Everything All The Time - Band of Horses
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. It's as stunning a debut as I've heard in a long time.
  2. An astoundingly seductive debut.
  3. Band of Horses is ethereal, otherworldly, and completely inimitable, and listening to Everything All the Time is, in the truest sense of the word, an experience.
  4. It takes a few listens to sink in, but Everything is transcendent, shimmering, layered, and smartass emo-pop fully ready for stadium saturation.
  5. Though Band of Horses aren't likely to be heralded as trailblazers, they do sound quietly innovative and genuinely refreshing over the course of these 10 sweeping, heart-on-sleeve anthems.
  6. [They] show impressive mood-manipulation skills despite relatively simplistic songwriting. [24 Mar 2006, p.70]
  7. Despite the variety of influences which went into the making of this album, Band of Horses have a characteristic sound which can occasionally become samey and slightly dull, yet for the most part it gives the album a comforting continuity.
  8. A damned great indie rock record.
  9. 80
    Band Of Horses specialise in melodic melancholy with a sheen of hope. [May 2006, p.107]
  10. 80
    Whether cranked up high or turned down low, this music has a scrappy majesty. [Jun 2006, p.136]
  11. My Morning Jacket are much more upfront, and pretty easy to share. Band of Horses keep a lot shrouded in effects and indistinct lyrics.
  12. 80
    [An] impressive debut. [#71, p.87]
  13. Everything All The Time runs not only on imagination but on determination – the mix of the two is what makes it exceptional.
  14. A rather lovely music: all widescreen swell and swoop and sweet, pained harmonies, with a Flaming Lips-style skewed pop undertow. [22 Apr 2006, p.41]
  15. It gets a little long in the tooth in places and samey-sounding.
  16. Packed with plenty of oddly memorable moments. [Apr/May 2006, p.101]
  17. With individual tracks that ebb and flow between emotional extremes, Everything is an album that has a definite sense of momentum for much of its running time, which it unfortunately loses in its home stretch.
  18. Overall, a modest debut from a band that has potential for a mass following down the road.
  19. Fans of My Morning Jacket will most likely love this release, and I'm sure those who followed Carissa's Wierd will want to hear what half of that band has been up to since calling it quits.
  20. While the group doesn't excel at everything they set their hand to, there's certainly more to recommend here than to warn against. [#13, p.97]
  21. What proves to be frustrating is that this isn’t a bad album nor is it a bland one. It mainly lacks any real musical innovation.
  22. Everything All The Time is almost pitifully lacking in soul, and it suffers from a few real snoozers, to boot. [May 2006, p.162]
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. MusicMaven
    Apr 16, 2007
    8
    To my ears they definitely sound a lot like My Morning Jacket, but lighter and more refined. "The Funeral" and "The Great Salt Lake" rank To my ears they definitely sound a lot like My Morning Jacket, but lighter and more refined. "The Funeral" and "The Great Salt Lake" rank with the best that MMJ has ever done, and the album as a whole is nearly at that level as well. Full Review »
  2. JamesC
    Feb 1, 2007
    8
    For me this was an unlikely find. I bought several other albums and this was one I was least excited about and proved to be the best of the For me this was an unlikely find. I bought several other albums and this was one I was least excited about and proved to be the best of the bunch. I am a my morning jacket fan, but like these guys better, even if it flies in the face of conventional wisdom. Every song ranges from good to great and that means something when so many albums only have a handful of good songs. Full Review »
  3. Jakeg
    Jan 31, 2007
    9
    amazing. I don't ususally like music so slow, but BOH pulls it off amazingly. Ben's vocals are great, and love the lyrics. Best CD amazing. I don't ususally like music so slow, but BOH pulls it off amazingly. Ben's vocals are great, and love the lyrics. Best CD is bought in a while. Full Review »