Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. England, Keep My Bones is Turner's most emphatic success and the best singer/songwriter album that will be released in 2011.
  2. Jun 6, 2011
    80
    Taken as a whole, England Keep My Bones is evidence that Turner is an artist who has fully arrived and knows it. And that's no sin.
  3. 80
    While Turner's penchant for experimentation is impressive, his ability to juxtapose all of these genres without losing his sense of identity is ultimately what makes England Keep My Bones such a grand success. [Jul 2011, p.108]
  4. Jun 6, 2011
    80
    Throughout this is an album of sufficient character, quality, daring and charm to ensure that its creator's unlikely march to the mainstream continues without interruption.
  5. Jun 8, 2011
    50
    His camp fire ramblings and angry rants soon become tiresome with much of Turner's fourth album feeling like material he has trod before.
  6. Jun 24, 2011
    80
    The wonderfully titled England Keep My Bones features some of the finest songs Frank has yet written. [4 Jun 2011, p.52]
  7. Jun 21, 2011
    40
    Certainly, these times demand an earnest folk-punk poet of the poeple, but Turner's tracts are a little too woolly to truly connect. [July 2011, p. 105]
  8. With the standard set, Turner brings an almost literal meaning to the notion of 'traditional English punk' and, as always, it's a fearless venture for an artist with something interesting to say.
  9. Jun 6, 2011
    84
    Smart young miscreants that have outgrown the Warped Tour but aren't ready for the Ted Leo back catalog could do worse, and acoustic rock fans that want more than somnolent campfire melodies couldn't do much better.
  10. Jun 28, 2011
    70
    England Keep My Bones is evidence enough that the Frank Turner train is still picking up speed, but how far it travels from here depends on how much the man at the controls wants to stick to themes which, for all their epic sweep, just aren't for everybody.
  11. Jun 6, 2011
    80
    Closing with the smart anti-hymn 'Glory Hallelujah', England Keep My Bones never falters. The soundtrack to this summer? Screw that--these songs will be soundtracking many of our lives for years to come.
  12. Jun 6, 2011
    80
    Frank Turner gives sincerity a good name on the rousing England Keep My Bones, an exclamation point in an increasingly brilliant career that ranges from early punk spew to more recent folkie testimony.
  13. Jun 6, 2011
    90
    England Keep My Bones finally gets the combination right and stands right alongside Love, Ire and Song as one of Frank Turner's best works.
  14. Jun 16, 2011
    80
    England Keep My Bones is bracing, and – in the end – oddly charming.
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    Possibly my favourite album of the year. Not one song I don't like to be honest. Some of Frank's best in 'I Still Believe', 'Peggy Sang ThePossibly my favourite album of the year. Not one song I don't like to be honest. Some of Frank's best in 'I Still Believe', 'Peggy Sang The Blues', 'I Am Disappeared' and 'Glory Hallelujah'. Also, I would recommend the deluxe version, since 'Song for Eva Mae' (especially) is up there with the best of the 12 standard tracks. Full Review »
  2. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Frank Turner does it again, after a few years wait England Keep my Bones is finally here and Frank has written his best album yet. With a wideFrank Turner does it again, after a few years wait England Keep my Bones is finally here and Frank has written his best album yet. With a wide variety of tracks from harder songs like "One Foot Before the Other" to softer tracks like "Nights Become Days" Full Review »