EP-1 - Pixies
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Dec 4, 2013
    60
    More late-or post-Pixies than early-Pixies, then. [Nov-Dec 2013, p.101]
  2. While it doesn’t reach the impossibly high standards of their back catalogue, there’s enough promise to suggest there are good times ahead.
  3. 60
    Three out of the four songs are at least enjoyable.
  4. Jan 16, 2014
    50
    EP1 was a mixed bag.
  5. 50
    If you stack this up against all the Pixies' previous output, it leaves a sour taste. But if you judge it simply on its own merits, it's a not-half-bad set of somewhat generic indie rock.
  6. Sep 11, 2013
    50
    At 48, Pixies singer Black Francis has either lost or abandoned his flair for sounding like the most unhinged man in indie rock.
  7. Sep 11, 2013
    50
    Recorded in Wales with longtime producer Gil Norton, the songs on EP1 contain none of the revelatory brilliance of the group’s original albums, nor even the invigorating kick of “Bagboy.”
  8. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    This music wasn’t just written or recorded without any regard to the quality of the Pixies legacy, it was done so without regard to songwriting quality at all.
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    The haters raise the issue of Pixies' "legacy." What is that legacy? An evolution of increasingly intricate, textured songs with impossiblyThe haters raise the issue of Pixies' "legacy." What is that legacy? An evolution of increasingly intricate, textured songs with impossibly gorgeous hooks. That's what you get with this EP. Even the relatively weak What Goes Boom stands up to heavy repeat listening. Indie Cindy will be the standout on this set deservedly so, it's instantly addicting, demanding repeat listenings from the get go but Another Toe may be the most lovely bubble gum song (and you haters, remember "Here Comes Your Man" and "Digging for Fire"? Bubble gum!) ever made deceptively simple on the first listen, and it just grows, like a rose, on repeat listens. Thank you Pixies! Full Review »
  2. Sep 14, 2013
    8
    Eh? I don't get it? Why all the negativity? I thought there were 4 great songs here, very Trompe le Monde with modern production. I justEh? I don't get it? Why all the negativity? I thought there were 4 great songs here, very Trompe le Monde with modern production. I just don't... Is it bitterness at Kim Deal leaving? Is it the fear that they will ruin their legacy? I don't know, I don't understand why it's being slated. What is this nonsense about their legacy anyway? Nobody was worried when MBV came out, everyone was euphoric and slightly demented with excitement, no talk about ruining the legacy of Loveless then, so why now? A band reforms, makes some music, it sounds good.... It doesn't risk ruinin gtheir legacy in any way, those albums are not going anywhere. Wake up in 2013 people Full Review »
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    7
    Most of the reviews of this record are garbage. If you're expecting The Pixies to sound like they did on their first 2 records... forget it.Most of the reviews of this record are garbage. If you're expecting The Pixies to sound like they did on their first 2 records... forget it. Change your expectations. If you've been following Frank Black over the years this EP makes complete sense and is truly enjoyable. This one is more for fans of songs in the vein of Abstract Plain than for those expecting more Crackity Jones. This EP is a nice treat and bodes well for the future of the band's now more mature song-writing styles, which may not be everyone's thing. Full Review »