Endless Wire

  • Record Label: Republic
  • Release Date: Oct 31, 2006
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 52
  2. Negative: 6 out of 52

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TomW
    Jan 5, 2007
    8
    As a 30-year Who fanatic I approached this album with a lot of trepidation and the first listening confirmed my fears. The derivative opening of Fragments. Daltry's labored vocals. The micro-specificity of a reference to of all people, Mike Post. But then I listened a second and third time and stopped making comparisons to the iconic Who, instead listening to it as I did THE WHO SELL As a 30-year Who fanatic I approached this album with a lot of trepidation and the first listening confirmed my fears. The derivative opening of Fragments. Daltry's labored vocals. The micro-specificity of a reference to of all people, Mike Post. But then I listened a second and third time and stopped making comparisons to the iconic Who, instead listening to it as I did THE WHO SELL OUT and not WHO'S NEXT. The result is an album with enough high points ("Mike Post Theme," of all things, and "We Got a Hit") and enough quirky gems (I include the much-maligned "Into the Ether" here, with its beautiful Brian Wilson-like chord changes) to make it feel like I'm once again connected to the one band I take personally. Expand
  2. ChazS.
    Jun 3, 2007
    10
    Every song is so good it could be from a greatest hits compilation.
  3. JamesJ
    Nov 2, 2006
    9
    Really a very good album and proof that Mr Townsend has some song left in him yet. Roger's voice is on top form and the songs are of a high quality. Even after losing two of its founder members the Who live on in style. The bus for the bingo hall isnt here yet and anyone who believes so is clearly not of sound mind. Nice one guys!!!!
  4. ByronJ
    Nov 4, 2006
    9
    In the top 5 of Who albums definetely.
  5. JoeH
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    Endless Wire is outstanding!
  6. PeterP
    Dec 6, 2006
    9
    Compared to other releases from bands that gained popularity in the 60's, the who's new effort is somewhat amazing. Never did I think ide chose a WHO album over a Dylan album but alas the day has come. The sound is original enough to keep you wanting to listen to more while having the same basic recipe the WHO has always used to make amazing music. At the least, worth a few listens.
  7. [Anonymous]
    Oct 30, 2006
    8
    Not a classic, but a solid effort.
  8. HerbL
    Oct 30, 2006
    9
    great album and long overdue.
  9. HappyJack
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    to offset Todd W being musically challenged. what county fair were you at? i would love to see them in a small venue!
  10. UrkyF
    Nov 1, 2006
    9
    It could have been "Its Not Hard Anymore", or "Wrinkled Face Dances"..."A Quick One While He's Awake" or "Tommy (I can't Hear You.)" "Achy, Breaky, Stiff and Bony?" Luckily, it is none of the above. It is a generous helping of living breathing, rocking and soul searching music from the re-vitalized Pete Townshend and the astoundingly powerful and honest voice of Roger Daltrey. It could have been "Its Not Hard Anymore", or "Wrinkled Face Dances"..."A Quick One While He's Awake" or "Tommy (I can't Hear You.)" "Achy, Breaky, Stiff and Bony?" Luckily, it is none of the above. It is a generous helping of living breathing, rocking and soul searching music from the re-vitalized Pete Townshend and the astoundingly powerful and honest voice of Roger Daltrey. It doesn't really matter if it is really "The Who" or not. It wouldn't have been as good if they had tried too hard to make it "the Who." I mean, come on, Townshend actually plays the drums on half of it - how could it be a "Who" album? It is more like a great Scoop album with Daltrey. That, for anyone who knows those great Townshend demo com;s, is a compliment, and overall, that vibe makes for an endearing listen - it makes it direct, real, and most of all fresh and vital. You want clean and slick, go listen to Face Dances - nice album, but not really the Who. So, in that sense - this is not a "Who" album, but it IS an album by the Who. Expand
  11. EdP
    Nov 1, 2006
    7
    The guy below is a little too cynical. Relatively speaking, the "Who" is a very good live band. They still can blow doors on most of the crap out there today. So I say rock on. As to the album, it's pretty damn good listening. Of course it is not a master piece, but is is definitely engaging and interesting rock and roll music.
  12. leed
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    much better than face dances and its hard.townshend is god. love man in a purple dress. well worth the wait.
  13. MattD.
    Nov 3, 2006
    7
    Worth buying for "Man in a Purple Dress" alone. The album is workmanlike Who - no new classic album here, but they get by on a retro vibe.
  14. LukeM
    Nov 6, 2006
    9
    This band is one of the greatest. A 6? You must be joking. Or are you?
