User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 179 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 179

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 12, 2015
    9
    Okay, straight up, this album gets WAY more hate that it deserves. Sure it's not the masterpiece that "Songs for the Deaf" was, but this is still a very good album from a very good group. It's weird and **** up, but it's so great because of that. Tracks like "Sick, Sick, Sick", "I'm Designer", "Make it wit Chu", and "3's and 7's" are my favorites on the album, and most of everything elseOkay, straight up, this album gets WAY more hate that it deserves. Sure it's not the masterpiece that "Songs for the Deaf" was, but this is still a very good album from a very good group. It's weird and **** up, but it's so great because of that. Tracks like "Sick, Sick, Sick", "I'm Designer", "Make it wit Chu", and "3's and 7's" are my favorites on the album, and most of everything else is also really great and trippy. In a ranking of all their albums, the list would go "Songs for the Deaf", "Queens of the Stone Age (self-titled)", "...Like Clockwork", "Rated R", "Era Vulgaris", and "Lullabies to Paralyze". All great albums, mind you. Expand
  2. Dec 12, 2014
    6
    After the disappointing "Lullabies To Paralyze" all eyes were on Josh Homme to see if he would resurrect QOTSA or continue on down the slippery slope. The resurrection would have to wait until 2013's "Like Clockwork" as Era Vulgaris is in a similar vein to "Lullabies" - yes it is heavy but almost just for the sake of it and generally is quite a dull affair. Where "Era.." bests itsAfter the disappointing "Lullabies To Paralyze" all eyes were on Josh Homme to see if he would resurrect QOTSA or continue on down the slippery slope. The resurrection would have to wait until 2013's "Like Clockwork" as Era Vulgaris is in a similar vein to "Lullabies" - yes it is heavy but almost just for the sake of it and generally is quite a dull affair. Where "Era.." bests its predecessor is that it is set at a quicker pace and has a bit more urgency about it. It also sees the band go down a few new avenues. Where it pales nest to "Lullabies..." is that it is completely devoid of singles or anything close to a belter of a tune. Too often the songs are flogged to death and far outstay their welcome. "River in the Road" is a great song but outside of that one I'm struggling to name anything worth going back to. Expand
  3. Feb 6, 2014
    9
    It pains me to say that this is "my least favourite QOTSA album", but it probably is. I say this as if it's a bad album, but it really isn't, it's a brilliant album, it's just not as good as their old stuff, which is a pretty stupid insult to be honest.
  4. Jul 1, 2013
    9
    I thought Lullabies to Paralyze was a disappointing album, truthfully. It lacked the QotSA charm and style and seemed rather bland in general. In order to make a triumphant comeback, the QotSA needed to adopted a new and fresh angle on their classic style. And this is exactly what they did.

    Era Vulgaris is one of the best QotSA albums around. Everything about it is unique and downright
    I thought Lullabies to Paralyze was a disappointing album, truthfully. It lacked the QotSA charm and style and seemed rather bland in general. In order to make a triumphant comeback, the QotSA needed to adopted a new and fresh angle on their classic style. And this is exactly what they did.

    Era Vulgaris is one of the best QotSA albums around. Everything about it is unique and downright awesome. There's a certain buzzy/fuzzy noise that makes everything sound low budget, but that's just the style they adopted, and it's awesome.
    Songs like "Sick, Sick, Sick" and "3s and 7s" are some of the band's best songs to date, however other more obscure songs like "I'm Designer" also have become some of my favorites.

    Quality music all around. The only songs that are lacking are "Battery Acid" and "Misfit Love". Other than that, everything is golden.
    Expand
  5. May 28, 2013
    9
    The public knows how to listen. The Metacritic puts them over the criticism is appropriate, in order to raise or lower the value of an album (Village Voice-30??). Do not believe what these guys shove here!
    Many people will follow them, because in reality does not listen music, unfortunately most are well on Metacritic thankfully is not the case, but I believe it would be a good bores up,
    The public knows how to listen. The Metacritic puts them over the criticism is appropriate, in order to raise or lower the value of an album (Village Voice-30??). Do not believe what these guys shove here!
