Everyday I Said A Prayer For Kathy And Made A One Inch Square Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Massachusetts band--now down to the duo of Scott Levesque (vocals, guitars) and Brendan Harney (drums)--returns with their first album in four years.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Toying with sound and rhythm, noise and melody, Square is less minimalist than Hope, more fractured than Second.
  2. This album is a detour from the straightforwardness of Per Second, which means that comparatively it also often feels disjointed and uncomfortable.
  3. Wheat's scrappy though sometimes endearing fourth album is clearly a stylistic protest against their only major-label release, 2003's bland, vexed, much-delayed-by-Sony Per Second, Per Second, Per Second . . . Every Second.
  4. There are dozens of bands that do this kind of stuff better, including Wheat themselves.
  5. The entire album reeks of unnecessary ostentation.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. WheatFan
    May 28, 2007
    If you know Wheat, you know that they never make the same record twice. This is an amazing album and becomes more rewarding with each listen. If you want to hear a band make the same record every year then there are plenty to choose from, but thankfully, Wheat is not one of them. Expand
  2. MW.
    Jul 11, 2007
    It's subtly ambitious, so you can enjoy it if you don't want to pay close attention, or you can pay close attention and find its depths. 9 reflects a closer attention. Expand
  3. MichaelB.
    May 24, 2007
    A return to the slower, dreamy sounds of "Hope and Adams" after the highly polished, melodic "Per Second". The melodies and depth emerge with repeated listenings. Expand
  4. KarenJ
    Jun 28, 2007
    "Everyday..." is a good collection of songs from an outfit capable of delivering great ones. A definate step forward from "Second", but too unfocused and ocassionally overburdened with unnecessary atmosperics/ambiance. Still, a worthwhile album for Wheat fans and a quirky little curiousity for everyone else. Expand