  15. RachelT
    Mar 8, 2007
    9
    Bizarre at times, downright odd at others, but truly sublime morst of the time. True, it takes several listens to actually understand the mini-opera, and even then you may not get the meaning that its composer does, but the many listens are worth it, just to "get" it. However you read it, its a wonderful story, either pure analogy about humanity in general and rthe music business Bizarre at times, downright odd at others, but truly sublime morst of the time. True, it takes several listens to actually understand the mini-opera, and even then you may not get the meaning that its composer does, but the many listens are worth it, just to "get" it. However you read it, its a wonderful story, either pure analogy about humanity in general and rthe music business specifically, or semi-autobiographical, Who knows? It's a gem though, as wonderfully crafted as every one of Townshend's operas. And that's just the second half. The first half is less cohesive, more all over the place, and why not? Each song is a gem to someone, and if you don't like it, that's what the skip button was invented for, because you're sure to like one of them. This is Townshend finally in all his glory. Never before have The Who been so eclectic on one album, and never before has any band been so eclectic so well. Expand
  16. GabeL
    Apr 13, 2007
    8
    Allow me to start by saying this: it's a step up from It's Hard and Face Dances. A proper album to end a career on, if they choose to. The first half of the album is a bit of a muddle, but with most songs actually quite good - Two Thousand Years was a song that grew on me. One or two tunes aren't quite up to snuff, though (God Speaks of Marty Robbins confused the living Allow me to start by saying this: it's a step up from It's Hard and Face Dances. A proper album to end a career on, if they choose to. The first half of the album is a bit of a muddle, but with most songs actually quite good - Two Thousand Years was a song that grew on me. One or two tunes aren't quite up to snuff, though (God Speaks of Marty Robbins confused the living daylights outta me). The rock mini-opera is quite cohesive, and despite a dip here or there, the emotions and energy seem to carry throughout the record. The sounds originally on the "Wire and Glass" single still stand out as the best of the bunch (Sound Round and We Got A Hit, especially), even though Mirror Door had its vocals rejiggered from the single. And despite what Pete and Rog say, we know that Tea & Theatre is a tribute to the fallen John Entwistle. Lord knows his thundering bass would've been appreciated. I will say, though, that getting the special edition package does yield more complete versions of We Got A Hit and Endless Wire. They sound single-worthy, for sure. All told, it's a damn good album. Not on the level of glory-era Who, but that's been the case since Keith Moon passed away. Get it if you feel like listening to the first album from this duo in two-and-a-half decades. Expand
  17. BrandonC.
    Aug 2, 2007
    10
    Got to be a true fan to enjoy it so i guess i am go to see the who it's great!!
  18. B.P.GUY
    Nov 1, 2006
    9
    This duo of sixty year old rock stars has made a gutsy, varied, impassioned album of earnest, driving, and deep music, vulnerabilities and rough edges showing. Lucky for them, they don't have to worry about the weight of over ten other classic albums and a reputation as the greatest live rock band to ever walk the earth, like this particular band from Shepard's Bush that this This duo of sixty year old rock stars has made a gutsy, varied, impassioned album of earnest, driving, and deep music, vulnerabilities and rough edges showing. Lucky for them, they don't have to worry about the weight of over ten other classic albums and a reputation as the greatest live rock band to ever walk the earth, like this particular band from Shepard's Bush that this duo reminds me of. This duo simply has to worry about making a compelling album of substantial music. And they have. A very good album too. Now, what was the name of that band they remind me of? You know the oe...they sang "Bucket T". Expand
  19. MikeB
    Nov 18, 2006
    9
    Great album!
  20. MackO
    Nov 2, 2006
    9
    Todd, you are clueless
  21. MW
    Nov 4, 2006
    8
    It's a shame some reviewers concentrate on unsubstantiated allegations rather than on the actual music. The police decided there was no cases to answer after investigation...remember innocent until proven guilty?? No, Endless Wire is not another Who's Next, it's not Tommy or Quadrophenia but again it is Pete Townshend articluating his views on society, aging, the internet It's a shame some reviewers concentrate on unsubstantiated allegations rather than on the actual music. The police decided there was no cases to answer after investigation...remember innocent until proven guilty?? No, Endless Wire is not another Who's Next, it's not Tommy or Quadrophenia but again it is Pete Townshend articluating his views on society, aging, the internet etc and aren't we glad of something apart from meaningless, almost inarticulate gargling that we get from so many bands these days. It is different, it is daring and should we be the mindless fans who scream out at concerts "Play the old stuff" or should we listen to it, read the lyrics and album notes and try to understand what is going on. The hooks are there but not as easy to find as they were. Older yes, better...maybe, but interesting and thoiught provoking...yes, yes ,yes. Expand
  22. gmc
    Nov 5, 2006
    7
    There's crap on it...Townshend needs to be reined in when he's too self-indulgent, but upon repeated listenings about half of it is pretty good stuff.
  23. Grant
    Nov 8, 2006
    8
    Excellent Who album... The Who prove they can adapt and not just be the same old band with 2 replacements. They can reinvent themselves artistically and provide an all new style, yet still be within reach of their youthful "glory-years" sound. And these guys are fucking 60! Amazing... oh yeah, and Todd W, what a class act you are, have some respect...
  24. FrankB
    Dec 11, 2006
    9
    There's plenty one can carp about, but I still find myself listening to it a real lot. Some good rockers and very beautiful ballads. People expecting the Who of 1965-75 might be disappointed, but it's completely ureasonable to expect that. On its own terms, this is a very fine album, with better songs than about 90% of what's out there (and better songs than any Who album There's plenty one can carp about, but I still find myself listening to it a real lot. Some good rockers and very beautiful ballads. People expecting the Who of 1965-75 might be disappointed, but it's completely ureasonable to expect that. On its own terms, this is a very fine album, with better songs than about 90% of what's out there (and better songs than any Who album since "By Numbers" or any Townshend album since "White City"). Good to hear Pete & Roger still have as much heart as ever. Expand
  25. DeeM
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    This is a great album. If you love music, buy this album.
  26. RasieDae
    Oct 31, 2006
    8
    The Best Who record of ALL TIME. JestKidding. It's not bad however!
  27. emilh
    Nov 14, 2006
    10
    They have got a hit ! Excellent album from the two surviving members of the Who and as right for the times as Tommy was in 1969. The songs are generally very good and thoughtful, not trying to copy or revive the old Who, which does not exist anymore. Excellent.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. No, it does not rank with the band's best work. But yes, as long as Pete Townshend and Roger Daltrey walk the earth in tandem, the Who live on.
  2. Endless Wire turns out to be more effective and more coherent than it has any right to be.
  3. The nine tracks you must navigate before you get to the mini-opera seem like a trudge.