    Many people will follow them, because in reality does not listen music, unfortunately most are well on Metacritic thankfully is not the case, but I believe it would be a good bores up, if it were not such asses to vote here too.
    talking about the album over itself, just a song I did not enter the ear and this is the 3 & 7 which happens to be single, but I do not like, only the last few seconds of the song are worth listening to is too commercial for my ears
    Expand
  6. Jul 24, 2012
    6
    Quirky but hard to love, let's hope it'll be beaten by their upcoming album (this year?! Please!) There's no denying there's something missing between the screeching guitars and bizarre fuzz... Been a long time since Rated R, huh?
  7. j30
    Sep 4, 2011
    7
    Good album from a great band. I was blown away by their earlier work (QOTSA, Rated R, and Songs for the Deaf), nothing has been nearly as good since then. This feels like they're trying to reinvent themselves and I'll be interested to hear where they go from here.
  8. Ikarus14
    Dec 5, 2009
    8
    The sound and direction are questionable, but it's still a great album.
  9. TomB
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    The best album of the decade. I know it's a weak decade but I would rank this album along side Surfer Rosa, Siamese Dream, and Daydream Nation. The riff for 3s and 7s reminisces of the lone, cutting perfection of the opening seconds of Smells Like Teen Spirit.
  10. GuidedByVoices
    Aug 24, 2009
    5
    it's not crap, but it isn't a good album neither, they always suck from a lot of sources to build great songs, here they were looking for third rate bands,and they got second hand songs, QOTSA fanboys, is It as good as previous albums?, here they are as skilled as always, but skill is not all in a song, honestly, after beasts such as lullabies or rated I expected a lot more, I it's not crap, but it isn't a good album neither, they always suck from a lot of sources to build great songs, here they were looking for third rate bands,and they got second hand songs, QOTSA fanboys, is It as good as previous albums?, here they are as skilled as always, but skill is not all in a song, honestly, after beasts such as lullabies or rated I expected a lot more, I see very high scores for the album, sure you give everything that's brand newfive stars. Expand
  11. ChrisK
    Jul 20, 2009
    8
    QOTSA probably couldn't make a bad album even if they tried! This album is great, as you'd expect, just let down a bit by 1 or 2 of the songs...but with tunes like '3's and 7's' and 'Sick, Sick, Sick', you've got yourself a good deal. Also, the album's artwork is so cool!
  12. StevenS.
    Apr 3, 2008
    9
    I love this album, it's better than lullabies (which was great) and it's equal with songs for the deaf, it's absolutely addictive... kinda hard to explain what it sounds like... it's still QOTSA, but it's definitely unique, sometimes i even hear a little core-era STP influence, anyway, just buy it, it's awesome
  13. Sarah
    Mar 30, 2008
    10
    Every song has a hook, line has a catch-Homme has rewarded loyal Queens fans with snarky eyeroll aimed at corruption in the music industry and an openmouthed kiss fill with tongue, sweat, saliva, and a heap of good cranking tunes.
  14. MarkK.
    Feb 8, 2008
    9
    At times, the album seems to wonder away from it's path a little, but this is still Queens Of The Stone Age at their best.
  15. Anonymous
    Jan 10, 2008
    8
    A pretty much decent album from Qotsa. Although I do miss the guitar riffs from the previous albums, the sounds sound just good enough. Mostly every song on this album is pretty average to decent. But still, a good Queens of the stone age album that I wouldn't mind buying.
  16. HectorA.
    Jan 10, 2008
    8
    Not their most strongest album, but it is addicting and it grows on you. Pretty much a decent QOTSA album.
  17. WillR.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    Homme's best work yet!
  18. JohnH.
    Dec 31, 2007
    9
    Era Vulgaris is a totally different sound than any other QOTSA album, it sounds almost industrial, a bit like Nine Inch Nails. A fun cd to crank up in your car.
  19. VincentV.
    Dec 23, 2007
    9
    Great album, QOTSA can still do it. I like 'Make it with Chu' the best song. The best rock album released in 2007.
