Eye To The Telescope

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Feb 7, 2006
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 42
  2. Negative: 3 out of 42

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 6, 2014
    8
    Genre: Pop Rock
    The debut album from the fantastic KT Tunstall features a great mix of songs that are all brought to life by her superb vocals. My personal favourite is the upbeat Black Horse and the Cherry Tree that truly demonstrates her raw talent but the slower ballads such as Under the Weather and Universe and U are also well worth a listen.
    KT Tunstall is certainly one of the
    Genre: Pop Rock
    The debut album from the fantastic KT Tunstall features a great mix of songs that are all brought to life by her superb vocals. My personal favourite is the upbeat Black Horse and the Cherry Tree that truly demonstrates her raw talent but the slower ballads such as Under the Weather and Universe and U are also well worth a listen.

    KT Tunstall is certainly one of the best solo artists working in the music industry today.
    Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    Anyone calling this album terrible must have a really horrible taste in music. That's for sure. The album opens up very strongly with "Other Side of the World" and "Another Place to Fall" before going deeper to the sentimental department. For a debut album, I'd say Eye to the Telescope is delivered in a very praiseworthy quality.
  3. Feb 7, 2012
    6
    One of those albums which is only have good, some great singles but the rest of the album is kinda flat and a lot of the acoustic style she brings to her live performances seems lost in the recording. She has many better b sides which could have replaced some of the lesser songs on this album. Shame.
  4. DPR
    Nov 28, 2010
    10
    I don't get how anyone could dislike this album. KT Tunstall is a tremendous talent. She has a beautiful voice and is a tremendous song writer.
  5. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    A brilliant album with a unique sound that blends some mainstream pop qualities with nice folk elements. She has a great voice too, raspy when it needs to be, mellow and steady during quiet songs. I love every song on this album.
  6. Oct 7, 2010
    8
    The songs on this album seem to be from one of two sides; the faster paced, (and in my opinion) better songs, and the slower, still-good-but-could-have-been-spiced-up-a-bit songs. Although I personally prefer the songs like "Suddenly I See" and "Another Place To Fall", it is only when she uses her amazingly toned voice to sing songs like "False Alarm" and "Through The Dark" (the slowerThe songs on this album seem to be from one of two sides; the faster paced, (and in my opinion) better songs, and the slower, still-good-but-could-have-been-spiced-up-a-bit songs. Although I personally prefer the songs like "Suddenly I See" and "Another Place To Fall", it is only when she uses her amazingly toned voice to sing songs like "False Alarm" and "Through The Dark" (the slower songs) that really portrays her natural talent more fluently and lusciously.
    After selling excess of 4,000,000 copies, (which is even more of a feat, in this day and age when Hip Hop sells the most and dominates the charts) it is obvious that this album deserves a thorough listen. After debuting on Later... With Jools Holland, and then having her song performed on American Idol, she soared to deserved fame. This is an essential album. She is definitely one of the most talented women on the charts today.
    Expand
  7. Lilynone
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    This is my favorite CD by far. I think that anyone who says they hate KT should 1. listen to the Cd and 2. Listen to it again, it take twice to really love the songs like I do. KT's lyrics actually mean something and this is a wonderfull, relaxing album.
  8. MTG
    Aug 31, 2007
    10
    I loved this album, I thought it was awesome, unique and original.
  9. SamD
    Jun 24, 2006
    9
    Really good. I like almost every track, except "silent sea", i could have lived without that one.
  10. mmusicfan
    May 4, 2006
    6
    I think she tried to prove she could write deep lyrics... but she didn't... catchy songs, but definetly wouldn't last more than 1 month listening to it... nice effort though...
  11. PhilipS
    May 3, 2006
    7
    A good and catchy musician with a lot of talent.... i don't know why people slate her so much, she isn't that bad.
  12. DRanged
    Apr 30, 2006
    3
    With the exception of about one or two tracks, this is nothing more than a Dido tribute CD (aka bland, mundane garbage!). Unoriginal and migraine inducing feces. Suddenly I See is arguably on of the most diabolically bad tracks of the last few years.
  13. MarkD
    Mar 18, 2006
    6
    A couple of good tracks (suddenly I see, other side of the world), but ultimatly this is a collection of songs that she wrote over a long period of time whilst trying to make it, and if this is the result of years of work, I doubt her next album will be very good
  14. CharlieC
    Mar 5, 2006
    10
    One of the best albums I've heard in a long time. The lyrics and addictive rythms are all fresh sounding. Not a bad a song on the album. A little bit James Taylor meets Cheryl Crow.
  15. sandeno
    Mar 5, 2006
    5
    Awfully dull. She paid a studio to record that ? Good moments but not an album you`d listen more than once a month.
  16. Shawna-
    Mar 2, 2006
    6
    Its very much okay. its something new. but I didnt really like it. Six
  17. ZachR
    Mar 2, 2006
    2
    Her songs are so fucking annoying. I can't stand to listen to them. Just a few seconds exposure gives me a horrible headache.
  18. RudiRiet
    Feb 27, 2006
    10
    Smashing album. I heard this in fall 2005 while on holiday in the UK and fell in love. KT has such energy and range - she's in for the long haul.
  19. JennsonW
    Feb 26, 2006
    6
    It's got okay hooks and catchy melodies, but the music feels tired and lacking life in many of her songs.
  20. matta
    Feb 22, 2006
    8
    Much better than either Kelly Clarkson or Sheryl Crow, Tunstall more deserves to be mentioned in the same as breath as comtemporaries such as Norah Jones and Fiona Apple. Impressive debut that is decidedely mainstream, yet still appeals to the indie kids.
  21. maryh
    Feb 15, 2006
    7
    It's good to see an artist that may very well have some great future success, but also, most uncaracteristically, has Talent. I suspect these songs will get old fast because they're too catchy not to; but for now, it's highly recommended.
  22. RaülJ
    Feb 14, 2006
    10
    A great, new uprising talent
  23. Matt
    Feb 10, 2006
    7
    The folk-pop songs here are better than the bluesy songs and the pure ballads. What is good here is excellent.
  24. JD
    Feb 10, 2006
    10
    Perfect...she's a real talent...
  25. RandyD
    Feb 10, 2006
    9
    Great sound. Refreshing vocas. Unique grit.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Billboard
    90
    A delicious blend of acoustic guitar, raw grooves and sublime melodies. [11 Feb 2006]
  2. The disc is made up mostly by mid-tempo classic rockers and sweet nothing ballads. Disappointing? Well, yes.
  3. A promising, satisfying debut.