Exmilitary

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 90
  2. Negative: 7 out of 90

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    The only phrase I can use to describe this album is: brutal. Death Grips is such a refreshing piece of music and is completely different from all the other "indie" rap acts out there right now. "Takyon" has to be my favorite song on this album and one of my favorites in 2011.
  2. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    I don't remember how I got into Death Grips, but i glad I did. As soon as MC Rides' cut throat voice hits the high notes, and immense energy is felt. Each track has the potential to raise hell. I can barley understand the lyrics at times, but even the smallest concrete sentences make sense on a weird level. All one can do once listening to this, is fade into darkness and wittiness "thisI don't remember how I got into Death Grips, but i glad I did. As soon as MC Rides' cut throat voice hits the high notes, and immense energy is felt. Each track has the potential to raise hell. I can barley understand the lyrics at times, but even the smallest concrete sentences make sense on a weird level. All one can do once listening to this, is fade into darkness and wittiness "this cold guillotine death sentence". Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    If a hardcore punk band decided to do noise influenced hip hop, they'd probably sound quite a bit like Death Grips. They aren't a band that everyone will like, because the sound is so unusual, but for those open to this kind of music, it doesn't get much better.
    Samples as diverse as Charles Manson and Link Wray, intense drumming from Zach Hill, and vocals as strange as a brag song
    If a hardcore punk band decided to do noise influenced hip hop, they'd probably sound quite a bit like Death Grips. They aren't a band that everyone will like, because the sound is so unusual, but for those open to this kind of music, it doesn't get much better.
    Samples as diverse as Charles Manson and Link Wray, intense drumming from Zach Hill, and vocals as strange as a brag song entirely about decapitations make Death Grips sound like nothing else out there.
    Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2015
    10
    Behind all the anger, desperation and violence, you feel their souls exploding in such convincing ways that there's little doubt these guys are a nightmare... you would never like not to have.
    10/10
  5. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    This, to me, is Death Grips' most abrasive record they've released thus far. The lo-fi production and sampled beats give Exmilitary this raw, primal feel that's hard to shake off after you listen to it. The Charles Manson intro in Beware perfectly sets up the mood before the music even begins, and when it does start it's immediately in your face with this loud, noise beat and MC Ride'sThis, to me, is Death Grips' most abrasive record they've released thus far. The lo-fi production and sampled beats give Exmilitary this raw, primal feel that's hard to shake off after you listen to it. The Charles Manson intro in Beware perfectly sets up the mood before the music even begins, and when it does start it's immediately in your face with this loud, noise beat and MC Ride's animalistic vocals. For 46 minutes, this is a long mixtape that has to be heard.