  20. Joris
    Dec 1, 2007
    8
    Intense and solid, especially the latter half of the album is very good, leaves room for some dark experimentation. While the opener Turning On The Screw somehow sounds lazy and Make it with Chu draws to hard on the same repetitive line until it becomes boring, Suture Up Your Future has to be one of QOTSA's finest songs to date, other favourites are River In The Road, Run Pig Run and Intense and solid, especially the latter half of the album is very good, leaves room for some dark experimentation. While the opener Turning On The Screw somehow sounds lazy and Make it with Chu draws to hard on the same repetitive line until it becomes boring, Suture Up Your Future has to be one of QOTSA's finest songs to date, other favourites are River In The Road, Run Pig Run and Sick Sick Sick. Re"commended. Expand
  21. moonwaffle
    Nov 8, 2007
    5
    I've always been conflicted about qotsa. it seems like everyone one of their albums bears a meager handful of amazing songs, brilliant in their simplicity, and way more that i could hardly care less about. 'misfit love' and "3's & 7's" are essential. the rest sounds like a mix of stone temple pilot songs and really grating robot rock. it's worth a purchase, I've always been conflicted about qotsa. it seems like everyone one of their albums bears a meager handful of amazing songs, brilliant in their simplicity, and way more that i could hardly care less about. 'misfit love' and "3's & 7's" are essential. the rest sounds like a mix of stone temple pilot songs and really grating robot rock. it's worth a purchase, just barely though. Expand
  22. TtKKjj
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    It's really f*cking good. Most powerful drums since In Utero.
  23. stunnastun
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    They always find a way to top their last album great work.
  24. BL
    Aug 14, 2007
    9
    Another different album from QOTSA containing great, occasionally weird songs. I have the Canadian version, that ends with Run Pig Run so I downloaded Running Joke and the title track which add on perfectly to the end of the album. This album is definitely not Songs for the Deaf part 2, so I can see why someone wanting that would be disappointed. That said, I think this album is excellent.
  25. LucasC
    Jul 31, 2007
    9
    Amazing!
  26. seand
    Jul 29, 2007
    8
    personally i thought this one was a huge improvement over the bloated and slow lullabies. that record is still pretty awesome but this just has the energy put back into queens
  27. MartinusB
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    kick ass album. qotsa and josh homme kicks ass!!!!!!
  28. JamesA
    Jul 22, 2007
    8
    It is very difficult to describe this album. This is not easy listening, or grabbing music. This is their most difficult record to get into. But once the melodies cycle themselves in your head a few times it becomes like an unstoppable force. "I'm Designer" is my personal favourite. Highly recommended if you are patient and don't rely on hooks to take the bait.
  29. AndrewA
    Jul 19, 2007
    4
    Boring and flat, this is their weakest album. Most of the songs go nowhere. Apparently, now that Holmes is "alone" he needs a hand to help him pen some songs.
  30. Spin
    Jul 18, 2007
    8
    This shit grows on you. its creepy.
  31. ligv.
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    Hated the record on first listen....... 4th listen made it hit with ridiculous force. This is by far the best rock record release of 2007. favourite track.....Misfit Love. Australian release has all the tracks unlike US version. Rock N Roll!! Where's the next installment of the Desert Sessions?
  32. RichR.
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    Josh is one of the great all-time American rockers, just like Jack White is. Instantly recognizable as obviously QOTSA, this record just shreds, and the riffs can be hilarious. People who don't like this just plain don't like to rock!
  33. JohnTheFisherman
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    Queens of the Stone Age give rock n' roll a taste of their Misfit Love. Awesome album.
  34. ChrisK.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    Best album of the year, as far as I'm concerned. The riffs, the beats, the lyrics are all fantastic.
  35. jyotirmayad.
    Jul 7, 2007
    8
    Not bad, very sonic and I, unlike past Queen's albums, really really enjoy it -- not just play it because I bought it... Now i wish that Joshe Homme would grow his hair... he's Ozzy Osbourne status now!!!
