Everything Is

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Feb 28, 2006
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 1 out of 21

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CostanzaIndahouse
    Nov 30, 2005
    8
    This is my favourite album of the year so far but it doesn't quite deserve a ten, a lot of anger and great tunes and lyrics but because the highs are so good, the lows suffer by comparison. Still a shit hot record!
  2. dipp0
    Oct 10, 2005
    10
    Best album of the year. I got a hell of a kick first time I heard it... and oh, it gets better.
  3. DavidM
    Jul 10, 2005
    8
    The Q reviewer is spot on. Lots of good hooks but they need to mature a bit, I'm sure they will. They ARE very young.
  4. willb
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    its awesome
  5. carlosa
    Sep 20, 2005
    10
    I think this is an album with brilliant production and alot of energy. This one of the most constant albums ive heard in 5 years. I would say it will be hard for any band to better it before the end of the year. It combines Punk Grunge Garage and Rock very well. INTERMISSION is simiply beautiful.
  6. RuviW
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    Great Album. Lot of raugh energy. Melodics. Everything.
  7. MarkB
    Jul 15, 2005
    8
    Fantastic album, was bought on instinct of a couple of songs. I pulled out a gem! If you like your rock which varies from hard but to soulful then this album will be for you.
  8. Cesar
    Jul 9, 2005
    10
    Shot Down is the best song of the year!
  9. Alex
    Feb 28, 2006
    9
    class as! yes, it smacks of Nirvana.... but since when was that a bad thing? eh? eh?
  10. GarrettS
    Mar 1, 2006
    9
    This gets mixed reviews, yet people drool over overhyped cliche stuff like arctic monkeys. Wow. This is just good ol' rock and roll, lots of energy and melody. Anyone who enjoys any form of rock music can enjoy this.
  11. AdrianM
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    This is the best record I have heard since the YYY's Fever to Tell. Its raw, loud and lryically interesting. It nice to hear somtning diffrent than all the crap Emo Punk coming from the US and the melancholy whine of current Brit Pop
  12. lucab
    Sep 19, 2005
    8
    grunge still lives in 2005: energy, melody and freshness rule this record. hope they won't be a one-album band!
  13. Kurt
    Jan 22, 2006
    10
    pure out n out rock music at its very best. even the quieter tracks are surprisingly great.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Their dark yet energetic, garage pop - all needling, pivot-on-a-penny riffs, eruptive noise and high tensile dynamics - borrows from Buzzcocks, Pixies and Nirvana/Foo Fighters but, for all its tautness and intensity, there's little on Nine Black Alps' debut LP likely to change the world.
  2. NBA's sole but major problem is that so many of these songs - 'Unsatisfied', 'Shot Down', 'Ironside', the list goes on - lack anything like major soul.
  3. Mojo
    70
    Rocks and then rocks harder, launching wave after wave of vicious punk hooks. [Jul 2005, p.106]