Exmilitary - Death Grips
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 1 out of 35

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    If hip-hop hadn't started falling out of fashion in the late 90s, this is exactly what we'd be listening to on Radio 1 every day. Surely that isn't a bad thing when you consider how damn good this sounds.
  2. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    This, to me, is Death Grips' most abrasive record they've released thus far. The lo-fi production and sampled beats give Exmilitary this raw, primal feel that's hard to shake off after you listen to it. The Charles Manson intro in Beware perfectly sets up the mood before the music even begins, and when it does start it's immediately in your face with this loud, noise beat and MC Ride's animalistic vocals. For 46 minutes, this is a long mixtape that has to be heard.

    All In All, Exmilitary is a brutal, experimental hip hop mixtape that really should not be looked over. It's certainly a challenging record, but one that will reward the patient one's experimenting with what they listen too. A-
    Expand
  3. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    Loud, brutal, and unique. All of these are the best words to describe Death Grips, and Exmilitary never fails to disappoint. Blending rapped and shouted vocals with the intense drumming of Zach Hill and huge electronic beats, the experimental mixtape is strong the entire way through and is almost granted to keep you crawling back for more. Simple hooks, usually a simple phrase repeated, are extremely catchy and get stuck in your head easily. Not a single song isn't fast paced and in your face. The lyrics, if you choose to listen to them, are also a high point: the way MC Ride yells like an angry homeless man makes lyrics like "I AM THE BEAST I WORSHIP!" hit hard. An excellent album that's not for everyone, but should be. Expand
  4. Apr 24, 2013
    0
    This review is being written in hopes that innocent ears aren't rendered useless once filled with the demonstrably awful noise that is Death Grips, unless of course you're in to that type of music. This band, if you can call it that, is basically trying to make as much noise as possible in their tracks in as many 'new' and 'unique' ways that they can. How this collection of noise has received a User Score of 9.0 is beyond me. Usually it's the critics who try to see/hear the things that just aren't there to sound smart, or in this case, ignore all the raging atrocities "Death Grips" throws at you and call it great music because it's doing something 'different'. There is a thick line, nay, there is a line as bold as the Wall of China between creating a new sound that is not only intelligent but truly revolutionary and between just recording noise no one else has dared to before because it literally sounds like a feces-fueled Waterpark. A normal person, God forbid we use the word normal when reviewing this band though, listens to the song Guillotine and instead of enduring the noise, they turn it off almost as soon as it starts (unfortunately I did not have the luxury as I've had to give this album a fair review) while the "indie" crowd cringes and pretends to like it because only they are smart enough and capable of enduring such music, normal people just don't understand. The band provides nothing more than pretentious lyrics that truly have no substance unless analyzed and misconceptions are put therein, a vocalist (excuse me, just the lead) who literally sounds like a dog barking at you throughout the album and a pedophile backing voice, simplistic beats that an angry three year-old marching towards time-out could accomplish, and incoherent instruments that serve no purpose other than to add to the chaos. Many will tell me I just don't understand the music, that I am ignorant. But take a step back. Actually listen to this monstrosity. This is not music, it is a collection of noise. Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    I don't remember how I got into Death Grips, but i glad I did. As soon as MC Rides' cut throat voice hits the high notes, and immense energy is felt. Each track has the potential to raise hell. I can barley understand the lyrics at times, but even the smallest concrete sentences make sense on a weird level. All one can do once listening to this, is fade into darkness and wittiness "this cold guillotine death sentence". Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    The only phrase I can use to describe this album is: brutal. Death Grips is such a refreshing piece of music and is completely different from all the other "indie" rap acts out there right now. "Takyon" has to be my favorite song on this album and one of my favorites in 2011.
  7. Jul 15, 2011
    8
    This intense piece of experimental hip hop is one of my favourite full length releases of the year so far. A potent music of brutally aggressive production and nightmarish lyrics, this is also one of the most original records you're going to hear this year. Each track is built around Zach Hill's unrelenting percussion which somehow manages to remain both precise and jarring at the same time. The vocals provided by MC Ride go from gutturally delivered black humour to out and out screaming about everything from police brutality to drug abuse to sex. The album is laced throughout with well selected and executed samples which serve to almost ground this nightmarish trip in reality. There is enough variety here however to ensure that it doesn't become monotonous, with instrumental tracks,monologues and guest vocalists placed throughout. There are one or two moments where Death Grips probably go too far into the unrelenting and the pure lack of empathy here may alienate some and it is entirely possible that the aggressive beats here may leave some listeners cold. It should be clear after the blistering opener 'Beware' which features a sample from none other than Charles Manson whether Exmilitary is for you. However I can wholeheartedly recommend this LP to anyone wanting to here something a little different and very dark from their Hip-Hop this year. Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jan 9, 2012
    90
    What at first appears to be aggression is actually 100 per cent anguish, and the prevailing sense is that, like Black Flag, every ounce of that angst has been funnelled into edge, bone-crunching rigour and the sculpting of their largely unprecedented style into austere angles.
  2. Jan 9, 2012
    80
    You come away thinking, despite all the aggro, these Death Grips guys must be an awful lot of fun.
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    80
    Track-for-track the birth of a new legend? Absolutely.