Extraordinary Machine Image

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 161 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The singer-songwriter's third album finally sees the light of day after originally being shelved by her record label in 2003 and then leaked onto the Internet. This official 'Machine' is a newly-recorded version (with producer Mike Elizondo taking over for the original's Jon Brion), so if you've heard the leaked tracks, you haven't heard this. Let the comparisons begin! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 100
    This is one helluva piece of singer-songwriter art. [Nov 2005, p.129]
  2. Although Mike Elizondo adds momentum, Jon Brion's colors still predominate, and the melodic and structural contours are all Apple's.
  3. The title track and "Waltz" bookend Extraordinary Machine. Both excel, set to Brion's signature command of crisp, idiomatic, Van Dyke Parks-influenced Hollywood symphonics. But the Elizondo-Kehew tracks top them.
  4. Apart the two versions are about equal, combined they could have been amazing.
  5. Apple's strongest and most detailed batch of songs yet.
  6. 75
    Elizondo's zippy production effectively pushes Apple's tendency to plod. [Nov 2005, p.96]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 105
  2. Negative: 7 out of 105
  1. Jul 10, 2012
    I've always known about Fiona Apple, but never gave her the light of day. Hype is an evil thing. The hype surrounding this album however is 100% accurate, it's a fantastic album. Every track is sung with such beautiful honesty from Apple that you really can understand what she's feeling and what she's been through. I love this album with a such a passion. A Expand
  2. kyle
    Nov 24, 2005
    great cd, better than id ever expected.
  3. EmilyS.
    Oct 3, 2005
    I'm split 50/50 on leaked vs. new version. Regardless, both are 10 out of 10s. How can anyone compare this to any of the crap out there today? Fiona dominates. Expand
  4. ZachP
    Feb 1, 2006
    Honestly, the best album of the year by far. The songs are elequently written. "Extraordinary Machine", " Not About Love", and "O'Sailor" are some of the best songs of the year. I Love This CD!!! Expand
  5. JimmieM
    Oct 1, 2005
    I would give the bootleg version of this disc a 10. The new version is great, though, although I still think they ripped the heart out of a couple of the tracks. Fiona Apple really has a style that is all her own, and she's easily the best female lyricist out there. Let's hope it doesn't take six years to get the next one. Expand
  6. applefan
    Oct 26, 2005
    Lyrically, I found "Extraordinary Machine" decidely weaker than both her previous albums ("Not About Love" being the biggest exception). The listening experience of the album, however, is incredible and does not disappoint. I prefer the more organic feel of the Jon Brion sessions and while I bought the released version, I will view his as the 'right' version. Expand
  7. jim
    Nov 26, 2005

See all 105 User Reviews