Era Vulgaris - Queens of the Stone Age
Era Vulgaris Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 162 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Josh Homme's fifth QOTSA disc includes guest appearances by The Strokes' Julian Casablancas and returnee Mark Lanegan. Oddly, however, the disc does not include its title track collaboration with Trent Reznor, which was released separately.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. 100
    They continue to find some clever ways to do a pretty dumb thing. [Jul 2007, p.112]
  2. You can hear the band rediscovering its footing as one of the strangest, funniest, and best acts of the decade.
  3. The Queens’ music has always been a kind of battleground for the proverbial devil and angel on Homme’s shoulders – with the devil winning, of course – and that continues to be the case here, with Homme’s bewitching falsetto croon acting as the spirit to the band’s tattooed, hairy flesh, and bruising, cactus-dry workouts giving way to lush, psychedelic oases of darkly reflective sound.
  4. "Era Vulgaris" ain't vulgar at all — in fact it's musicianly as heck.
  5. QOTSA envelops many of the songs in a fog of menacing guitar squall that focuses as much on atmospherics as hooks. [16 Jun 2007]
  6. This time around things are more industrial and complex but every bit as sleazy and intoxicating.
  7. With the band sounding listless and drained of ideas, it starts trying anything.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 90
  2. Negative: 4 out of 90
  1. TomB
    Nov 30, 2009
    The best album of the decade. I know it's a weak decade but I would rank this album along side Surfer Rosa, Siamese Dream, and Daydream Nation. The riff for 3s and 7s reminisces of the lone, cutting perfection of the opening seconds of Smells Like Teen Spirit. Expand
  2. AaronC
    Jun 14, 2007
    Every QOTSA album progresses to a subtly different sound. Each equally as great as the last. Era Vugaris is a new overall sound. It's more of an electric, industrial sound. Except "I Wanna Make It Wit You" which came from the Desert Sessions 9&10. I do miss the metal element that Nick brought to the band though. Anyone who doesn't own each of QOTSA's albums should purchase them all cause your missing out on some classics. Expand
  3. nicob
    Jun 21, 2007
    very awesome album. although sick sick sick is probably the weakest song on the album. I wish more bands would release extra tracks in the US albums...and you wonder why we download ? Era Vulgaris, and goin' out west are really good but nowhere on this cd....Anyways. track breakdown: Turning of the Screw - awesome simple old-school rockin with uber fuzzy bass (drools) sick sick sick - catchy single track...a bit too dronish for my taste after awhile though. I'm designer - is hardcore rockin' song about how we all only want to be famous and not work (sounds alot like EODM) suture up your future...very good as well... into the a drive away from an ex in the desert... 3's & 7's - also a very awesome downbeat funky groove Expand
  4. elkh
    May 28, 2007
    Best bunch of songs since they were writing for the deaf....and dead.
  5. matt
    Jun 20, 2007
    Definately a great album. A return to their early works. A work that grows on you the more you listen. Homme and crew are just getting better and better. Collapse
  6. TeagueS
    Jun 26, 2007
    It's a break from their last album, but they've all been that way. It's not on the level of Lullabies in terms of sonic accomplishment, or SFTD in terms of continuous driving sound, but it is definitely a unique and satisfying album. You have to work to be able to pick out the flow of the cd, and the resolution of the constant dischord, but it's worth it. If you haven't already, give "3's and 7's" and "Battery Acid" another chance. Expand
  7. p
    Jun 14, 2007
    I love the Queens and have seen them 6 times in their various incarniations, but I am very disappointed with this album. It does not compare as a whole to any of their previous offerings, and there are no stand out tracks that pepper the previous albums either. This album certainly does not rock or have any real passion instead it sound lifeless, dull and as if the band are bored. "Turning the Screw" is not a good song let alone one to open an album with, and "Sick, Sick ,Sick" is their weakest single yet. Not a good start. "I'm a Designer" is a mismatched song with a nice hook in the middle but the surroinding music just does not fit. "Into the Hollow" is straight off Lullabies to Paralyse" and alothough a good song I can't help feeling I have heard it before. "Misfit Love" is repetative beyond belief and "Battery Acid" has a terrible song structure that I am not used to from QOTSA who have a gift of blending great heavy rock with just the right pinch of melody. "Make it Wit Chu" was my favourite favourite song for years after hearing it on Desert Sessions, but without Mark Lanegans vocals the new version is nowhere near as dirty and sexy. However it is easily the best song on the album. "3's & 7's" and "Suture up your Future" are repatative and instantly forgettable and I cant even be bothered to write about the last 2 tracks! I am hoping that Josh and Co can recover their near perfect blend of solid dirty rock and melody that I believe is the best since the Pixies and come back with a stronger less experimental album full of loud rock sooner rather than later. Expand

See all 90 User Reviews