Era Vulgaris

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 189 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 189

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TomB
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    The best album of the decade. I know it's a weak decade but I would rank this album along side Surfer Rosa, Siamese Dream, and Daydream Nation. The riff for 3s and 7s reminisces of the lone, cutting perfection of the opening seconds of Smells Like Teen Spirit.
  2. Sarah
    Mar 30, 2008
    10
    Every song has a hook, line has a catch-Homme has rewarded loyal Queens fans with snarky eyeroll aimed at corruption in the music industry and an openmouthed kiss fill with tongue, sweat, saliva, and a heap of good cranking tunes.
  3. Hein
    Jun 15, 2007
    7
    I think this one is their weakest. But still a very good album!
  4. GaborA
    Jun 17, 2007
    7
    (7.5) I don't mind that Homme wears his influences on his sleeves more than ever. Some are subtle and fitting like the nirvana esque hook in the background of 3's and 7's. Some are more obvious like the toll ex tour buddy Trent Reznor makes on the first third of the album. Theres enough there to make these QOTSA songs, though. I don't mind the new stripped down (7.5) I don't mind that Homme wears his influences on his sleeves more than ever. Some are subtle and fitting like the nirvana esque hook in the background of 3's and 7's. Some are more obvious like the toll ex tour buddy Trent Reznor makes on the first third of the album. Theres enough there to make these QOTSA songs, though. I don't mind the new stripped down approach. I don't mind the new more mellow tone. But all this coupled with the fact that the album is 47 minutes with one desert sessions rehash evokes the feeling that this is a good album but i know more could have been done(ie APC's 13th step). The album makes perfect summer listening, but i fear that once the leaves start changing colors i may be reaching for other more complete and durable QOTSA albums. Expand
  5. LoganM
    Jun 14, 2007
    7
    As addicted to Queens of the Stone Age as I am, I am disapointed in this album, yet it's still good enough to earn a 7. I came to expect rock that has balls, along with catchy melodies, but this record seems to have less balls and no melody. It is much more industrial sounding a la NIN, and Homme's vocals aren't as good as the last record. Still, Queens is one of the only As addicted to Queens of the Stone Age as I am, I am disapointed in this album, yet it's still good enough to earn a 7. I came to expect rock that has balls, along with catchy melodies, but this record seems to have less balls and no melody. It is much more industrial sounding a la NIN, and Homme's vocals aren't as good as the last record. Still, Queens is one of the only bands that actually can rock. Expand
  6. J.PThompson
    Jun 15, 2007
    8
    Again, I was thrown off in which direction this album was heading. Awesome opening track then right into sick. I'm designer has so much swagger it makes me feel 10 feet tall. Hollow; catchy, but stale in a way. Misfit love and battery acid are ok. Picks back up with make it wichu and 3s & 7s. Suture is a great song with a bass line that kills. River in the road and run pig run make Again, I was thrown off in which direction this album was heading. Awesome opening track then right into sick. I'm designer has so much swagger it makes me feel 10 feet tall. Hollow; catchy, but stale in a way. Misfit love and battery acid are ok. Picks back up with make it wichu and 3s & 7s. Suture is a great song with a bass line that kills. River in the road and run pig run make me feel like im at the circus. 2 things that let me down about the album: 1. The title track era vulgaris should be on this album. I thought it would of flowed nice with the other songs 2. It's missing a bald headed bassist who likes to play naked....we miss you nick. Expand
  7. archv
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    Soooo queens are again on the top, guys. Look at the album - the cover, the songs, the lyrics....Homme at his best ! Suture up your future is the best ballad since "in the fade" Go Hommie, GO!
  8. jyotirmayad.
    Jul 7, 2007
    8
    Not bad, very sonic and I, unlike past Queen's albums, really really enjoy it -- not just play it because I bought it... Now i wish that Joshe Homme would grow his hair... he's Ozzy Osbourne status now!!!
  9. [Anonymous]
    May 31, 2007
    10
    this album is killer. it sounds a little like lullabies mixed with rated r mixed with something totally new. awesome.