  36. TeagueS
    Jun 26, 2007
    8
    It's a break from their last album, but they've all been that way. It's not on the level of Lullabies in terms of sonic accomplishment, or SFTD in terms of continuous driving sound, but it is definitely a unique and satisfying album. You have to work to be able to pick out the flow of the cd, and the resolution of the constant dischord, but it's worth it. If you It's a break from their last album, but they've all been that way. It's not on the level of Lullabies in terms of sonic accomplishment, or SFTD in terms of continuous driving sound, but it is definitely a unique and satisfying album. You have to work to be able to pick out the flow of the cd, and the resolution of the constant dischord, but it's worth it. If you haven't already, give "3's and 7's" and "Battery Acid" another chance. Expand
  37. JohnM
    Jun 25, 2007
    9
    I am a relatively recent QOTSA fan (I came on board for Lullabies). As such, I am not really judging this album in comparison to their older catalogue; I'm judging it based on its own merits, which are legion. Although I don't think they are doing "dumb things in clever ways" as a reviewer and a listener have said. There is nothing "dumb" about this album, which I can't I am a relatively recent QOTSA fan (I came on board for Lullabies). As such, I am not really judging this album in comparison to their older catalogue; I'm judging it based on its own merits, which are legion. Although I don't think they are doing "dumb things in clever ways" as a reviewer and a listener have said. There is nothing "dumb" about this album, which I can't stop listening to, despite the fact i have two other new albums I thought I'd like more... this one keeps spinning and spinning. A great album, especially 3's & 7's, I'm Designer, and River in the Road... Expand
  38. AlessandraD
    Jun 22, 2007
    10
    awesomely different, they rock on a whole new level.
  39. TopCityKrew
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    This album is amazing. Some of the songs at first didn't sound too great, "I'm Designer" "Misfit Love" but after a couple listens, you really feel them. Homme freshens up his sound and I really think this may be better than SftD, well probably not, but very close.
  40. nicob
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    very awesome album. although sick sick sick is probably the weakest song on the album. I wish more bands would release extra tracks in the US albums...and you wonder why we download ? Era Vulgaris, and goin' out west are really good but nowhere on this cd....Anyways. track breakdown: Turning of the Screw - awesome simple old-school rockin with uber fuzzy bass (drools) sick sick sick very awesome album. although sick sick sick is probably the weakest song on the album. I wish more bands would release extra tracks in the US albums...and you wonder why we download ? Era Vulgaris, and goin' out west are really good but nowhere on this cd....Anyways. track breakdown: Turning of the Screw - awesome simple old-school rockin with uber fuzzy bass (drools) sick sick sick - catchy single track...a bit too dronish for my taste after awhile though. I'm designer - is hardcore rockin' song about how we all only want to be famous and not work (sounds alot like EODM) suture up your future...very good as well... into the hollow...like a drive away from an ex in the desert... 3's & 7's - also a very awesome downbeat funky groove Expand
  41. AndrewH
    Jun 20, 2007
    10
    Luv the album. I own the 2 prior albums to this one and I have to say this one is the best of the 3. The songs seem to go all over the place at times which is a positive imo, I hate songs that are predictable. I can say I like every one of the songs which I can't say about the other 2 albums, but I luv Sick, Sick, Sick; Make Out Wit Chu; 3's & 7's; and Suture in my Future. Luv the album. I own the 2 prior albums to this one and I have to say this one is the best of the 3. The songs seem to go all over the place at times which is a positive imo, I hate songs that are predictable. I can say I like every one of the songs which I can't say about the other 2 albums, but I luv Sick, Sick, Sick; Make Out Wit Chu; 3's & 7's; and Suture in my Future. Great album, must buy. Expand
  42. ScottB
    Jun 20, 2007
    10
    Fantastic and fearless.
  43. Danny
    Jun 20, 2007
    7
    This album grows on you like a rash.
  44. matt
    Jun 20, 2007
    9
    Definately a great album. A return to their early works. A work that grows on you the more you listen. Homme and crew are just getting better and better.
  45. skyv
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    fucking amazing
  46. AmitS
    Jun 19, 2007
    9
    As far as albums go this is Queens of the Stone Age's strongest album to date. It is a piece of art in which have reintroduced some key aspects of their back-catalogue as well as providing a progression in sound, writing, arrangements and creativity. Like most Queens of the Stone Age's albums, the weaker songs appear to be the single releases and delving into the album will As far as albums go this is Queens of the Stone Age's strongest album to date. It is a piece of art in which have reintroduced some key aspects of their back-catalogue as well as providing a progression in sound, writing, arrangements and creativity. Like most Queens of the Stone Age's albums, the weaker songs appear to be the single releases and delving into the album will reveal some juicy fruit ready for consumption. Enjoy. Expand
  47. Glen
    Jun 19, 2007
    3
    worst queens album thus far, wheres olveri when you need him
  48. roberta
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    this album is superb in every possible way and they continue to find some clever ways to do a pretty dumb thinngs.
