Endlessly

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Endlessly Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The funky and soul-filled Welsh singer's second album blends soft ballads with upbeat pop tracks, revealing a range of influences from the retro 1960's to modern day disco sounds.
Buy On

Top Track

Well Well Well
Well well well Well well well Well well well Well well well Highly suspicious, Where was I last night Seek and you shall find And it goes in my... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Jan 14, 2011
    85
    While not explicitly a concept or homage album, Endlessly captures a retro American sound reminiscent of sock hops and drive-ins so subtly, that the album could have been called Effortlessly.
  2. 75
    This time on Endlessly, she smartly taps a producer who wrote hits during that era: Albert Hammond accentuates her smoky, blues-tinged voice and classic Stax style while also bringing out her inner pop star.
  3. Dec 7, 2010
    70
    Ultimately, it's the vocals that carry Endlessly. There's no whitewashing of the singer's eccentricities, which feel more pronounced here--she can be gruffly nasal (the oft-repeated chorus of "Well, Well, Well" never stops sounding like "whale, whale, whale") while remaining wholly beguiling.
  4. Dec 7, 2010
    60
    Endlessly is like many successors to huge-selling albums: the attempts to break with the artist's trademark sound are tentative, and the result is a record that hedges its bets to only limited success.
  5. Dec 7, 2010
    50
    Though not without its charms, Endlessly is too slight and uneven to impress unconditionally.
  6. That cat-in-a-swing-coat yowl will still be a divider for many, but it's a snag of human individuality in a smooth, if mixed pack.
  7. Dec 7, 2010
    30
    Two years ago, Duffy had us begging her for mercy, but after 10 tracks of Endlessly, I was just begging her to stop.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jul 31, 2011
    8
    This album is good; the song writing is solid and the vocals is outstanding . Duffy is an amazing singer and this album proves how talentedThis album is good; the song writing is solid and the vocals is outstanding . Duffy is an amazing singer and this album proves how talented she is. Her last album was really good and people expected more, i think she gave us more with this album. Collapse
  2. Sep 26, 2011
    6
    Ah, the tricky second album, for some it remains, for some it destroys, for some it improoves and for Duffy it didn't really do anything. It'sAh, the tricky second album, for some it remains, for some it destroys, for some it improoves and for Duffy it didn't really do anything. It's a good album, it has a lot of likability, you cannot help but find her music interesting. It might not be the most groundbreaking music of all time, but it's retro at it's sweetest. I hate to compare artists albums, i like to take them for the individual record that they are, but at times you want Duffy to belt out a note or two like she did on previously, i mean, she won a Grammy for 'Best Pop Vocal Album' and sold 6.5 Million copies of Rockferry, her voice made her the star she is..why didn't she use it on this album ? Comparisons aside, this album might not be able to hold it's own against the likes of Adele's 21 or Imelda May's Mayhem but it quite frankly **** all over Jessie J's Who You Are. Expand
  3. Jan 7, 2011
    6
    Nothing new, same style as the first album. Not bad, but I know Duffy can do much better. Maybe she could try with "Rain On Your Parade"Nothing new, same style as the first album. Not bad, but I know Duffy can do much better. Maybe she could try with "Rain On Your Parade" style. I loved that song and how it suited on her.
    Come on Duffy!
    Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2016
    6
    The tricky second album. Rockferry had vocal power and depth. Endlessly doesn't. I enjoy Duffy's voice, but on several tracks she never quiteThe tricky second album. Rockferry had vocal power and depth. Endlessly doesn't. I enjoy Duffy's voice, but on several tracks she never quite hits the mark. The first few spins do leave you feeling a little lost, craving a little more, however, it's a grower. Give it time and it's actually quite the pleasant and satisfying pop album - Price's production in particular is worth the repeated listens. Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2012
    5
    If "Rockferry" was a interesting and good album, "Endlessly" is repetitive and it's not good. With all the respect but for me Duffy is theIf "Rockferry" was a interesting and good album, "Endlessly" is repetitive and it's not good. With all the respect but for me Duffy is the classical artist that has a big success with the first album and then disappears. I hope that now she'll takes a break form music, for return with a good album like her first. ( sorry for my English ) Expand
  6. Dec 15, 2010
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I didn't get the rhythm of this album . Her voice is not as expressive as her first album. You can forget the melodies very quickly. For sure... Rockferry is better than Endlessy. Expand
  7. Mar 27, 2011
    4
    Obviously, the album was rushed-up. In three weeks of recording, the album was definitely nothing good to offer. Duffy's voice is one of herObviously, the album was rushed-up. In three weeks of recording, the album was definitely nothing good to offer. Duffy's voice is one of her assets but she did not delivered it well in her second album. Most of the tracks are lame, bland, and boring. Rockferry is actually better than Endlessly. Expand