  10. alih
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    full of intrigue and spine tinglingly good guitar. lullabies got better with every listen-so if this gets better it could be a classic. (PS era vulgaris got positive reviwes in amny british papers such as the daily telegraph and sunday times-add these scores)
  11. FelipeP
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    Simply the best rock album of 2007!
  12. AaronC
    Jun 14, 2007
    10
    Every QOTSA album progresses to a subtly different sound. Each equally as great as the last. Era Vugaris is a new overall sound. It's more of an electric, industrial sound. Except "I Wanna Make It Wit You" which came from the Desert Sessions 9&10. I do miss the metal element that Nick brought to the band though. Anyone who doesn't own each of QOTSA's albums should purchase Every QOTSA album progresses to a subtly different sound. Each equally as great as the last. Era Vugaris is a new overall sound. It's more of an electric, industrial sound. Except "I Wanna Make It Wit You" which came from the Desert Sessions 9&10. I do miss the metal element that Nick brought to the band though. Anyone who doesn't own each of QOTSA's albums should purchase them all cause your missing out on some classics. Collapse
  13. matt
    Jun 20, 2007
    9
    Definately a great album. A return to their early works. A work that grows on you the more you listen. Homme and crew are just getting better and better.
  14. TeagueS
    Jun 26, 2007
    8
    It's a break from their last album, but they've all been that way. It's not on the level of Lullabies in terms of sonic accomplishment, or SFTD in terms of continuous driving sound, but it is definitely a unique and satisfying album. You have to work to be able to pick out the flow of the cd, and the resolution of the constant dischord, but it's worth it. If you It's a break from their last album, but they've all been that way. It's not on the level of Lullabies in terms of sonic accomplishment, or SFTD in terms of continuous driving sound, but it is definitely a unique and satisfying album. You have to work to be able to pick out the flow of the cd, and the resolution of the constant dischord, but it's worth it. If you haven't already, give "3's and 7's" and "Battery Acid" another chance. Expand
  15. JorgeP
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    Josh Homme and gang have managed to distill the Queens Of the Stone Age sound into an excellent and outstanding record.Even though they received flak for Lullabies to Paralyze this record is a throwback to the lean, fast, riff driven songs of Rated R while combining the polished elements of Lullabies.Basically, if the first song doesn't grab you,the next one will, or the one after Josh Homme and gang have managed to distill the Queens Of the Stone Age sound into an excellent and outstanding record.Even though they received flak for Lullabies to Paralyze this record is a throwback to the lean, fast, riff driven songs of Rated R while combining the polished elements of Lullabies.Basically, if the first song doesn't grab you,the next one will, or the one after that, or the one after that....End to end genius! Expand
  16. StevenS.
    Apr 3, 2008
    9
    I love this album, it's better than lullabies (which was great) and it's equal with songs for the deaf, it's absolutely addictive... kinda hard to explain what it sounds like... it's still QOTSA, but it's definitely unique, sometimes i even hear a little core-era STP influence, anyway, just buy it, it's awesome
  17. Ikarus14
    Dec 5, 2009
    8
    The sound and direction are questionable, but it's still a great album.
  18. TtKKjj
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    It's really f*cking good. Most powerful drums since In Utero.
  19. Joris
    Dec 1, 2007
    8
    Intense and solid, especially the latter half of the album is very good, leaves room for some dark experimentation. While the opener Turning On The Screw somehow sounds lazy and Make it with Chu draws to hard on the same repetitive line until it becomes boring, Suture Up Your Future has to be one of QOTSA's finest songs to date, other favourites are River In The Road, Run Pig Run and Intense and solid, especially the latter half of the album is very good, leaves room for some dark experimentation. While the opener Turning On The Screw somehow sounds lazy and Make it with Chu draws to hard on the same repetitive line until it becomes boring, Suture Up Your Future has to be one of QOTSA's finest songs to date, other favourites are River In The Road, Run Pig Run and Sick Sick Sick. Re"commended. Expand
  20. JohnH.
    Dec 31, 2007
    9
    Era Vulgaris is a totally different sound than any other QOTSA album, it sounds almost industrial, a bit like Nine Inch Nails. A fun cd to crank up in your car.
  21. jimboj
    May 26, 2007
    9
    weird and wonderful. catchy like malaria. josh homme does it again.
