User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. noddinnof
    Feb 6, 2009
    2
    A major disappointment. Somewhere in the middle of the album the lyrics go "This groove is out of fashion/These beats are 20 years old." Yep. Exactly. Although I thought 'groove' was an overstatement. It's a uneven, saccharine flavored attempt to force sunshine in the absence of inspiration. Irritating. First listen was in my car. I'm a person that keeps every CD that A major disappointment. Somewhere in the middle of the album the lyrics go "This groove is out of fashion/These beats are 20 years old." Yep. Exactly. Although I thought 'groove' was an overstatement. It's a uneven, saccharine flavored attempt to force sunshine in the absence of inspiration. Irritating. First listen was in my car. I'm a person that keeps every CD that crosses my path and I rolled down the window to through the thing out. In the end I couldn't do it. Don't know why. Expand
  2. JImV
    Dec 12, 2008
    2
    Worse than a yawner -- a nightmare! Byrne populates tracks Eno didn't know what to do with, with long-distance whining and smarm. Most disappointing album of the year!
  3. [Anonymous]
    Aug 27, 2008
    8
    This is a record that will get better for each listen! I Like.
  4. MaxM
    Sep 17, 2008
    5
    There was only one track that I liked and it is possibly the greatest song I've heard all year. If you buy most of you music off iTunes like me, just start with "Strange Overtones". I made the mistake of buying all the other worthless tracks.
  5. B.P.
    Aug 27, 2008
    9
    Gospel-tinged and warm, this album contains a lot of subtle pleasures, like the upbeat "Strange Overtones" and the joyous "One Fine Day." It's NOT "My Life In The Bush of Ghosts Vol. II" (not that there'd be anything wrong with that); this is something as unique as you'd expect coming from these two brilliant minds.
  6. RobL
    Sep 10, 2008
    9
    "Home" only goes to prove that these two have been musical soulmates.
  7. RadyF.
    Sep 1, 2008
    10
    Frankly this cd made me remember why I loved talking heads .... the music is unbelivable - Eno is in top form and Davids singing and lyrics are very subtle and complex....it definately will grow on you.
  8. HenryM.
    Sep 3, 2008
    9
    Better than expected. A lot of great tunes like "Home", "My Big Nurse", "The River", "Wanted for Life" etc. It has a couple of songs that didn't have to be on, but overall is excellent. One of the favorite quotes from album: " When you close your eyes do you picture money? Than the change is mine." - Wanted for Life.
  9. Charlie
    Sep 3, 2008
    9
    Its a brilliant work.
  10. Xax
    Sep 6, 2008
    9
    It's a lovely album, so so honest and lacking any pretentiousness. The funny thing is that it sounds like a mix of early Eno pop (Warm Jets et al) with late Byrne's Talking Heads, and it works to me. Won't be a hallmark as Life in the Bush of Ghosts but will remain as another example of a good work by Eno. Everything this man touches becomes....good.
  11. shotsyf
    Jan 14, 2009
    10
    It grows on you. after about 10 times it had become a 10.
  12. SimonS
    Feb 4, 2009
    8
    In their decades-long careers, Eno and Byrne have not exactly been strangers to experimental and niche musical territory but, at the same time, they
  13. JeffG.
    Oct 27, 2008
    8
    One might expect something more revolutionary when the creative talents of these two musical titans are marshaled; especially considering their previous groundbreaking collaboration. Or, given Byrne's penchant for the abstract and complex lyricism, you might expect something more cerebral. In either case, you'd be mistaken: this album is musically simple (comparably!), One might expect something more revolutionary when the creative talents of these two musical titans are marshaled; especially considering their previous groundbreaking collaboration. Or, given Byrne's penchant for the abstract and complex lyricism, you might expect something more cerebral. In either case, you'd be mistaken: this album is musically simple (comparably!), accessible and full of light. Simply beautiful. Expand
  14. Adam
    Aug 25, 2008
    8
    Sounded kind of average the first lesson but it's growing on me each time I play it. Sounds most like Eno's last album (Another Day on Earth) but the lyrics are definitely more Byrne-esque.
  15. DaveR.
    Dec 29, 2008
    10
    Warm, uplifting, reassuring treasure: Just what we needed i"in these troubled times."
  16. Apr 8, 2013
    7
    Going into this record, I expected two rock legends to dish out an album of epic proportions. What I received wasn't exactly that, but still a solid collaboration between Byrne & Eno. Eno still pumps out fantastic synth beats and catchy hooks while Byrne still has the lungs to belt out some great tracks. All In All, Everything That Happens Will Happen Today is a good record. I personallyGoing into this record, I expected two rock legends to dish out an album of epic proportions. What I received wasn't exactly that, but still a solid collaboration between Byrne & Eno. Eno still pumps out fantastic synth beats and catchy hooks while Byrne still has the lungs to belt out some great tracks. All In All, Everything That Happens Will Happen Today is a good record. I personally prefer the collaboration between Annie Clark & David Byrne. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. While Everything is firmly grounded in Eno and Byrne's previous work, their mutual commitment to musical exploration ensures the album rarely sounds like something we've heard before.
  2. For those exhausted by a modern landscape, where playing a game of spot the musical reference is de rigueur when approaching every new release, Everything That Happens Will Happen Today is certainly a welcome relief.
  3. A record on which electronics and a grown-up wistfulness meet in a charming, comfortable manner.