind fools and start realizing that we are the smiths of our future (or architects) and it is up only to us and no one else to change our community and society for the better or lower your head and ignore all problems of today to be a happy idiot. I urge you all - THINK! Expand
  9. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Great! Back to roots, more polished, and original spine tingling lyrics. Rise Against has succeeded in creating music that both their old hardcore punk fans will like and their new pop rock fans will like.
  10. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    An extremely good album, one of their best so far. The melodies are great and polished and, unlike too many other bands, they really have something to say. "Make it stop" alone is worth buying the CD. Can't wait to see how this album feels live!
  11. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    This is the album Rise Against has been trying to make. While some of their past songs have suggested at issues broadly, for example, "Ready to Fall," "Endgame" takes issues head on. With songs like "Help is On the Way" or "Make it Stop (September's Children)" they tackle issues, up front, with their dignity and artistic merit on the line. Even more angry and ferocious than Rise AgainstThis is the album Rise Against has been trying to make. While some of their past songs have suggested at issues broadly, for example, "Ready to Fall," "Endgame" takes issues head on. With songs like "Help is On the Way" or "Make it Stop (September's Children)" they tackle issues, up front, with their dignity and artistic merit on the line. Even more angry and ferocious than Rise Against has been in the past, (there are no ballads like "Swing Life Away" or "Hero of War" here, it's all loud, fast and angry), Endgame is that rare album that is ABOUT something. While some of the songs aren't as catchy as others have been in the past, the entire album deserves to be heard, and remains unique, even after Rise Against has put out so much great work already. Expand
  12. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    Amazing Rise Against CD! One of their best yet. Best songs IMO are "Architects", "Help Is On The Way", "Satellites" and "This Is Letting Go". There are no bad songs on it though so you can't go wrong.
  13. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    love it. i absolutly love rise against and they continue to please and with them you either love em or hate em and i dont think there should be a critic score for music because they will obviously be prejuduced the group just based on wheather they like the band and type of music and will not rate based on how they think the band did with thier music in this album
  14. Mar 18, 2011
    9
    An overall great album, though not as intense as their past albums, lyrically this album is great and holds your attention very well so it makes the albums 40 minuets fly by very fast. it has a more pop sound then their past albums, but they still keep it good.
  15. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Excellent, excellent album. Possibly their catchiest yet, but they make good use of it. Tim sounds on point through the entire album, and all the players continue to impress. Truly excellent.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Apr 26, 2011
    70
    The most important thing to know about Endgame is that it will provide continued success for Rise Against.
  2. 80
    A fine record from an ever-impressive band.
  3. Kerrang!
    Mar 18, 2011
    80
    Chicago punks mark 10-year anniversary in characteristically fiery form. [12 Mar 2011, p. 51]