  22. KevinM
    Jun 12, 2007
    9
    This is perhaps one of the strongest Queens of the Stone Age albums song for song. Each is memorable, focused, and purposeful (save the slightly self-indulgent "Battery Acid"). This is the cream of the crop when it comes to mainstream rock so enjoy it. Stand out tracks include: Turnin' on the Screw, Make It Wit Chu, and Suture Up Your Future.
  23. RobL
    Jun 14, 2007
    9
    you can only make an album of "crunchy" guitars with radio ready singles so many times in ones career. Bands change. Get over it. Those of you scepticle about the guitar? Learn to play one, teach yourselves these songs and call yourself an idiot. Those of you who enjoy the ever-lessening tones of Nirvana in modern day music, please join me in welcoming this new era of QOTSA.
  24. Mlfnk
    Jun 15, 2007
    9
    It's a step away from the somewhat straighter formula that made the first three records great. It's a good step though. So far I consider this their second best album to date.
  25. nelsonb
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    this is one of the best albums I've heard this year. Rock and Roll at it's prime, you would never get tired of it.
  26. AustinT
    Jun 16, 2007
    10
    Great album, the mixture of industrial, hard rock, and psychedelic rock is the best thing that I've heard all year. It is impossible to get bored with this album.
  27. Aditya
    Jun 17, 2007
    10
    This album easily beats out other rock albums released this year..Really gripping stuff..U never know how Josh Homme comes out with such infectious, groovy riffs..Standout tracks are 3's and 7's, Turning on the Screw, Into the Hollow, Misfit Love and Sick, Sick, Sick..a must buy album for any rock fans!!
  28. roberta
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    this album is superb in every possible way and they continue to find some clever ways to do a pretty dumb thinngs.
  29. nicob
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    very awesome album. although sick sick sick is probably the weakest song on the album. I wish more bands would release extra tracks in the US albums...and you wonder why we download ? Era Vulgaris, and goin' out west are really good but nowhere on this cd....Anyways. track breakdown: Turning of the Screw - awesome simple old-school rockin with uber fuzzy bass (drools) sick sick sick very awesome album. although sick sick sick is probably the weakest song on the album. I wish more bands would release extra tracks in the US albums...and you wonder why we download ? Era Vulgaris, and goin' out west are really good but nowhere on this cd....Anyways. track breakdown: Turning of the Screw - awesome simple old-school rockin with uber fuzzy bass (drools) sick sick sick - catchy single track...a bit too dronish for my taste after awhile though. I'm designer - is hardcore rockin' song about how we all only want to be famous and not work (sounds alot like EODM) suture up your future...very good as well... into the hollow...like a drive away from an ex in the desert... 3's & 7's - also a very awesome downbeat funky groove Expand
  30. Danny
    Jun 20, 2007
    7
    This album grows on you like a rash.
  31. AndrewH
    Jun 20, 2007
    10
    Luv the album. I own the 2 prior albums to this one and I have to say this one is the best of the 3. The songs seem to go all over the place at times which is a positive imo, I hate songs that are predictable. I can say I like every one of the songs which I can't say about the other 2 albums, but I luv Sick, Sick, Sick; Make Out Wit Chu; 3's & 7's; and Suture in my Future. Luv the album. I own the 2 prior albums to this one and I have to say this one is the best of the 3. The songs seem to go all over the place at times which is a positive imo, I hate songs that are predictable. I can say I like every one of the songs which I can't say about the other 2 albums, but I luv Sick, Sick, Sick; Make Out Wit Chu; 3's & 7's; and Suture in my Future. Great album, must buy. Expand
  32. AlessandraD
    Jun 22, 2007
    10
    awesomely different, they rock on a whole new level.
  33. sandere
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    This is simply the best album 2007 has seen so far. Josh Homme once again pushes the bounderies of modern rock in his well familiar genius way
  34. MartinusB
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    kick ass album. qotsa and josh homme kicks ass!!!!!!
  35. seand
    Jul 29, 2007
    8
    personally i thought this one was a huge improvement over the bloated and slow lullabies. that record is still pretty awesome but this just has the energy put back into queens
  36. ChrisK.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    Best album of the year, as far as I'm concerned. The riffs, the beats, the lyrics are all fantastic.
