Exciter - Depeche Mode
Exciter Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the first album of new material since 1997's 'Ultra' for Depeche Mode, which again sees the band as a trio (consisting of David Gahan, Martin L. Gore, and Andy Fletcher) but also sees them experimenting more with a wider variety of sounds, including acoustic guitar. It is DM's first time in the studio with producer Mark Bell, who has previously worked with Bjork and was a member of the early-90s techno outfit LFO. The lead single from the 13-track album is "Dream On." Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Mellow, dramatic and bathed in atmosphere, Exciter is the sound of a band at the height of its powers.
  2. What makes this disc so intriguing is its embracing of the latest electronic substrata within the context of chief songwriter Martin Gore's well-crafted pop tunes. [#155, p.67]
  3. 70
    Though not in the same league as Some Great Reward or Violator, Exciter is a solid effort and refreshing reminder of the variety of pop music.
  4. Producer Mark Bell smartly leaves the retro melodies intact, while decorating them with experimental, electronic gloss. [8 June 2001, p.76]
  5. 'Exciter' stakes a hell of a claim on bringing Depeche Mode into the 21st century.
  6. From a production standpoint, the record sounds great, but at its core, it comes up empty, lacking a solid foundation of good songs to rest its adventurous studio trickery upon.... It's the most frustrating type of album there is-- one that's full of promise and shining moments, but never fully delivers.
  7. Like nearly any DM record, Exciter, their 14th album, mostly leaves one hungry for the inevitable remixes.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. MatiasM
    Aug 25, 2005
    10
    Excellent!!!!
  2. JessicaD.
    Oct 26, 2001
    10
    Exciter is an awesome CD. I think it's comparable to Ultra, but there's a certain amount of progression evident in both the music and the lyrics. It's dark, but not depressing; the the overall compilation is worth far better reviews. Depeche Mode is one of the best bands on the planet, and this latest CD is just further proof. Collapse
  3. AlvinA
    Jun 10, 2004
    10
    I don't see why DM is being given such atrocious reviews. It seems as if hard-core fans of DM's older material want every album to sound exactly like the work the band already produced during the 80s and early 90s. DM's older albums were all great, but wouldn't it sound rather boring if every song sounded alike? Instead of being ridiculed, the band should be complimented for keeping an open mind in the music industry. DM is at the point where evolution beyond what they've done is very important. Being fast and dancy is great, but being slow and introspective is great too. FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO DISLIKE THE CD, I CANNOT CHANGE YOUR PERSPECTIVES. WHAT I CAN DO, HOWEVER, IS ENCOURAGE YOU TO HAVE A MORE OPEN MIND. THE CD ISN'T AS BAD AS YOU THINK ALBUM HIGHLIGHTS: Dream On, Shine, When the Body Speaks, The Dead of Night, I Feel Loved, Breathe, I Am You. I will admit that "The Sweetest Condition" doesn't appeal to me as much. Not to offend anyone who actually likes it! Peace... Expand
  4. GauravM.
    May 15, 2001
    9
    The new album, Exciter shows strength and maturity for Depeche Mode. Though it could seem that they may have drifted from the norm of Depeche Mode, I feel that is what makes them who they are and what keeps them sounding fresh. I admire their confidence in trying to stay creative or even unique to their style of music. Critics may have been expecting something more ultra pop-typical of them or something more easly digestable. The first round of lisntening to the tracks, all I could say was , it is different... by the second time, I was hooked and enjoying each beat I heard. It is a great album and the singing quality of David Gahan has clearly become diverse and soulful. High points I would say are "Shine", "Freelove", and "Goodnight Lovers". Enjoy! Expand
  5. JoshT.
    Feb 1, 2002
    9
    Depeche mode has created another masterpiece with its mellow beats and sound's something you could listen to too relax along with some good vocals from david gahan Expand
  6. Glen
    Aug 1, 2001
    9
    A fan since People are People...Exciter is a great newfound energy and life in the band. It's worth following them around the new and unpredicted paths to where they are today. Only con is a couple songs have pushed the sonic edge a bit creating the occoasional reflex to turn it down. The tour really finishes off the Exciter experience...their best in a long time. Expand
  7. JefferyR.
    Oct 27, 2001
    6
    Of all the years of my fetish for their style of music,I have never , ever refered to the term 'sucky'.I've been lovin' their stuff since 1983,when DM first hit the airwaves of the U.S. I feel that the album had major potential had it more percussion and origional Mode tecnique.Voice and Acustic methods sound great,but amost all the tunes lacked beat.Example:'Free love'. I rest my case. JLRB Expand

See all 30 User Reviews