Evanescence - Evanescence
Evanescence Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nick Raskulinecz produced the third album for the rock band that sees only singer Amy Lee as the remaining original member.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Oct 6, 2011
    100
    This album's consistent quality should easily re-establish Evanescence back on the rock map in 2011. [1 Oct 2011, p.52]
  2. 75
    She still occasionally lapses into drama-club caterwauling, but when she uses baroque orchestral accoutrements to wage an air assault on her demons (as she does on the blistering "Oceans"), she's more than just the token girl in the pit.
  3. Oct 11, 2011
    70
    Evanescence's self-titled third album captures each party elevating the other far above where their proclivities would get them on their own.
  4. Oct 11, 2011
    63
    A livelier album seems to lurk inside this one, struggling to sneak past its creator.
  5. Oct 19, 2011
    50
    Evanescence may not be doing anything fresh or positively controversial on this new record all about itself. But they sure know how to keep their diehard fans happy by largely repeating the same formula that worked for them in the past.
  6. Oct 12, 2011
    50
    Too much of the time, Evanescence get lost in the cavernous spaces carved out by their unsecret weapon.
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    25
    Maniacally narcissistic, Evanescence is corny in the way only music so grim and humorless--and yet irredeemably stupid--can be

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Oct 16, 2011
    10
    Mature, well written, well-composed are just 3 of the top terms that come to mind when listening to this album. Some artists, as they grow with their music, alter their style and lose their identity. Amy Lee and company has proved that their style is positively authentic, powerful, and unwavering. This album has great flavor and really moves the body and soul. The writing is amazing, as usual. If it were possible for Amy Lee to sing any better, she just topped herself with this album. The vocals will blow you away like the didn't in the last 2 albums ...it's that good. God knows how she managed to improve her already amazing voice, but she did it. This album is a critical show of top notch musicianship and every artist who's "remaking" themselves would do well to take a page from this book. Beautiful album, beautiful music, welcome back Evanescence! Collapse
  2. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    This album is not that different from their previous two albums. It's definitely more alive-trippin', but it still sounds like Evanescence, as we know them. Their 'new direction' is a use of harder drums, keyboard, harp and Amy's hard-knocking voice. This must be their best voice-album. Amy really challenges herself in this self-titled album. Try listening to the songs: 'My Heart Is Broken', Lost In Paradise', 'Oceans', 'Never Go back & 'Erase This'. You can hear the angelic-ballading-upstreaming-rocking voice. Amy should sometimes in the future definitely bring up a solo-album. A downtempo one. Her voice fits perfect when she's doing the downtempo songs. 'Swimming Home' & 'Secret Door' proves that, indeed. Anyway I gave the album 10/10, even though I miss the electronic part..But let's hope they'll bring that after this album. You will love this album. Then don't judge it like after one-time listening to it, but play the songs like many times & then you'll see the mature ongoing direction to it. Life is short. Then wake up, & do what you want. This albums is about freedom, life & a little bit drama too. This is the their best album to date. Buy this album. It's really worth it! Expand
  3. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    This must be their best album yet!!!Every song is different and each one of them is worth listening to!My very favourite: The change, my heart is broken, the other side, erase this, lost in paradise, sick, never go back, swimming home, new way to bleed,disappear, secret door.I think I've said enough!!!Go BUY this album!!! Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2011
    9
    From start to final song Swimming Home, this album doesn't stop moving, and it's absolutely fantastic! From the roaring rage of 'Made of Stone', to the groovy head-banger 'Erase This', to the vulnerability of 'Lost in Paradise'' to stage anthem 'Sick', there's nothing to be disappointed in with this eponymous release by Evanescence. It's matured over the past two albums, but its variety doesn't beat previous release 'The Open Door'. This album is one of the must haves of the year! Expand
  5. Jan 12, 2012
    9
    I'm a big fan of Evanescence and have been for a little while now. When I first listened to their new album - simply titled "Evanescence" - I thought it didn't compare to their older work. However, the more I listened to it, the more it grew on me and now I think it's some of their best work yet!

    The album carries the same hybrid of rock and classical instruments that the band have always had (despite the several line-up changes). Amy Lee is just as good as she always has been as the band's lead singer, and the rest of the group all prove their worth through some fantastic drum and guitar solos. But it's not all good. As per usual with Evanescence there are a few dud tracks. Most notable are "Swimming Home" which seems to lack the entire band's presence (with the exception of Amy). While this has proved to be a winning formula before with songs such as "My Immortal" this time it really doesn't work, and makes "Swimming Home" just very boring to listen to.

    The only other track I had a problem with was "Secret Door" - one of the four bonus tracks you get with the deluxe edition. It suffers a similar problem to "Swimming Home" in that both the lyrics and rhythm fail to grab your attention.

    Those two tracks aside though, Evanescence really is a great album. With the exception of the aforementioned two, all the songs are fantastic to listen to, and feature some great lyrics - and also some quite meaningful ones.

    Highlights of the album are "Made of Stone", "Lost In Paradise", "Oceans", and "Say You Will," and "My Heart Is Broken."

    The fact that they wrote these songs themselves is great too, as that feature is becoming increasingly difficult to find in music acts.

    The deluxe edition also comes with a behind-the-scenes DVD featuring the video to "What You Want," the first single of the new album as well as many interviews with the band. While this is a nice touch, it's not a reason to splash out for the deluxe edition. Although the 3 bonus tracks (not including Secret Door) are of high quality - but still the deluxe edition may be a fan-only thing.

    So all in all, apart from a couple of poor songs, this album is definitely one worth adding to your collection. If you liked any of Evanescence's previous work, or want to start listening to them, there's no better entry point than here. With some meaningful and catchy songs this album is unmissable.

    9/10
    Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2011
    7
    With The Open Door, Evanescence leaped into experimenting with electronic trip-hop styled songs as well as even spookier atmospheres and classical influence. With this new album it seems to take a step back and settle on the sound before The Open Door. Its actually a back step. The music is heavier and louder that's for sure but I believe that's caused more by the fact that this is the first time most of the musicians are playing on an album (except Amy and Terry.) This makes it seem somewhat like a debut. Amy's vocals are on point and she definitely does some interesting things she hasn't done before. Overall the album is very mediocre. It lacks musical growth and doesn't really have anything interesting. I felt myself longing for a ballad to soothe my ears from Amy's constant shouting. The saviors of the album is the electronic other-worldly Swimming Home and the peacefully dreary Secret Door. both of which sound like solo songs. At this point it seems Amy Lee is being held back by Evanescence. She's stuck making rock music with no artistic merit. Fans of the more harder side of the band will definitely love this album. Expand
  7. Nov 3, 2011
    3
    I personally think that this is their worst album so far. The guitar riffs blend into one another and the songs, in all honesty, sound pretty much the same to me. Amy's voice is good as usual, though I even don't think her vocals are as strong as they were on Fallen or The Open Door. Overall quite disappointing, even though I'm going to see them on Monday. I hope they play some older songs. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews