• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 26, 2002
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KidA
    May 13, 2006
    7
    Ooh baby, do it again, ooh baby, come on baby do it again Skull X, City, and Detroit are amazing Everything else is decent
  2. MachowitusS
    Apr 21, 2003
    6
    Disappointing. XTRMNTR was one of the best, most engaging & innovative sounding albums released in all the time I've been seriously buying music. This is very similar in style but doesn't come close in its content.
  3. rexj
    Dec 10, 2002
    6
    keep thinking it'll grow on me but its hard to get past the overall lack of puch. should have called it 'safty dance.' but i have a sincere feeling that they mean well. maybe next time...
  4. timb
    Nov 23, 2002
    8
    Evil Heat takes time but is a natural progression from Exterminator. My girlfriend hates this album which must be a good sign.....
  5. KieranB.
    Sep 26, 2002
    10
    good shit i like the kings of speed cover skull
  6. Bruno
    Aug 18, 2002
    10
    Another masterpiece! 'XTRMNTR' was great but these records ('Vanishing Point' & 'Evil Heat') set real benchmarks!
  7. ShaneC.
    Aug 16, 2002
    10
    From it's dark techno beginnings to it's soul charged end, the best album of the year. Respect to the greatest rock band of our time, origional and brave.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Not quite the apocalyptic inverse Screamadelica that XTRMNTR was, it’s still a damn site more radical, experimental and dangerous than anything produced by any other mainstream rock band this year.
  2. Their catchiest, most compelling record yet.
  3. In many ways, 'Evil Heat' comes across as something of an amalgam of the Scream's many phases and, because of that, it doesn't necessarily take them forward as their work in the past has done.