  49. marcg
    Jun 18, 2007
    6
    just correct...no more.
  50. TravisH
    Jun 18, 2007
    4
    Let me start off by saying QOTSA is probably my favorite band of all time. I was so excited to get this album but it just falls flat. The songs seem to be a jumble of riffs that never go anywhere. After seeing Kyuss perform many moons ago i instantly fell in love with this style of music that was so unique and groundbreaking. Maybe it will grow on me but i doubt it. Rehashing the desert Let me start off by saying QOTSA is probably my favorite band of all time. I was so excited to get this album but it just falls flat. The songs seem to be a jumble of riffs that never go anywhere. After seeing Kyuss perform many moons ago i instantly fell in love with this style of music that was so unique and groundbreaking. Maybe it will grow on me but i doubt it. Rehashing the desert sessions does not a good album make. Sorry Holmes, I'm not feeling this one. Expand
  51. bradyl
    Jun 17, 2007
    9
    to all the people who don't dig, give it a couple more spins a lot of the songs are better if you listen very carefully, especially to songs like 3's and 7's and I'm designer if you don't like sick, sick, sick or misfit love you don't have a soul, and I'm glad you don't like queens because I don't want to be associated with you in any way.
  52. GaborA
    Jun 17, 2007
    7
    (7.5) I don't mind that Homme wears his influences on his sleeves more than ever. Some are subtle and fitting like the nirvana esque hook in the background of 3's and 7's. Some are more obvious like the toll ex tour buddy Trent Reznor makes on the first third of the album. Theres enough there to make these QOTSA songs, though. I don't mind the new stripped down (7.5) I don't mind that Homme wears his influences on his sleeves more than ever. Some are subtle and fitting like the nirvana esque hook in the background of 3's and 7's. Some are more obvious like the toll ex tour buddy Trent Reznor makes on the first third of the album. Theres enough there to make these QOTSA songs, though. I don't mind the new stripped down approach. I don't mind the new more mellow tone. But all this coupled with the fact that the album is 47 minutes with one desert sessions rehash evokes the feeling that this is a good album but i know more could have been done(ie APC's 13th step). The album makes perfect summer listening, but i fear that once the leaves start changing colors i may be reaching for other more complete and durable QOTSA albums. Expand
  53. Aditya
    Jun 17, 2007
    10
    This album easily beats out other rock albums released this year..Really gripping stuff..U never know how Josh Homme comes out with such infectious, groovy riffs..Standout tracks are 3's and 7's, Turning on the Screw, Into the Hollow, Misfit Love and Sick, Sick, Sick..a must buy album for any rock fans!!
  54. Daveage
    Jun 17, 2007
    9
    queens of the stone age are back need i say anything else
  55. quetzalp
    Jun 16, 2007
    10
    one of the best albums of the decade. Era Vulgaris is intricately crafted, meticulously polished and ruthlessly efficient in its pursuit of depraved rock thrills.
  56. AustinT
    Jun 16, 2007
    10
    Great album, the mixture of industrial, hard rock, and psychedelic rock is the best thing that I've heard all year. It is impossible to get bored with this album.
  57. jorjbush
    Jun 16, 2007
    9
    it's ok, a new kind of experiment from holmes.. i want to make it with chu is the greatest song
  58. V.Z.
    Jun 15, 2007
    8
    Half of the tracks are extremely good, the other half is alright. The band doesn't offer that much new on this one, which is a bit of a disappointment. But what it offers rocks and is a lot of fun.
  59. nelsonb
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    this is one of the best albums I've heard this year. Rock and Roll at it's prime, you would never get tired of it.
  60. Mlfnk
    Jun 15, 2007
    9
    It's a step away from the somewhat straighter formula that made the first three records great. It's a good step though. So far I consider this their second best album to date.
  61. Hein
    Jun 15, 2007
    7
    I think this one is their weakest. But still a very good album!
