Everything Is New

  • Record Label: XL
  • Release Date: Aug 18, 2009
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 2 out of 8

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkW
    Dec 5, 2009
    I have no idea who the hell this guy is, but apparently I'm supposed to hate him because the British tabloids hate him. Meh. This ignorant American LOVES this album. One question, though: Who's he dating?
  2. paul
    Aug 21, 2009
    Don't know much about the London indie scene so don't hold that against this record. i think it's fantastic. if i had to describe it using existing comparisons i would say it's like if robert smith was less dour and inspired by Brazilian music. perfect for a drive on a sunny day or a vibrant party. not for those turned off by pop and polish.
  3. MarkR
    Aug 22, 2009
    One of my favorites of the year so far. I wasn't all that into his debut, so I was pleasantly surprised by this one. "Let's All Die" is my favorite. Not sure why this currently has such a low user rating.

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. With a greater use of the minor key, he's added flecks of sentiment to what is, predominantly, a very solid pop record. Just don't get bogged down in genre compartmentalisation.
  2. At only nine tracks long, Everything Is New never outstays its welcome, and is the perfect riposte for anyone who had previously dismissed Penate as a scenester who'd got lucky.
  3. Jack Penate has made a record that’s light on its feet, has glamour bordering on sex appeal and that doesn’t make you wish a fatwa upon its author.