  37. HectorA.
    Jan 10, 2008
    8
    Not their most strongest album, but it is addicting and it grows on you. Pretty much a decent QOTSA album.
  38. WillR.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    Homme's best work yet!
  39. MarkK.
    Feb 8, 2008
    9
    At times, the album seems to wonder away from it's path a little, but this is still Queens Of The Stone Age at their best.
  40. elkh
    May 28, 2007
    9
    Best bunch of songs since they were writing for the deaf....and dead.
  41. BenJ
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    As if pitchfork media didn't make a whole lot of sense before.. they've done it again here... too much all at once? This is the same site that gave 'kid a' a ten right? Get your noses out of the air, your predispositions away and a pair of headphones on... this album is magnificent.. it's my favorite since rated R.
  42. EricS.
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    This is definitely one of the best albums I have heard in a long time. Killer queens.
  43. nedp
    Jun 14, 2007
    10
    one of the best (if not the best) albums of the decade
  44. slugsareburning
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    feel good hit of the summer
  45. quetzalp
    Jun 16, 2007
    10
    one of the best albums of the decade. Era Vulgaris is intricately crafted, meticulously polished and ruthlessly efficient in its pursuit of depraved rock thrills.
  46. jorjbush
    Jun 16, 2007
    9
    it's ok, a new kind of experiment from holmes.. i want to make it with chu is the greatest song
  47. bradyl
    Jun 17, 2007
    9
    to all the people who don't dig, give it a couple more spins a lot of the songs are better if you listen very carefully, especially to songs like 3's and 7's and I'm designer if you don't like sick, sick, sick or misfit love you don't have a soul, and I'm glad you don't like queens because I don't want to be associated with you in any way.
  48. Daveage
    Jun 17, 2007
    9
    queens of the stone age are back need i say anything else
  49. ScottB
    Jun 20, 2007
    10
    Fantastic and fearless.
  50. JohnM
    Jun 25, 2007
    9
    I am a relatively recent QOTSA fan (I came on board for Lullabies). As such, I am not really judging this album in comparison to their older catalogue; I'm judging it based on its own merits, which are legion. Although I don't think they are doing "dumb things in clever ways" as a reviewer and a listener have said. There is nothing "dumb" about this album, which I can't I am a relatively recent QOTSA fan (I came on board for Lullabies). As such, I am not really judging this album in comparison to their older catalogue; I'm judging it based on its own merits, which are legion. Although I don't think they are doing "dumb things in clever ways" as a reviewer and a listener have said. There is nothing "dumb" about this album, which I can't stop listening to, despite the fact i have two other new albums I thought I'd like more... this one keeps spinning and spinning. A great album, especially 3's & 7's, I'm Designer, and River in the Road... Expand
  51. MelS
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    This is the best Queens album so far and seeing as they're the best modern rock group out there right now, it's probably the best rock record of 2007.
  52. RichR.
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    Josh is one of the great all-time American rockers, just like Jack White is. Instantly recognizable as obviously QOTSA, this record just shreds, and the riffs can be hilarious. People who don't like this just plain don't like to rock!
  53. Spin
    Jul 18, 2007
    8
    This shit grows on you. its creepy.
  54. JamesA
    Jul 22, 2007
    8
    It is very difficult to describe this album. This is not easy listening, or grabbing music. This is their most difficult record to get into. But once the melodies cycle themselves in your head a few times it becomes like an unstoppable force. "I'm Designer" is my personal favourite. Highly recommended if you are patient and don't rely on hooks to take the bait.
  55. JohnTheFisherman
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    Queens of the Stone Age give rock n' roll a taste of their Misfit Love. Awesome album.
  56. stunnastun
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    They always find a way to top their last album great work.
  57. Anonymous
    Jan 10, 2008
    8
    A pretty much decent album from Qotsa. Although I do miss the guitar riffs from the previous albums, the sounds sound just good enough. Mostly every song on this album is pretty average to decent. But still, a good Queens of the stone age album that I wouldn't mind buying.
  58. ChrisK
    Jul 20, 2009
    8
    QOTSA probably couldn't make a bad album even if they tried! This album is great, as you'd expect, just let down a bit by 1 or 2 of the songs...but with tunes like '3's and 7's' and 'Sick, Sick, Sick', you've got yourself a good deal. Also, the album's artwork is so cool!
  59. ralphlauren
    May 29, 2007
    10
    If you don't like this album you don't like rock and roll.
  60. BryanS
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    Not a throwaway in the whole lot! Hits real hard
  61. mikes.
    Jun 11, 2007
    8
    a great album from qotsa and their personal best. This album sounds more grohl influenced as some songs remind me o "in utero" from nirvana. This release is much more raw and experimental as well. Strikes a perfect blend of experimentation with straight up rock n roll. One of the best rock albums so far this year.
  62. TedJ
    Jun 12, 2007
    9
    this album is dirty, dark, and sexy. in sum, it is what qotsa have always aspired to be. it is definitely the crunchiest and fuzziest queens album. like "songs for the deaf", "era vulgaris" has a really distinctive drum sound throughout, although in a much different way: while grohl's beats in "songs" sounded flat and hollow--not in a bad way, necessarily--castillo's pounding is this album is dirty, dark, and sexy. in sum, it is what qotsa have always aspired to be. it is definitely the crunchiest and fuzziest queens album. like "songs for the deaf", "era vulgaris" has a really distinctive drum sound throughout, although in a much different way: while grohl's beats in "songs" sounded flat and hollow--not in a bad way, necessarily--castillo's pounding is all skull-bashing crunch, sounding almost machine-like at times. and the guitar sounds are tweaked to nasty! the album is melodic and electric. as always, homme's airy, detached vocals provide a nice contrast to the searing riffs and rhythms. highlights: "sick, sick, sick", "into the hollow", "make it wit chu", and "turning on the screw". Expand
  63. meathammer
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    Best thing going rock right now....not a track on here I would skip.
  64. RyanZ
    Jun 12, 2007
    9
    While Songs for the Deaf seems to be the most critically lauded QOTSA record, both this and LTP work much better as a whole from start to finish. It flows extremely well, is tighter than usual at 11 tracks, and shows excellent variety and growth.
  65. V.Z.
    Jun 15, 2007
    8
    Half of the tracks are extremely good, the other half is alright. The band doesn't offer that much new on this one, which is a bit of a disappointment. But what it offers rocks and is a lot of fun.
  66. AmitS
    Jun 19, 2007
    9
    As far as albums go this is Queens of the Stone Age's strongest album to date. It is a piece of art in which have reintroduced some key aspects of their back-catalogue as well as providing a progression in sound, writing, arrangements and creativity. Like most Queens of the Stone Age's albums, the weaker songs appear to be the single releases and delving into the album will As far as albums go this is Queens of the Stone Age's strongest album to date. It is a piece of art in which have reintroduced some key aspects of their back-catalogue as well as providing a progression in sound, writing, arrangements and creativity. Like most Queens of the Stone Age's albums, the weaker songs appear to be the single releases and delving into the album will reveal some juicy fruit ready for consumption. Enjoy. Expand
  67. skyv
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    fucking amazing
  68. TopCityKrew
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    This album is amazing. Some of the songs at first didn't sound too great, "I'm Designer" "Misfit Love" but after a couple listens, you really feel them. Homme freshens up his sound and I really think this may be better than SftD, well probably not, but very close.
  69. ligv.
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    Hated the record on first listen....... 4th listen made it hit with ridiculous force. This is by far the best rock record release of 2007. favourite track.....Misfit Love. Australian release has all the tracks unlike US version. Rock N Roll!! Where's the next installment of the Desert Sessions?
  70. LucasC
    Jul 31, 2007
    9
    Amazing!
  71. BL
    Aug 14, 2007
    9
    Another different album from QOTSA containing great, occasionally weird songs. I have the Canadian version, that ends with Run Pig Run so I downloaded Running Joke and the title track which add on perfectly to the end of the album. This album is definitely not Songs for the Deaf part 2, so I can see why someone wanting that would be disappointed. That said, I think this album is excellent.
  72. VincentV.
    Dec 23, 2007
    9
    Great album, QOTSA can still do it. I like 'Make it with Chu' the best song. The best rock album released in 2007.