  62. slugsareburning
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    feel good hit of the summer
  63. declanM
    Jun 15, 2007
    2
    Extremely disappointing album that has no memorable songs i know the last album was a take no chances album at least it had a couple of memorable songs this is pure crap ... i dont know whether its too much drugs or what but i dont think they will ever match songs for the deaf
  64. J.PThompson
    Jun 15, 2007
    8
    Again, I was thrown off in which direction this album was heading. Awesome opening track then right into sick. I'm designer has so much swagger it makes me feel 10 feet tall. Hollow; catchy, but stale in a way. Misfit love and battery acid are ok. Picks back up with make it wichu and 3s & 7s. Suture is a great song with a bass line that kills. River in the road and run pig run make Again, I was thrown off in which direction this album was heading. Awesome opening track then right into sick. I'm designer has so much swagger it makes me feel 10 feet tall. Hollow; catchy, but stale in a way. Misfit love and battery acid are ok. Picks back up with make it wichu and 3s & 7s. Suture is a great song with a bass line that kills. River in the road and run pig run make me feel like im at the circus. 2 things that let me down about the album: 1. The title track era vulgaris should be on this album. I thought it would of flowed nice with the other songs 2. It's missing a bald headed bassist who likes to play naked....we miss you nick. Expand
  65. nedp
    Jun 14, 2007
    10
    one of the best (if not the best) albums of the decade
  66. LoganM
    Jun 14, 2007
    7
    As addicted to Queens of the Stone Age as I am, I am disapointed in this album, yet it's still good enough to earn a 7. I came to expect rock that has balls, along with catchy melodies, but this record seems to have less balls and no melody. It is much more industrial sounding a la NIN, and Homme's vocals aren't as good as the last record. Still, Queens is one of the only As addicted to Queens of the Stone Age as I am, I am disapointed in this album, yet it's still good enough to earn a 7. I came to expect rock that has balls, along with catchy melodies, but this record seems to have less balls and no melody. It is much more industrial sounding a la NIN, and Homme's vocals aren't as good as the last record. Still, Queens is one of the only bands that actually can rock. Expand
  67. RobL
    Jun 14, 2007
    9
    you can only make an album of "crunchy" guitars with radio ready singles so many times in ones career. Bands change. Get over it. Those of you scepticle about the guitar? Learn to play one, teach yourselves these songs and call yourself an idiot. Those of you who enjoy the ever-lessening tones of Nirvana in modern day music, please join me in welcoming this new era of QOTSA.
  68. p
    Jun 14, 2007
    2
    I love the Queens and have seen them 6 times in their various incarniations, but I am very disappointed with this album. It does not compare as a whole to any of their previous offerings, and there are no stand out tracks that pepper the previous albums either. This album certainly does not rock or have any real passion instead it sound lifeless, dull and as if the band are bored. I love the Queens and have seen them 6 times in their various incarniations, but I am very disappointed with this album. It does not compare as a whole to any of their previous offerings, and there are no stand out tracks that pepper the previous albums either. This album certainly does not rock or have any real passion instead it sound lifeless, dull and as if the band are bored. "Turning the Screw" is not a good song let alone one to open an album with, and "Sick, Sick ,Sick" is their weakest single yet. Not a good start. "I'm a Designer" is a mismatched song with a nice hook in the middle but the surroinding music just does not fit. "Into the Hollow" is straight off Lullabies to Paralyse" and alothough a good song I can't help feeling I have heard it before. "Misfit Love" is repetative beyond belief and "Battery Acid" has a terrible song structure that I am not used to from QOTSA who have a gift of blending great heavy rock with just the right pinch of melody. "Make it Wit Chu" was my favourite favourite song for years after hearing it on Desert Sessions, but without Mark Lanegans vocals the new version is nowhere near as dirty and sexy. However it is easily the best song on the album. "3's & 7's" and "Suture up your Future" are repatative and instantly forgettable and I cant even be bothered to write about the last 2 tracks! I am hoping that Josh and Co can recover their near perfect blend of solid dirty rock and melody that I believe is the best since the Pixies and come back with a stronger less experimental album full of loud rock sooner rather than later. Expand
  69. AaronC
    Jun 14, 2007
    10
    Every QOTSA album progresses to a subtly different sound. Each equally as great as the last. Era Vugaris is a new overall sound. It's more of an electric, industrial sound. Except "I Wanna Make It Wit You" which came from the Desert Sessions 9&10. I do miss the metal element that Nick brought to the band though. Anyone who doesn't own each of QOTSA's albums should purchase Every QOTSA album progresses to a subtly different sound. Each equally as great as the last. Era Vugaris is a new overall sound. It's more of an electric, industrial sound. Except "I Wanna Make It Wit You" which came from the Desert Sessions 9&10. I do miss the metal element that Nick brought to the band though. Anyone who doesn't own each of QOTSA's albums should purchase them all cause your missing out on some classics. Expand
  70. TheRocker
    Jun 13, 2007
    3
    Era Vulgaris sounds like a computer, not a kick-ass rock band. Booo QOTSA. Boooo.
  71. paulA
    Jun 13, 2007
    6
    did i miss something. this album is ok as far as rock albums go, but as far as queens of the stone age is concerned, it's a mess. i was ready for more crunchy guitar tones followed by competant and complete songwriting. what i got was a muddle of scratchy vocals coupled with whiny paper thin guitar sounds. the worst part about the album was their inablility to write a song that did i miss something. this album is ok as far as rock albums go, but as far as queens of the stone age is concerned, it's a mess. i was ready for more crunchy guitar tones followed by competant and complete songwriting. what i got was a muddle of scratchy vocals coupled with whiny paper thin guitar sounds. the worst part about the album was their inablility to write a song that sounded complete. these songs just kinda fizzle out into a mess of uncomprehendable B.S. even though this review sounds harsh they still manage to throw a song or two onto the album that makes it almost worth buying. so if your a fan buy it, if not then i would just borrow it from a friend. Expand
  72. EricS.
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    This is definitely one of the best albums I have heard in a long time. Killer queens.
  73. FelipeP
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    Simply the best rock album of 2007!
  74. RyanZ
    Jun 12, 2007
    9
    While Songs for the Deaf seems to be the most critically lauded QOTSA record, both this and LTP work much better as a whole from start to finish. It flows extremely well, is tighter than usual at 11 tracks, and shows excellent variety and growth.
  75. Busted...
    Jun 12, 2007
    4
    Nothing special...Would have received less if I didn't have a previous devotion to the band.
  76. KevinM
    Jun 12, 2007
    9
    This is perhaps one of the strongest Queens of the Stone Age albums song for song. Each is memorable, focused, and purposeful (save the slightly self-indulgent "Battery Acid"). This is the cream of the crop when it comes to mainstream rock so enjoy it. Stand out tracks include: Turnin' on the Screw, Make It Wit Chu, and Suture Up Your Future.
  77. meathammer
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    Best thing going rock right now....not a track on here I would skip.
  78. TedJ
    Jun 12, 2007
    9
    this album is dirty, dark, and sexy. in sum, it is what qotsa have always aspired to be. it is definitely the crunchiest and fuzziest queens album. like "songs for the deaf", "era vulgaris" has a really distinctive drum sound throughout, although in a much different way: while grohl's beats in "songs" sounded flat and hollow--not in a bad way, necessarily--castillo's pounding is this album is dirty, dark, and sexy. in sum, it is what qotsa have always aspired to be. it is definitely the crunchiest and fuzziest queens album. like "songs for the deaf", "era vulgaris" has a really distinctive drum sound throughout, although in a much different way: while grohl's beats in "songs" sounded flat and hollow--not in a bad way, necessarily--castillo's pounding is all skull-bashing crunch, sounding almost machine-like at times. and the guitar sounds are tweaked to nasty! the album is melodic and electric. as always, homme's airy, detached vocals provide a nice contrast to the searing riffs and rhythms. highlights: "sick, sick, sick", "into the hollow", "make it wit chu", and "turning on the screw". Expand
  79. alih
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    full of intrigue and spine tinglingly good guitar. lullabies got better with every listen-so if this gets better it could be a classic. (PS era vulgaris got positive reviwes in amny british papers such as the daily telegraph and sunday times-add these scores)
  80. BenJ
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    As if pitchfork media didn't make a whole lot of sense before.. they've done it again here... too much all at once? This is the same site that gave 'kid a' a ten right? Get your noses out of the air, your predispositions away and a pair of headphones on... this album is magnificent.. it's my favorite since rated R.
  81. mikes.
    Jun 11, 2007
    8
    a great album from qotsa and their personal best. This album sounds more grohl influenced as some songs remind me o "in utero" from nirvana. This release is much more raw and experimental as well. Strikes a perfect blend of experimentation with straight up rock n roll. One of the best rock albums so far this year.
  82. BryanS
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    Not a throwaway in the whole lot! Hits real hard
  83. Systool
    Jun 11, 2007
    6
    Nothing really special in "Era Vulgaris". I'm a huge QOTSA fan and I liked "Lullabies to paralyze" without Oliveri, but this time, the band went wrong... There are some nice tunes (Turning on the Screw, 3's and 7's, Into the Hollow) but some other tracks are just annoying... or worse, irritating. Without a Doubt the worst QOTSA album... Ah! It seems there are guests on this Nothing really special in "Era Vulgaris". I'm a huge QOTSA fan and I liked "Lullabies to paralyze" without Oliveri, but this time, the band went wrong... There are some nice tunes (Turning on the Screw, 3's and 7's, Into the Hollow) but some other tracks are just annoying... or worse, irritating. Without a Doubt the worst QOTSA album... Ah! It seems there are guests on this album : they are so discrete that you don't even notice... Expand
  84. MelS
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    This is the best Queens album so far and seeing as they're the best modern rock group out there right now, it's probably the best rock record of 2007.
  85. DJMC
    Jun 6, 2007
    4
    I really don't see where the acclaim for this album is coming from. Apart form "Sick, Sick, Sick" the rest of the record sounds like they just couldn't be bothered. Josh Homme is an amazing musician, but he's let himself down with this release. Listen to this, then listen to Blues for the Red Sun, or Songs for the Deaf. No comparison.
  86. sandere
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    This is simply the best album 2007 has seen so far. Josh Homme once again pushes the bounderies of modern rock in his well familiar genius way
  87. archv
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    Soooo queens are again on the top, guys. Look at the album - the cover, the songs, the lyrics....Homme at his best ! Suture up your future is the best ballad since "in the fade" Go Hommie, GO!
  88. JorgeP
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    Josh Homme and gang have managed to distill the Queens Of the Stone Age sound into an excellent and outstanding record.Even though they received flak for Lullabies to Paralyze this record is a throwback to the lean, fast, riff driven songs of Rated R while combining the polished elements of Lullabies.Basically, if the first song doesn't grab you,the next one will, or the one after Josh Homme and gang have managed to distill the Queens Of the Stone Age sound into an excellent and outstanding record.Even though they received flak for Lullabies to Paralyze this record is a throwback to the lean, fast, riff driven songs of Rated R while combining the polished elements of Lullabies.Basically, if the first song doesn't grab you,the next one will, or the one after that, or the one after that....End to end genius! Expand
  89. [Anonymous]
    May 31, 2007
    10
    this album is killer. it sounds a little like lullabies mixed with rated r mixed with something totally new. awesome.
  90. ralphlauren
    May 29, 2007
    10
    If you don't like this album you don't like rock and roll.
  91. elkh
    May 28, 2007
    9
    Best bunch of songs since they were writing for the deaf....and dead.
  92. jimboj
    May 26, 2007
    9
    weird and wonderful. catchy like malaria. josh homme does it again.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. If Lullabies To Paralyze was a strange forest fairytale dusted with desert blues courtesy of Billy Gibbons, Era Vulgaris finds the band holed up in an abandoned funkhouse in the centre of a shady copse, waiting for some strange sexually-contracted fever to pass.
  2. Homme's ever-catchy formula remains, but the mood is uneasy and brooding, with tracks such as 'Sick, Sick, Sick' revealing a venomous new band that's finally learned to separate business and pleasure.
  3. Era Vulgaris is Homme's fifth Queens album, and like the others, it's intricately crafted, meticulously polished and ruthlessly efficient in its pursuit of depraved rock thrills.