    All In All, Exmilitary is a brutal, experimental hip hop mixtape that really should not be looked over. It's certainly a challenging record, but one that will reward the patient one's experimenting with what they listen too. A-
    Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2011
    8
    This intense piece of experimental hip hop is one of my favourite full length releases of the year so far. A potent music of brutally aggressive production and nightmarish lyrics, this is also one of the most original records you're going to hear this year. Each track is built around Zach Hill's unrelenting percussion which somehow manages to remain both precise and jarring at the sameThis intense piece of experimental hip hop is one of my favourite full length releases of the year so far. A potent music of brutally aggressive production and nightmarish lyrics, this is also one of the most original records you're going to hear this year. Each track is built around Zach Hill's unrelenting percussion which somehow manages to remain both precise and jarring at the same time. The vocals provided by MC Ride go from gutturally delivered black humour to out and out screaming about everything from police brutality to drug abuse to sex. The album is laced throughout with well selected and executed samples which serve to almost ground this nightmarish trip in reality. There is enough variety here however to ensure that it doesn't become monotonous, with instrumental tracks,monologues and guest vocalists placed throughout. There are one or two moments where Death Grips probably go too far into the unrelenting and the pure lack of empathy here may alienate some and it is entirely possible that the aggressive beats here may leave some listeners cold. It should be clear after the blistering opener 'Beware' which features a sample from none other than Charles Manson whether Exmilitary is for you. However I can wholeheartedly recommend this LP to anyone wanting to here something a little different and very dark from their Hip-Hop this year. Expand
  7. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    Loud, brutal, and unique. All of these are the best words to describe Death Grips, and Exmilitary never fails to disappoint. Blending rapped and shouted vocals with the intense drumming of Zach Hill and huge electronic beats, the experimental mixtape is strong the entire way through and is almost granted to keep you crawling back for more. Simple hooks, usually a simple phrase repeated,Loud, brutal, and unique. All of these are the best words to describe Death Grips, and Exmilitary never fails to disappoint. Blending rapped and shouted vocals with the intense drumming of Zach Hill and huge electronic beats, the experimental mixtape is strong the entire way through and is almost granted to keep you crawling back for more. Simple hooks, usually a simple phrase repeated, are extremely catchy and get stuck in your head easily. Not a single song isn't fast paced and in your face. The lyrics, if you choose to listen to them, are also a high point: the way MC Ride yells like an angry homeless man makes lyrics like "I AM THE BEAST I WORSHIP!" hit hard. An excellent album that's not for everyone, but should be. Expand
  8. Oct 22, 2014
    9
    Biased review maybe. But deathgrips is one of my favorite bands currently. At first i was skeptical first getting into this album. But guillotine was the best song on the album or takyon. Both have a hard hitting beat you can bump too. The agression really shows into this album. Might i add this is experimental hip hop with rap and a bit of electronic. Mc Ride screaming all over theBiased review maybe. But deathgrips is one of my favorite bands currently. At first i was skeptical first getting into this album. But guillotine was the best song on the album or takyon. Both have a hard hitting beat you can bump too. The agression really shows into this album. Might i add this is experimental hip hop with rap and a bit of electronic. Mc Ride screaming all over the album really puts the nightmarish vibe to action. Overall i loved this mixtape 9/10 give it a listen Expand
  9. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    If hip-hop hadn't started falling out of fashion in the late 90s, this is exactly what we'd be listening to on Radio 1 every day. Surely that isn't a bad thing when you consider how damn good this sounds.
  10. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    when i first heard this album it blew my mind. MC Ride's highly aggressive lyrical style flows superbly over the raw unusual production crafted by Zach hill. regardless what people say this album is pure rawness at its finest.
  11. Jul 16, 2015
    9
    Basically, It's a crazy, screaming, homeless guy, an insane drum player, and a guy who knows how to write C++ into code decided to make a mix-tape. for some reason, it ended up being one of my favorite albums in a long time. it gives the same feel as listening to something really niche that it seems like you and maybe 200 other people in the world actually enjoy, but for some reason thereBasically, It's a crazy, screaming, homeless guy, an insane drum player, and a guy who knows how to write C++ into code decided to make a mix-tape. for some reason, it ended up being one of my favorite albums in a long time. it gives the same feel as listening to something really niche that it seems like you and maybe 200 other people in the world actually enjoy, but for some reason there are a large amount of other people who also find this to fit into their own niche. on paper, this should logically be one of the worst albums of all time, but for some reason, it's really **** good. Expand
  12. Jan 16, 2016
    9
    This album introduced to a sound i have experienced before and i quickly fell in love with it. Death Grips are one of the best acts of our time for doing something so original musically and doing it successfully
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jan 9, 2012
    90
    What at first appears to be aggression is actually 100 per cent anguish, and the prevailing sense is that, like Black Flag, every ounce of that angst has been funnelled into edge, bone-crunching rigour and the sculpting of their largely unprecedented style into austere angles.
  2. Jan 9, 2012
    80
    You come away thinking, despite all the aggro, these Death Grips guys must be an awful lot of fun.
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    80
    Track-for-track the birth of a new legend? Absolutely.