  73. j30
    Sep 4, 2011
    7
    Good album from a great band. I was blown away by their earlier work (QOTSA, Rated R, and Songs for the Deaf), nothing has been nearly as good since then. This feels like they're trying to reinvent themselves and I'll be interested to hear where they go from here.
  74. May 28, 2013
    9
    The public knows how to listen. The Metacritic puts them over the criticism is appropriate, in order to raise or lower the value of an album (Village Voice-30??). Do not believe what these guys shove here!
    Many people will follow them, because in reality does not listen music, unfortunately most are well on Metacritic thankfully is not the case, but I believe it would be a good bores up,
    The public knows how to listen. The Metacritic puts them over the criticism is appropriate, in order to raise or lower the value of an album (Village Voice-30??). Do not believe what these guys shove here!
    Many people will follow them, because in reality does not listen music, unfortunately most are well on Metacritic thankfully is not the case, but I believe it would be a good bores up, if it were not such asses to vote here too.
    talking about the album over itself, just a song I did not enter the ear and this is the 3 & 7 which happens to be single, but I do not like, only the last few seconds of the song are worth listening to is too commercial for my ears
    Expand
  75. Jul 1, 2013
    9
    I thought Lullabies to Paralyze was a disappointing album, truthfully. It lacked the QotSA charm and style and seemed rather bland in general. In order to make a triumphant comeback, the QotSA needed to adopted a new and fresh angle on their classic style. And this is exactly what they did.

    Era Vulgaris is one of the best QotSA albums around. Everything about it is unique and downright
    I thought Lullabies to Paralyze was a disappointing album, truthfully. It lacked the QotSA charm and style and seemed rather bland in general. In order to make a triumphant comeback, the QotSA needed to adopted a new and fresh angle on their classic style. And this is exactly what they did.

    Era Vulgaris is one of the best QotSA albums around. Everything about it is unique and downright awesome. There's a certain buzzy/fuzzy noise that makes everything sound low budget, but that's just the style they adopted, and it's awesome.
    Songs like "Sick, Sick, Sick" and "3s and 7s" are some of the band's best songs to date, however other more obscure songs like "I'm Designer" also have become some of my favorites.

    Quality music all around. The only songs that are lacking are "Battery Acid" and "Misfit Love". Other than that, everything is golden.
    Expand
  76. Feb 6, 2014
    9
    It pains me to say that this is "my least favourite QOTSA album", but it probably is. I say this as if it's a bad album, but it really isn't, it's a brilliant album, it's just not as good as their old stuff, which is a pretty stupid insult to be honest.
  77. Jan 12, 2015
    9
    Okay, straight up, this album gets WAY more hate that it deserves. Sure it's not the masterpiece that "Songs for the Deaf" was, but this is still a very good album from a very good group. It's weird and **** up, but it's so great because of that. Tracks like "Sick, Sick, Sick", "I'm Designer", "Make it wit Chu", and "3's and 7's" are my favorites on the album, and most of everything elseOkay, straight up, this album gets WAY more hate that it deserves. Sure it's not the masterpiece that "Songs for the Deaf" was, but this is still a very good album from a very good group. It's weird and **** up, but it's so great because of that. Tracks like "Sick, Sick, Sick", "I'm Designer", "Make it wit Chu", and "3's and 7's" are my favorites on the album, and most of everything else is also really great and trippy. In a ranking of all their albums, the list would go "Songs for the Deaf", "Queens of the Stone Age (self-titled)", "...Like Clockwork", "Rated R", "Era Vulgaris", and "Lullabies to Paralyze". All great albums, mind you. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. If Lullabies To Paralyze was a strange forest fairytale dusted with desert blues courtesy of Billy Gibbons, Era Vulgaris finds the band holed up in an abandoned funkhouse in the centre of a shady copse, waiting for some strange sexually-contracted fever to pass.
  2. Homme's ever-catchy formula remains, but the mood is uneasy and brooding, with tracks such as 'Sick, Sick, Sick' revealing a venomous new band that's finally learned to separate business and pleasure.
  3. Era Vulgaris is Homme's fifth Queens album, and like the others, it's intricately crafted, meticulously polished and ruthlessly efficient in its pursuit of depraved rock thrills.