Eye Contact - Gang Gang Dance
Eye Contact Image
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The New York quintet release an experimental and electronic-heavy fifth album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. May 25, 2011
    90
    That's not to say Gang Gang Dance has watered down its style; rather than some strategic reach toward mass appeal, Eye Contact represents a pruning of the superfluous.
  2. Yeah, Gang Gang Dance's idea of accessible and pop-ready is just as trippy and emotionally affecting as ever. Now, you can play it in the car on a Friday night, too.
  3. May 10, 2011
    84
    More critically, though, is that Eye Contact works very well as a stamp on this band's original turn with Saint Dymphna: now that we know that a lot of their contemporaries were also going to turn in this direction, it's nice to see a band that was once ahead of the curve still working so hard to keep their sound this fascinating.
  4. May 9, 2011
    80
    Eye Contact delights with its danceability and synthetic pleasure, but it's frontwoman Lizzi Bougatsos who holds the jams together.
  5. May 12, 2011
    80
    For anyone with ears tired of the sirens, the red herrings, surfing the more visible peaks of the endless ocean in search of something worth combing over, you'll find this spacebound lighthouse a good place to put your feet up; and get up on your feet, if so inclined. Thoroughly recommended.
  6. May 10, 2011
    80
    It's challenging yet fairly catchy beneath all the layering. It's abstract vocally yet painfully direct musically. It's not for most yet potentially has crossover appeal at its heart.
  7. May 31, 2011
    60
    The Eastern motifs on Infinty are trite. Ultimately, it's not enough to derail this engrossing record. [Jun 2011, p.116]

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. May 13, 2011
    10
    These guys will blow your mind off. I came expecting an experimental album, it's not really, a dance album, it's not really, a pop album, it'sThese guys will blow your mind off. I came expecting an experimental album, it's not really, a dance album, it's not really, a pop album, it's not really. Whatever it is it's gorgeous and singular, like someone made a round the world trip and returned to make alien sounds with what they'd heard. Expand
  2. May 13, 2011
    10
    Whatever these folks are on, I want some. This has gone straight into my top 5 for the year, possibly top, and I don't even like synth-basedWhatever these folks are on, I want some. This has gone straight into my top 5 for the year, possibly top, and I don't even like synth-based stuff that much. Just wow! Expand
  3. May 17, 2011
    10
    See a review from a Brazilian site (in portuguese)
    http://www.innewmusicwetrust.com.br/2011/05/14/album-eye-contact-gang-gang-dance/
    "You can
    See a review from a Brazilian site (in portuguese)
    http://www.innewmusicwetrust.com.br/2011/05/14/album-eye-contact-gang-gang-dance/
    "You can count on the presence of this album in many best of 2011 lists and if you listen to it very carefully, be sure that it will also be in your favorites from this year"
    Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    Uniqueness is a feature mentioned too often while talking about somebodyâ
  5. May 13, 2011
    10
    Absolutely stunning. If only every other band could attain such levels of progression and innovation, the world would not have any moreAbsolutely stunning. If only every other band could attain such levels of progression and innovation, the world would not have any more musical landfills. Expand
  6. May 13, 2011
    9
    Nigh on perfect with its shimmering polyrhythms. Album of the summer (at least)? I think so. It's such a fresh way of merging existing thingsNigh on perfect with its shimmering polyrhythms. Album of the summer (at least)? I think so. It's such a fresh way of merging existing things that I can't think of anything close to it in the recent past, apart from the band themselves obviously and maybe These New Puritans. Expand
  7. Jun 29, 2011
    0
    I don't like this album, it is messy, not cohesive, sometimes it is even creepy. It just does not make sense at all to me. Please try againI don't like this album, it is messy, not cohesive, sometimes it is even creepy. It just does not make sense at all to me. Please try again and do something better. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2011

    The Best Albums of 2011 Image
    Published: December 30, 2011
    We reveal our official list of the best-reviewed albums of 2011. Plus, get links to stream virtually all of our top albums, find out which LPs our users preferred, and see which 2011 releases scored the lowest with critics.
  2. May's Best New Music

    May's Best New Music Image
    Published: May 31, 2011
    Find out more about the past month's best albums, which include new works from Fleet Foxes, Raphael Saadiq, and the Beastie Boys. Plus, listen to tracks from each one.