• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Evanescence Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 129 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nick Raskulinecz produced the third album for the rock band that sees only singer Amy Lee as the remaining original member.
Buy On

Top Track

My Heart Is Broken
I will wander until the end of time Torn away from you I pulled away to face the pain I close my eyes and drift away Over the fear That I will never... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Kerrang!
    Oct 6, 2011
    100
    This album's consistent quality should easily re-establish Evanescence back on the rock map in 2011. [1 Oct 2011, p.52]
  2. 75
    She still occasionally lapses into drama-club caterwauling, but when she uses baroque orchestral accoutrements to wage an air assault on her demons (as she does on the blistering "Oceans"), she's more than just the token girl in the pit.
  3. Oct 11, 2011
    70
    Evanescence's self-titled third album captures each party elevating the other far above where their proclivities would get them on their own.
  4. Oct 11, 2011
    63
    A livelier album seems to lurk inside this one, struggling to sneak past its creator.
  5. Oct 19, 2011
    50
    Evanescence may not be doing anything fresh or positively controversial on this new record all about itself. But they sure know how to keep their diehard fans happy by largely repeating the same formula that worked for them in the past.
  6. Oct 12, 2011
    50
    Too much of the time, Evanescence get lost in the cavernous spaces carved out by their unsecret weapon.
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    25
    Maniacally narcissistic, Evanescence is corny in the way only music so grim and humorless--and yet irredeemably stupid--can be

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. Oct 16, 2011
    10
    Mature, well written, well-composed are just 3 of the top terms that come to mind when listening to this album. Some artists, as they growMature, well written, well-composed are just 3 of the top terms that come to mind when listening to this album. Some artists, as they grow with their music, alter their style and lose their identity. Amy Lee and company has proved that their style is positively authentic, powerful, and unwavering. This album has great flavor and really moves the body and soul. The writing is amazing, as usual. If it were possible for Amy Lee to sing any better, she just topped herself with this album. The vocals will blow you away like the didn't in the last 2 albums ...it's that good. God knows how she managed to improve her already amazing voice, but she did it. This album is a critical show of top notch musicianship and every artist who's "remaking" themselves would do well to take a page from this book. Beautiful album, beautiful music, welcome back Evanescence! Collapse
  2. Jul 20, 2016
    10
    This album is my 3rd favorite one cause it has meaningful songs and they have a perfect chorus. This album is great and perfect just that. IThis album is my 3rd favorite one cause it has meaningful songs and they have a perfect chorus. This album is great and perfect just that. I love evanescence. Expand
  3. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    I would say this album is about on par with Open Door but not quite to the classic level of Fallen. That being said, I love this album moreI would say this album is about on par with Open Door but not quite to the classic level of Fallen. That being said, I love this album more and more with every listen. At 1st it seemed to feel about the same but the more I've listened to it the more I can hear the subtle nuances. Also, I didn't feel as if there were a lot of "standout" songs however each time I listen they are almost all standing out to me now. For those fans of theirs who have listened to it 1 or 2 times and aren't feeling it as much as they thought, just give it another couple listens and it will absolutely grow on you.

    Congrats on the #1 status on Billboard too! Let's see if enough people will buy it this week to make it 2 in a row!
    Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    After a long wait, the much anticipated album is here and well worth the wait. Much of every song is powerful and emotionally charged. Not aAfter a long wait, the much anticipated album is here and well worth the wait. Much of every song is powerful and emotionally charged. Not a single song felt weak. Unfortunately, this means that, with the exception of three songs, every track felt similar. The album itself starts of powerful with What You Want. The next few tracks are equally impressive. Unfortunately, I felt Lost In Paradise and Sick weren't up to tier with the rest of the album. Fortunately, the album picks back up with End of The Dream and Oceans and ends on a high note with Swimming Home. While this album is close in sound to The Open Door, 2006, overall it is much heavier with the instrumentals and a louder vocal. Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2011
    9
    Its been a long time coming, but the album is finally here! It was a truly refreshing experience, I loved the depth of the album...and IIts been a long time coming, but the album is finally here! It was a truly refreshing experience, I loved the depth of the album...and I believe it stands out from today's music because most of it is just so monotonous and shallow. The best way to describe this album is with four words. Beautiful, dark, elegant, and heavy. The songs that stood out the most for me were "The Change", "My Heart is Broken", "A New way to Bleed (bonus track)", and "End of the Dream". The stylistc dirty bass and heavy guitars blend in seamlessly with Lee's voice...it really does create an elegant mixture. Its not a huge difference from their previous work, but its a bit more lively. Highly recommended. Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2011
    7
    With The Open Door, Evanescence leaped into experimenting with electronic trip-hop styled songs as well as even spookier atmospheres andWith The Open Door, Evanescence leaped into experimenting with electronic trip-hop styled songs as well as even spookier atmospheres and classical influence. With this new album it seems to take a step back and settle on the sound before The Open Door. Its actually a back step. The music is heavier and louder that's for sure but I believe that's caused more by the fact that this is the first time most of the musicians are playing on an album (except Amy and Terry.) This makes it seem somewhat like a debut. Amy's vocals are on point and she definitely does some interesting things she hasn't done before. Overall the album is very mediocre. It lacks musical growth and doesn't really have anything interesting. I felt myself longing for a ballad to soothe my ears from Amy's constant shouting. The saviors of the album is the electronic other-worldly Swimming Home and the peacefully dreary Secret Door. both of which sound like solo songs. At this point it seems Amy Lee is being held back by Evanescence. She's stuck making rock music with no artistic merit. Fans of the more harder side of the band will definitely love this album. Expand
  7. Nov 3, 2011
    3
    I personally think that this is their worst album so far. The guitar riffs blend into one another and the songs, in all honesty, sound prettyI personally think that this is their worst album so far. The guitar riffs blend into one another and the songs, in all honesty, sound pretty much the same to me. Amy's voice is good as usual, though I even don't think her vocals are as strong as they were on Fallen or The Open Door. Overall quite disappointing, even though I'm going to see them on Monday. I hope they play some older songs. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews