Engineers - Engineers
Engineers Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This debut album showcases the British band's symphonic, shoegaze-y sound.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. This is big, epic, widescreen music, albeit wonderfully understated. [5 Mar 2005, p.51]
  2. 83
    This transcendent debut is the real stoner rock. [Aug 2005, p.103]
  3. 80
    Equal parts drawn-out and dreamy. [#16, p.97]
  4. What sets Engineers apart on this full-length debut is their ability to build up a strong sound without anything being lost within it. [#9]
  5. Their gentle approach is justified by the fact that their songs are quite memorable, written with a sense of grandeur and astral beauty.
  6. It's a warm and welcoming experience all round, and very much the mark of a band that know exactly what they're doing even if they sound remarkably out of step with everyone else.
  7. [Most] of the album just sort of swirls through some nicely-produced, but ultimately not very engaging sonic fluff.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. MindwreckInc
    Aug 21, 2005
    10
    Not only did i hear the music on this album, I saw it. I want more.....Absolute perfection.
  2. GregK
    Jul 10, 2005
    10
    The aural equivalent of a day alone on a windwept beach. Stunningly beautiful.
  3. ChrisT
    Aug 15, 2005
    10
    Great Album, I actually listened to the whole album while on a beach. Maybe that was able to swing my vote but I have to say that I was very Great Album, I actually listened to the whole album while on a beach. Maybe that was able to swing my vote but I have to say that I was very impressed with this new band. Props. Expand
  4. asik
    Jun 28, 2005
    9
    if you want to relax after a hard day work ,this is the one
  5. SayedS
    Jul 18, 2005
    9
    Bliss....
  6. AdamN
    Jul 26, 2005
    8
    It's downright Floydian, tapping into kind of an ethereal spaciousness. This album sounds like what taking a valium or soma feels like; It's downright Floydian, tapping into kind of an ethereal spaciousness. This album sounds like what taking a valium or soma feels like; it has such a relaxed beauty about it. Maybe not everyday music for me, but you'd be missing out if you didn't give it a listen. Expand
  7. GeorgeM
    Aug 18, 2005
    4
    If shoegazing is the new black/brit-pop taken form in this debut effort by Engineers, it is a trend that will find little traction outside If shoegazing is the new black/brit-pop taken form in this debut effort by Engineers, it is a trend that will find little traction outside its native UK. Technically competent but dated, same-y and forgettable is the best evaluation I can conjure for this album. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews