Everything Must Go Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: What sounds like a Steely Dan clearance sale is actually the veteran duo's first album of new material since their 2000 comeback effort 'Two Against Nature.'
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. It's a record to get lost in, one that constantly surprises with its apparently infinite number of hidden harmonies and wry asides.
  2. Offering lyrical nervousness and musical Novocain in equal shots, it's another installment of Chicken Soup for the Materialistic, Mildly Perverse, Apocalypse-Dreading Soul. [13 Jun 2003, p.92]
  3. Everything Must Go is another great Steely Dan album, a hardy inclusion to their splendid canon.
  4. 80
    Though their restraint can be alienating, Steely Dan sound hungry, relevant and full of ideas. [#17, p.147]
  5. What this is is a collection of subversively jazzy tunes which delights in its own cleverness (lyrical and otherwise), and which probably finds its closest companion -- among previous Steely Dan albums -- in Pretzel Logic.
  6. There's nothing that betrays their high standards of craft, but, on a whole, the songs are neither as hooky nor as resonant as the ones unveiled on its predecessor.
  7. Everything Must Go is a profound disappointment.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    Hidden treasure! I just got google stream, and started by roaming my known quantities just to get used to the service. So, there it was,Hidden treasure! I just got google stream, and started by roaming my known quantities just to get used to the service. So, there it was, "Every Thing Must Go", a rather new album by SD. I liked 2N ok, so... let's see.
    First song that really hit me was "What I miss the most", and from thereon, track after track with blue yacht rock, sometimes veering to the bluesy, sometimes to the jazzy, often with a driving beat. Melodies and instruments weaving in and out, over and under, creating beautiful, moody, inscrutable pictures. Ok Steely Dan, please, ONE album per year. You can do it. What is up?
    Expand
  2. doctorwu51doctorwu51
    Aug 30, 2003
    10
    Thisis the one that should have won the grammy...
  3. AKohls
    Jun 13, 2003
    10
    As with any Dan album, multiple run throughs are required before finally admitting that "this is damn good". It's always about the story As with any Dan album, multiple run throughs are required before finally admitting that "this is damn good". It's always about the story and weeding out the meaning. Fagen and Becker are so very talented in painting word pictures. You just have to stare at the canvas for a while to take in the whole view. The great melodies and Jazz and Rock chops are just an added bonus. There is room for intellegence in popular music. Expand
  4. LarryC
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    Was difficult for me to get used to, after having their older stuff so imbedded in me. This is not the same as their old stuff. Yet . . . . Was difficult for me to get used to, after having their older stuff so imbedded in me. This is not the same as their old stuff. Yet . . . . as I began listening, sure enough, one by one the songs started growing on me. "Green Book" is incredibly complex. "Everything Must Go", the title track, is my favorite. Great humor! Expand
  5. JOBlix
    Jun 24, 2003
    9
    Not a single weak track. The groovy tracks comming from a great colaboration between Beckers base and and Carlocks drumming. Favoutite tracks Not a single weak track. The groovy tracks comming from a great colaboration between Beckers base and and Carlocks drumming. Favoutite tracks at this point are Godwacker, Slang of ages and EMG. Too bad they are not touring Europe this time. Expand
  6. RT.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    Really grew on me. I've been a big fan in the past and the last couple albums seemed repetitious. This album is full of tasty licks and Really grew on me. I've been a big fan in the past and the last couple albums seemed repetitious. This album is full of tasty licks and melodies. Give it time and it will grow on you. Expand
  7. JohnL
    Jul 24, 2006
    7
    This should be a 6, but what I like here I love...it's just there there is more filler than ever before for these guys. It's rare This should be a 6, but what I like here I love...it's just there there is more filler than ever before for these guys. It's rare that they've sounded so pedestrian...never as a duo before in fact (the comeback, Two Against Nature was great), but Fagen's 2nd solo was like this, and though it was suprisingly good, so was Becker's only solo effort for the most part...all fine, this is fine too, but measured against their past and peaks...a 7 at best. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews