EP-1 - Pixies
EP-1 Image
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The four-track EP was recorded in Wales with producer Gil Norton.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Dec 4, 2013
    60
    More late-or post-Pixies than early-Pixies, then. [Nov-Dec 2013, p.101]
  2. 60
    Three out of the four songs are at least enjoyable.
  3. While it doesn’t reach the impossibly high standards of their back catalogue, there’s enough promise to suggest there are good times ahead.
  4. Sep 11, 2013
    50
    Recorded in Wales with longtime producer Gil Norton, the songs on EP1 contain none of the revelatory brilliance of the group’s original albums, nor even the invigorating kick of “Bagboy.”
  5. 50
    If you stack this up against all the Pixies' previous output, it leaves a sour taste. But if you judge it simply on its own merits, it's a not-half-bad set of somewhat generic indie rock.
  6. Sep 11, 2013
    50
    At 48, Pixies singer Black Francis has either lost or abandoned his flair for sounding like the most unhinged man in indie rock.
  7. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    This music wasn’t just written or recorded without any regard to the quality of the Pixies legacy, it was done so without regard to songwriting quality at all.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    The haters raise the issue of Pixies' "legacy." What is that legacy? An evolution of increasingly intricate, textured songs with impossibly gorgeous hooks. That's what you get with this EP. Even the relatively weak What Goes Boom stands up to heavy repeat listening. Indie Cindy will be the standout on this set deservedly so, it's instantly addicting, demanding repeat listenings from the get go but Another Toe may be the most lovely bubble gum song (and you haters, remember "Here Comes Your Man" and "Digging for Fire"? Bubble gum!) ever made deceptively simple on the first listen, and it just grows, like a rose, on repeat listens. Thank you Pixies! Collapse
  2. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    Why have the critics slammed this? I think they've got it totally wrong, I love it. This is actually a very enjoyable set of songs from the Pixies. Andro Queen is a very pretty song, not typical Pixies but still a great song. The processed vocals lend it a spacy, out-of-world vibe. Indie Cindie has more of the shifting dynamic emelemts of a Pixies song, it would not be out of place on Tromp Le Monde. Another Toe in the Ocean is slightly filler-ish but still pretty decent and stands up just fine as part of this 4 set EP. What Goes Boom is a heavier crunchier Pixies song, again it would fit in quite well on Tromp Le Monde. Overall it's a very enjoyable set of songs, well worthy of the Pixies name. I'm a bit lukewarm on Black's solo stuff but this new Pixies stuff is good. The critics that are looking back at the past glories with rose tinted glasses need to be taken with a pinch of salt. I hope the Pixies put out more stuff like this because they definately still got it! Expand
  3. Jan 10, 2014
    8
    Great EP. Really don't get where all the critical hate is coming from. If you like Pixies at all, don't hesitate in picking this up. Does it have the same bite as some of their earlier material? Not at all. But that doesn't preclude it from being great. Expand
  4. Sep 14, 2013
    8
    Eh? I don't get it? Why all the negativity? I thought there were 4 great songs here, very Trompe le Monde with modern production. I just don't... Is it bitterness at Kim Deal leaving? Is it the fear that they will ruin their legacy? I don't know, I don't understand why it's being slated. What is this nonsense about their legacy anyway? Nobody was worried when MBV came out, everyone was euphoric and slightly demented with excitement, no talk about ruining the legacy of Loveless then, so why now? A band reforms, makes some music, it sounds good.... It doesn't risk ruinin gtheir legacy in any way, those albums are not going anywhere. Wake up in 2013 people Expand
  5. Sep 19, 2013
    7
    While I agree it is not the best stuff they have done, Indie City and Andro Queen are pretty top notch tunes. What Goes Boom and Another Toe in the Ocean are the weaker songs, but still a good, honest effort. Franks lyrics still make you think and Joey Santiago still rules on guitar. 7.5/10 Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2013
    7
    Most of the reviews of this record are garbage. If you're expecting The Pixies to sound like they did on their first 2 records... forget it. Change your expectations. If you've been following Frank Black over the years this EP makes complete sense and is truly enjoyable. This one is more for fans of songs in the vein of Abstract Plain than for those expecting more Crackity Jones. This EP is a nice treat and bodes well for the future of the band's now more mature song-writing styles, which may not be everyone's thing. Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2013
    3
    I have been listening to the Pixies for more than a decade and I must say, the Pixies never sounded this weak and uninspired. It is not just Kim Deal absence that is felt here, the (trippy) lyrics, the guitar sound (that amazing guitar sound, remember?), everything else is just unappealing. In fact, these songs are closer to Frank Black solo material than Pixies related. The thing is, calling his fellow musicians to play a Frank Black album doesn't make it a Pixies one, at all. It's ok if a band changes their sound, trying to pursue something new, but in this album my rock and roll heroes failed miserably, and I can accept that. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews