Endlessly

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Dec 7, 2010
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Jan 14, 2011
    85
    While not explicitly a concept or homage album, Endlessly captures a retro American sound reminiscent of sock hops and drive-ins so subtly, that the album could have been called Effortlessly.
  2. Uncut
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    Cool and clever without being contrived, this is sharp, commercially astute pop music that ebbs and flows to the rhythm of a very human pulse. [Jan 2011, p.84]
  3. 75
    This time on Endlessly, she smartly taps a producer who wrote hits during that era: Albert Hammond accentuates her smoky, blues-tinged voice and classic Stax style while also bringing out her inner pop star.
  4. 75
    Despite these high points, though, Endlessly has some problems. Duffy has said she wrote the songs in a mere three weeks, and it shows.
  5. Dec 7, 2010
    70
    Ultimately, it's the vocals that carry Endlessly. There's no whitewashing of the singer's eccentricities, which feel more pronounced here--she can be gruffly nasal (the oft-repeated chorus of "Well, Well, Well" never stops sounding like "whale, whale, whale") while remaining wholly beguiling.
  6. Dec 7, 2010
    68
    Duffy has a uniquely girlish voice, like Joey Lauren Adams doing an impression of a Bond Girl, and her quirks get the best of her during the album's slower moments, where her vibrato sounds forced and faded. When the tempo picks up, though, Endlessly sounds like a proper sophomore effort: mature, confident, and wider in scope than its predecessor.
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Dec 7, 2016
    6
    The tricky second album. Rockferry had vocal power and depth. Endlessly doesn't. I enjoy Duffy's voice, but on several tracks she never quiteThe tricky second album. Rockferry had vocal power and depth. Endlessly doesn't. I enjoy Duffy's voice, but on several tracks she never quite hits the mark. The first few spins do leave you feeling a little lost, craving a little more, however, it's a grower. Give it time and it's actually quite the pleasant and satisfying pop album - Price's production in particular is worth the repeated listens. Full Review »
  2. Mar 28, 2012
    5
    If "Rockferry" was a interesting and good album, "Endlessly" is repetitive and it's not good. With all the respect but for me Duffy is theIf "Rockferry" was a interesting and good album, "Endlessly" is repetitive and it's not good. With all the respect but for me Duffy is the classical artist that has a big success with the first album and then disappears. I hope that now she'll takes a break form music, for return with a good album like her first. ( sorry for my English ) Full Review »
  3. Sep 26, 2011
    6
    Ah, the tricky second album, for some it remains, for some it destroys, for some it improoves and for Duffy it didn't really do anything. It'sAh, the tricky second album, for some it remains, for some it destroys, for some it improoves and for Duffy it didn't really do anything. It's a good album, it has a lot of likability, you cannot help but find her music interesting. It might not be the most groundbreaking music of all time, but it's retro at it's sweetest. I hate to compare artists albums, i like to take them for the individual record that they are, but at times you want Duffy to belt out a note or two like she did on previously, i mean, she won a Grammy for 'Best Pop Vocal Album' and sold 6.5 Million copies of Rockferry, her voice made her the star she is..why didn't she use it on this album ? Comparisons aside, this album might not be able to hold it's own against the likes of Adele's 21 or Imelda May's Mayhem but it quite frankly **** all over Jessie J's Who You Are. Full Review »