• Record Label: Bad Boy
  • Release Date: May 21, 2013
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. May 21, 2013
    60
    The rest of the album suffers from redundancy and some wasted opportunities with the guests, but Montana is a flossy tycoon first and a wordsmith second at this point, so his handing in a high-power mixtape instead of a focused debut is to be expected, and with a little bottle service, enjoyed.
  2. May 21, 2013
    50
    The Moroccan born New Yorker’s long-delayed debut finally arrives, and much of it lands with blunt force without quite demonstrating a fully formed vision.
  3. 83
    French uses his debut to extend his deft command over white-knukled bangers. [24 May 2013, p.83]
  4. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    Montana's selection of trap beats falls flat. It's the kind of sweatshop beat-making mainstream producers have learned to accept as they cash their cheques.
  5. May 21, 2013
    50
    Excuse My French comes off as extremely formulaic.
  6. Jun 5, 2013
    35
    Mixed and mastered without nuance or mercy, the relentless blare of Excuse My French becomes a paradoxically ambient experience.
  7. Jun 26, 2013
    15
    Littered with ignorance, braggadocio and uninspired production, French Montana's debut release is less about him and more about the guests that his label have brought in to help hide his lack of skills.
  8. May 21, 2013
    70
    When these mantras connect, they’re indelible. When they don’t, it’s like being smacked in the face repeatedly with an iced-out chain.
  9. May 28, 2013
    50
    On Excuse My French, he's outshone and undervalued.
  10. May 21, 2013
    25
    [A] vacant record-by-the-numbers.
  11. 80
    Every word hits hard. The quicker beat turns his lethargy into something of a strategy, and he sounds like no one but himself.
  12. Jun 4, 2013
    60
    Excuse My French so blatantly plunders rap radio's past and present that once one stops expecting anything original there's little left to do than mentally catalog the references. Yet while French Montana isn't doing anything new, he's also not doing anything wrong.
  13. Jul 2, 2013
    60
    Rather than allowing the first three tracks to help craft a template for the rest of the LP, the other 10 tracks are watered down by concept-less, feature-heavy songs. [Jul 2013, p.87]
  14. May 24, 2013
    60
    Excuse My French is a good album, possibly the best one the Coke Boy could make.
User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 8 out of 11
  1. May 21, 2013
    1
    i wanted this to be good, i really did, but this is pure garbage. beats, weak raps, the album went downhill after max b stopped talking oni wanted this to be good, i really did, but this is pure garbage. beats, weak raps, the album went downhill after max b stopped talking on the 1st track lol. If you need me ill be bumping mac 'n' cheese 2 Full Review »
  2. May 21, 2013
    1
    This album is just pure Grade A trash. Only songs worth listening to are my guilty pleasure from this album, "F*** What Happens Tonight" andThis album is just pure Grade A trash. Only songs worth listening to are my guilty pleasure from this album, "F*** What Happens Tonight" and then "Gifted" because of The Weeknd's amazing verse and hook. Other than those two, nothing else is worth your time and you would be better off finding a different way to waste an hour of your life. Full Review »
  3. May 23, 2013
    1
    Having somewhat enjoyed French Montana's mixtape history, I was looking forward to this album. After a strong opening track, I was bombardedHaving somewhat enjoyed French Montana's mixtape history, I was looking forward to this album. After a strong opening track, I was bombarded with generic raps, weak beats and dialed in verses from all the features (Rick Ross the primary offender). I think French constantly pushing his album back has moved it clear out of any buzz he had going for himself prior to signing with Bad Boy. Hopefully he does better next time out.... Full Review »