Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jan 9, 2012
    90
    What at first appears to be aggression is actually 100 per cent anguish, and the prevailing sense is that, like Black Flag, every ounce of that angst has been funnelled into edge, bone-crunching rigour and the sculpting of their largely unprecedented style into austere angles.
  2. Exmilitary is an abrasive and traumatic ordeal, rife with production that's on-point but completely jarring at the same time.
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    80
    You come away thinking, despite all the aggro, these Death Grips guys must be an awful lot of fun.
  4. Jan 9, 2012
    80
    Track-for-track the birth of a new legend? Absolutely.
  5. 80
    From the blood-curdling yells in which the anonymous MC delivers lines about dead cops and human sacrifice, to the positively chilling Charles Manson sample that begins the album, Exmilitary is the real deal, the absolute extent of your parents' worst nightmares when you came home with your first rap album.
  6. Jul 6, 2011
    75
    It's still a potentially alienating album: unnerving when you're not on its aggro wavelength, inviting when you are, and transfixing either way, thanks to the aggregate work of Death Grips' core.
  7. Jul 6, 2011
    70
    It's a record that's quite open to cynicism--Exmilitary is easy to dismiss as excessive and carelessly noisy. It's going to polarise listeners, but it's useless to criticise it for being so angry and unlistenable because that's Death Grips' prerogative.
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    The only phrase I can use to describe this album is: brutal. Death Grips is such a refreshing piece of music and is completely different fromThe only phrase I can use to describe this album is: brutal. Death Grips is such a refreshing piece of music and is completely different from all the other "indie" rap acts out there right now. "Takyon" has to be my favorite song on this album and one of my favorites in 2011. Full Review »
  2. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    If hip-hop hadn't started falling out of fashion in the late 90s, this is exactly what we'd be listening to on Radio 1 every day. Surely thatIf hip-hop hadn't started falling out of fashion in the late 90s, this is exactly what we'd be listening to on Radio 1 every day. Surely that isn't a bad thing when you consider how damn good this sounds. Full Review »
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    This, to me, is Death Grips' most abrasive record they've released thus far. The lo-fi production and sampled beats give Exmilitary this raw,This, to me, is Death Grips' most abrasive record they've released thus far. The lo-fi production and sampled beats give Exmilitary this raw, primal feel that's hard to shake off after you listen to it. The Charles Manson intro in Beware perfectly sets up the mood before the music even begins, and when it does start it's immediately in your face with this loud, noise beat and MC Ride's animalistic vocals. For 46 minutes, this is a long mixtape that has to be heard.

    All In All, Exmilitary is a brutal, experimental hip hop mixtape that really should not be looked over. It's certainly a challenging record, but one that will reward the patient one's experimenting with what they listen too. A-
    Full Review »