Eye Contact - Gang Gang Dance
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    Fantastic album, they were able to create a more accessible sound while retaining what made them unique in the first place. Glass Jar is 11 minutes of pure bliss.
  2. May 13, 2011
    10
    Absolutely stunning. If only every other band could attain such levels of progression and innovation, the world would not have any more musical landfills.
  3. May 13, 2011
    10
    These guys will blow your mind off. I came expecting an experimental album, it's not really, a dance album, it's not really, a pop album, it's not really. Whatever it is it's gorgeous and singular, like someone made a round the world trip and returned to make alien sounds with what they'd heard.
  4. May 13, 2011
    10
    Whatever these folks are on, I want some. This has gone straight into my top 5 for the year, possibly top, and I don't even like synth-based stuff that much. Just wow!
  5. May 13, 2011
    9
    Nigh on perfect with its shimmering polyrhythms. Album of the summer (at least)? I think so. It's such a fresh way of merging existing things that I can't think of anything close to it in the recent past, apart from the band themselves obviously and maybe These New Puritans.
  6. May 17, 2011
    10
    See a review from a Brazilian site (in portuguese)
    http://www.innewmusicwetrust.com.br/2011/05/14/album-eye-contact-gang-gang-dance/
    "You can count on the presence of this album in many best of 2011 lists and if you listen to it very carefully, be sure that it will also be in your favorites from this year"
  7. Jun 29, 2011
    1
    Not feeling the album at all, it definitely isn't what I was expecting, they're are not there yet. Try again please and come back with something good that I can enjoy...
  8. Jun 29, 2011
    0
    I don't like this album, it is messy, not cohesive, sometimes it is even creepy. It just does not make sense at all to me. Please try again and do something better.
  9. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    Uniqueness is a feature mentioned too often while talking about somebodyâ
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Jun 13, 2011
    80
    It's a concise, tidy sounding album, with little of the noise leakage of old. [May 2011, p.51]
  2. Jun 10, 2011
    80
    While no commercial crossover will be gained from Eye Contact, Gang Gang Dance have released one of the most captivating albums of the year, each song different yet cohesive, challenging and ultimately highly rewarding.
  3. May 31, 2011
    60
    The Eastern motifs on Infinty are trite. Ultimately, it's not enough to derail this engrossing record. [Jun 2011, p.116]